We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place! I was a regular!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ofrenda

Ofrenda
113 7th Avenue South, New York City, NY 10014 (West Village)
212-924-2305
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ofrenda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,047 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Christopher and West 10th Street
Transit: Subways: 1 (Christopher Street); A, B, C, D, E, F (West 4th Street)
Description: An Ofrenda, in Spanish, is an offering, a gift. At their cozy West Village space, owner Jorge Guzman and Chef Mario Hernandez offer their unique interpretation of classic Mexican cuisine with an innovative cocktail menu of tequila-based drinks. Named by NYLuxury as “one of the top ten restaurants in New York serving Latin food” and as “Top Tequila Bar in the US” by the editors of USA Today, this intimate and stylish cocina offers its guests a blend of passions. Jorge’s desire is to create a sexy and fun space to enjoy creative cocktails with the best of Latin cuisine. While Chef Mario’s dream is to craft dishes to showcase the indigenous ingredients of Mexico, the foods his ancestors enjoyed, and bring those flavors to a new generation. This team has joined forces to offer guests a unique dining experience. We look forward to having you.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this place! I was a regular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Best guac and chips! Love the spicy marg. Cool decor. Love that it's not a typical traditional Mexican interior design.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not your typical Mexican restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We just happened on to Ofrenda one day and decided to give it a try. It's a small place and we were lucky to get a table for four during dinner hour. It also has a terrace. Once in the restaurant I found it was loud. Tables are very close so you can easily hear conversations of others. We in particular had a loud gentlemen next to us who was trying to impress a lady. Any way that was the only negative about the place. The waiters were very friendly but very busy. We had a pitcher of Sangria which was very good. We had Guacamole, Sweet potatoes fries and tacos. The food was excellent. Very tasty. I felt that the tacos were a little small but we definitely did not leave hungry.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent appy hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The margaritas were fantastic and I really enjoyed the selections available for the happy hour. The service was also attentive and friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great bartenders, great people watching, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stopped in at a large sidewalk cafe offering $4 Margaritta's all day. Once sip and I knew why even at that price there was hardly anyone in the place. Across the street was a Mexican restaurant with a packed sidewalk seating area so I moved over.

Ofrenda is at 113 7th Avenue South near Sheridan Square. It is small and usually filled. I stopped in three times in one week, mostly for the great cocktails although I did have a bit of tapas to go with. After several luscious Margarittas I had one of the best Mojitos ever. Go. Sit. Watch. Enjoy!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Upscale Nuevo Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I love the food, atmosphere, location. Downside seating is tight inside and somewhat limited. Food is a joy, not typical everyday Gringo-style mexican but well thought-out upscale Mexican food that has never disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ofrenda also viewed

 

Been to Ofrenda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ofrenda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.