We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our xmas in new york” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gotham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Gotham Hotel to your Saves list
The Gotham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 East 46th Street, Between Fifth and Madison Avenues, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Birmingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“our xmas in new york”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Great little find from our travel agent... having stayed in NYC previously we found this hotel very refreshing from the major chains. and only a couple of blocks away from times square.
staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay. we were attracted to the fact that we had access to balcony... an unusual treat in NY, although not used to max in December !, but had great views over the city. our room was very comfortable, great bed, clean bathroom , TV, safe and mini bar, but if your expecting a city view from your balcony, you need to stipulate this form the off. We requested a quiet and we got this at the back of hotel which had view of the car park but access to shared balcony was ok for us at this time of year.
very good bar/restaurant within hotel, although would say that times were limited for early /late drop ins.
Overall good hotel, not cheap but good location to explore NYC.

Room Tip: If you require a balcony and a view (may be noisy in high season) request a room at front of hotel.Q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    137
    40
    14
    15
See reviews for
33
205
29
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My parents stayed at the Gotham Hotel last week and they can highly recomemnd this hotel to everybody. The hotel is very good located. Really in the heart of New York. Very close to Broadway, 5th Avenue and other important sights! The suff were very friendly and always very helpful. The rooms are very big and very modern. My parents are planning already their next trip to New York and they will definitely stay there next time again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I think it's one of the best 4-star hotels in Manhattan. What I like the most is the size of the rooms - they are really big, especially for NYC. Go for the one with a terrace, you will love it. Rooms and bathrooms are also modern, which I really appreciate. The hotel does not have a real lobby and lacks some other facilities but if you are staying couple of nights only you won't really care about it. Customer service is great. Cosmetics provided in the bathroom are of high quality. Among the downsides I could only think about average view (but come on, it's Manhattan), and a small lobby. Probably because the hotel is new there are a lot of good deals on different booking sites and I would definitely recommend it as it is great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Great reasonably priced hotel in the middle of midtown, conveniently located for Grand Central station, rockerfella, 5th Ave, Chrysler building, Empire State Building, Times Square, etc. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a street facing room which was noisy but expected in the middle of NYC. Lots of places to eat breakfast. The Red Flame was popular. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room and beware of the sharp corners on the bed (which is huge), apart from that we would definitely go back to the Gotham!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Great location in the heart of Midtown, steps from Fifth Avenue and the bustle of Times Square.. My room was very large - especially for NYC where it usually feels like you are sleeping in an expensive shoebox. The room also had a tiny terrace - with no view, but the chance to get fresh air was a treat. I especially liked that there were only 4 rooms on my floor. Although every room was occupied, I never heard my neighbors. The staff was superb. Everyone was helpful, friendly and made me feel like I was at home. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. The hotel is in a great location right near Grand Central. Our room was clean, spacious, and the bed was really comfortable; it was probably the best night's sleep I've ever had in NYC. We got an upgrade to a room with a small balcony, which didn't have a view of anything since it faced other buildings, but the quiet it provided was worth a lot more than the view. The staff were friendly and helpful, and were altogether pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I would stay at the hotel again. Having welcoming staff (specially Rey doorman) and a great location was a great way to spend my birthday. The rooms were modern and comfortable--perfect for the solo traveler. It within walking distance to Time Square and Broadway Overall it was a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gotham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gotham Hotel

Address: 16 East 46th Street, Between Fifth and Madison Avenues, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gotham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of Gotham Hotel’s 66 unique guestrooms offers style and comfort. The guestrooms are luxurious and stylish with European touches in an elegant and pragmatic manner. These spacious rooms feature distinctive terraces, loft-like ceilings, dynamic windows, vast bathrooms featuring Italian glass mosaic tile, workspace/desk, lavish linens, generous closets, custom accessories, and thoughtful amenities. Come stay in luxury and style with guestrooms that feature a balcony or large terrace encompassing a range of views and inspiring unlimited possibilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gotham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gotham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.