We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn in New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Canal Park Inn

Save Saved
You added The Canal Park Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Canal Park Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   508 Canal Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 97 New York City B&B and Inns
Centennial, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Autumn in New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location was convenient to walking any where or hopping the subway to our destination. The part of Tribecca where Canal Park Inn is located is clean, friendly, charming and relaxed. I much preferred the neighborhood to the upper east or west sides because it really felt like a neighborhood and everyone was welcome. The staff (Brendan was our main contact) was friendly, gracious, helpful with tips about anything we might be interested in (restaurant recommendations, other attractions). Kip, the owner, was equally warm and friendly. We ran into him or Brendan a few times on the street, and they always recognized us and made it feel like we were part of the neighborhood.

The Inn itself is charming, quirky, comfortable. I really felt like I was going home when I was done with my day's activities. The layout was great for our group, making it easy to have a large suite for entertaining our friends who hadn't been lucky enough to get reservations. I can't wait for another trip to NYC and plan to stay at Canal Park Inn again.

Room Tip: The online pictures don't convey the openness and gracious size to the suites. They are lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    20
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
47
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
denver
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Staying here gives you a much different view of New York, almost like you are staying at a friend's home. Gets you out of the tourist rut. Photos reflect the rooms accurately. They were kind enough to make up the second room as a bedroom for our son. Yes, separate bedrooms, and a kitchen at a great price. And the location....area is in renovation stage, but by staying here we "found" one of favorite parts of New York, the waterfront, right across the street. Able to take a beautiful walk to the 911 memorial and get out of the rush-rush-rush.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

First impressions are not good. Run down looking adjacent buildings with scaffolding. If you were passing in a car and looking for accommodation you probably would not stop.

Once inside it is better. Not a typical B &B as you are met in the rather cluttered foyer of the small theatre. Welcome was friendly and the owner and assistant carried our suitcases up the narrow and steep stairs (very appreciated as we are no longer young)

We were in the Kennedy room which is a pleasant room of reasonable size with exposed brick fireplace and small recessed wardrobe. The bed was very comfortable As the room is at the back of the building it is reasonable quiet although traffic noise was noitceable in the early hours of the morning. Although the outside walls are thick, the internal walls are not and this, combined with a not very solid door, meant that there was minor noise from the staircase and adjoining rooms, The room has table and chair, fridge, TV, microwave and coffee making machine and ingredients.

The en-suite bathroom was very small and contained a toilet and fixed head shower in a hip sized bath. The shower taps appeared to operate in different directions and getting the right temperature called for fine judgement. The worst aspect of the room was the wash basin which was tiny and had an out-of-proportion large fixed tap. This meant that it was virtually impossible to rinse your face without getting water on the floor. The towels were not changed during our four night stay which seemed to indicate more a desire to save on laundry bills than to be green.

Breakfast was more a case of refueling than an enjoyable experience. A menu based on waffles is, of necessity limited, and the haphazardly arranged tables and chairs and general untidiness do not contribute to a pleasant atmosphere. Plastic cups, knives and forks whilst, without doubt green, did not enhance the experience.

Access to the Metro is good, the nearest subway being five minutes walk away. There are plenty of restaurants within ten minutes walk.

In conclusion whilst the Inn is good value for money (bearing in mind the price of Manhatton hotel rooms) we found it somewhat soulless and without warmth. Apart from meeting the owner upon arrival we never spoke to him again and never saw any other person apart from Brendan who cooked breakfast. There was never anyone around when we arrived back in the afternoon as access is via. a keypad and key. Nobody ever asked if we were enjoying our stay and departure was simply a case of handing the key to Brendan.

I have tried to be fair and realistic in this review. All accommodation is a mixture of the good and the not so good and some previous reviewers seem to have been wearing rose coloured spectacles in this respect. I would give it an overall good rating with reservations. The inn certainly has a certain eccentric charm and would probably suit if you enjoy this type of impersonal atmosphere. However, don't expect four star accommodation at two star prices

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanalParkInn, Manager at The Canal Park Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Vincent, we're so sorry you and your wife had different expectations for our B&B. As you also noted, you're in the minority with regard to most of our guests, who find our accommodation warm, welcoming, and about as far from impersonal as you can get. I wish I knew what you were expecting so I could better respond to you. All I can say is that I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit more, and I hope, if you return to New York, you find somewhere that suits you better.

The one thing I will mention is in defense of our neighbors – the building immediately to our west is brand new as is the one directly across the street and their spaces have sold for $2-15 million dollars per condo. The three buildings to our east, like ours, are landmarked, protected by the landmark preservation commission. The 3rd building away from us is landmarked but does have scaffolding around it. The neighborhood is, as we state on our website, an architecturally diverse and dynamic section of Tribeca and is constantly evolving as more and more star architects flock to the area. We enjoy the responsibility we hold to the neighborhood as one of a small number of landmarked buildings that hold its history, even as progress provides these new and beautiful neighbors.

You're correct that we do not change towels for a 4 day stay; we begin midweek towel changes at a 5 day stay, and offer them every 3-4 days for extended stays only, as stated in our website. If you need a daily towel change/room cleaning, our B&B isn't the right choice for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

If you want to stay on the 747th floor of the Holiday Inn with triple glazed windows that won't open, if you want every room to be identical, if you want faceless staff to attend to your needs or you want to be 2 minutes from Times Square then this isn't for you. If, however, you want to stay in a beautifully appointed and individually decorated room with bespoke wooden furniture (made by the owner) or want to have pleasant people as your hosts and don't mind waiting while your breakfast is freshly cooked for you then I would really recommend this delightful little inn.
It's in Tribeca which is south of Greenwhich so a bit of a hike to midtown but 10 minutes from Wall Street (walking). At the very end of Canal Street, it's only about 100 yards from the Hudson River. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby are ok - a few are typical 'Manhattan dear' but if you want to meet real people and not spend a fourtune for a beer try Puffy's Bar or the famous Ear Bar which are both less than 5 minutes stroll away to the south and north respectively.
I will certainly be staying here again.

Room Tip: There are no bad ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I was welcomed warmly by the charming Caroline-Doe and Zac. I was shown to my room which did not disappoint, the pictures on the website are a true reflection of the size and standard of the room. Within minutes of being in the Canal Park Inn the weariness after a long day of travel was forgotten.

When booking there was no room available for the duration of our visit, after a quick email exchange we arranged a room swap part way through, this meant we could enjoy staying in 2 of the rooms which were both exceptional.

Breakfast was great and we had such good company with Zac, Brendan and Kipp.

For first time visitors the location was excellent, a helpful folder was in the room which gave details of restaurants, markets, shops, walks etc.

I would encourage all to go to a show in the theatre if you are lucky enough to stay when one is on. The Spook Show was great.

Look forward to seeing all again on our next visit (if the other half is allowed back)!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This B&B is a fabulous choice for staying in NY. It's walking distance to Soho, Greenwhich Village etc and the immediate area also has some decent drinking/eating options. But the real reason to stay is the Inn itself: charming and really well thought out in terms of decor and amenities. The bedding and towels for example are luxuriously soft and the bed itself will help you drift off to sleep effortlessly. The owner/manager was super friendly, allowing us to check in as soon as the room was ready, without making us wait for the arbitrary check-in time. Her tips on the area were also helpful. Overall the energy in this place is great and the standard was really high. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kennedy room. Word of caution; the bathtub is not full size, which you can't te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The place is lovely, the people are friendly, the bed is SOOOOOO comfortable you want to just lay in bed all day, though of course you're in NYC so you need to be up and about doing things. Also if you're a runner, it's right next to a very popular trail going along the water. The street it's on is not very exciting, but it's a short walk from a ton of restaurants and clubs. Pricey but not by NYC standards-- and better to spend your money here than on a tiny room at a big chain you could stay at anywhere. Highly recommended and I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Canal Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canal Park Inn

Address: 508 Canal Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Tribeca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Canal Park Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the border of Soho and Tribeca, our landmarked 1826 Canal House is ideally situated for experiencing the best New York has to offer—and still having a quiet place to call home at the end of the day. Surrounded by 5-star restaurants and a block away from the landscaped parks, open grass, tennis courts, and stunning sunsets at the Hudson River Park, we strike a perfect balance between nature and culture.The Osborne’s have owned 508 Canal Street since 1980. In this building, they raised their daughter, providing the building with family history built into the very walls. (Behind a renovation wall on the top floor of the building is hidden a mural painted by children at a particularly creative third birthday party.) The beds and several end tables in the Inn were built by Kipp Osborne, coming from the days when he and his wife, Margot, were furniture makers in Soho and Tribeca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and T4B so you can book your The Canal Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Canal Park Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canal Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.