We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always wondeful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bluebell Cafe

The Bluebell Cafe
293 Third Avenue (between 22nd and 23rd Streets), New York City, NY 10010
+1 646-649-2389
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,083 of 11,597 restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Dessert, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: He Bluebell Cafe raises the bar on the midtown culinary scene. To help fill the gap in the area's dining options, the newest addition to Gramercy Park comes to us by the same acclaimed owners of Open Door Gastropub, The Paris Bar and Grill and Molly's Pub and Restaurant. Executive Chef Scott Hawley serves up gourmet offerings at affordable luxury prices. Offering American comfort food with a French country flare, the new eatery is an updated version of all your favorites, but classed up with an array of delectable menu options. The interesting variety of seasonal menu options, an eclectic selection of regional beer & wines, delicious home-baked desserts, and popular weekend brunch, make this new gem in Gramercy's culinary crown the newest hotspot for affordable decadence. Bluebell Cafe is open daily from 8am-11pm and serves weekend brunch from 8am-4pm. Reservations are accepted for dinner.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“always wondeful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have been coming to this restaurant since it opened. The food is always great. The staff
is always great. I find it very unusual in NYC for the staff to remain pretty much the same
since opening. The scallops are great as well as the oven roasted chicken. Just a great neighborhood find that I hope stays a loooooooooong time

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    23
    15
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good brunch, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Enjoyed Sunday brunch with the family - got there before the rush so didn't need to wait for a table. Service was good & food came promptly. Only down side was no kids menu on the weekend? Shame really

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Decent breakfast, cute place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This place is super cute and has a very long marble bar. It is small though so expect to wait on the weekends. Coffee is good and they give you complimentary orange juice, which I really enjoyed. All three of us got omelettes with home fries. The omelettes were nice and fluffy, perfect egg to stuffing ratio. The home fries were really good but mostly because they were like crispy, chopped up french fries rather than potatoes. Each meal comes with a fluffy biscuit and jam the perfect ending to a savory breakfast. They are known for their french toast but I just wasn't in the mood for sugar. Overall very satisfied and not too pricey. Came out to a little under $20 with tip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun brunch in Gramercy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was staying at the nearby Marcel at Gramercy hotel and was looking for a cute place for brunch. This restaurant was just a few blocks away and quite popular by the looks of the line. Since I was dining solo, I was able to snag a seat at the bar after a short wait. The food was delicious (get the brioche French toast!) and the staff was very fun and friendly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

me and my wife found this place just walking around , in fact we past it once and went back , so glad we did, the food was very good , nice choice of food and drinks , if we go back to new york we will come back to the bluebell cafe ,

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bluebell Cafe also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Bluebell Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bluebell Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.