We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too slow, to average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Highpoint Bistro & Bar

Highpoint Bistro & Bar
216 7th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-1842 (Chelsea)
646-410-0120
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,666 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: Between 23rd & 22nd Streets
Transit: Take 1 train to 23rd and 7th avenue, C, E to 23rd and 8th avenue, and M7 & M20 bus stop on 23rd and 7th Ave. Take the path to 6th Ave. & 23rd St.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Too slow, to average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Every time when I am in the US, I am so much looking forward to a Caesar's salad. This one's been a boring iceberg salad with some convenience store (grated) parmesan sprinkled on top, but far too many croutons. I missed the Caesar's salad dressing most. It's been a plate of plain, boring chopped leaves. Every deli throws together a much nicer C's salad.
The sandwich is just some boring, half heated slices of pre-packed panini - I am sure it's also straight from the convenience shelf.
Plus - on this specific day the service has been so slow, I missed my connecting meeting in the office. Would not go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Terrible amateur service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The brunch food was good, but not worth waiting a full 90 minutes for. We clearly had a newly hired and inexperienced waiter, but the manager and the hostess just stood by staring dumbly without "taking charge", even though it was obvious that our food was coming out of the kitchen at an absolute snail's pace and completely dysynchronously. Very unprofessional. Would not return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Incredible brunch choices, good prices, great service. The eggs benedict with chorizo is to die for!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food and reasonably priced!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Visited my mom for her 87th birthday and went into Manhattan for lunch before going to the Irish Repertory Theatre. The food was very good, trendy and reasonably priced. From lobster Cobb salad to chicken flat bread pizza it was a winner. The Bloody Mary's were big and very tasty and the Guiness Stout had by my mom was 'poured perfectly' in her words. We are planning our next trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Great food and nice atmosphere. Prices are reasonable and the service was good. The mussels are amazing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Highpoint Bistro & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Highpoint Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highpoint Bistro & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.