We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gotham Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Gotham Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gotham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 East 46th Street, Between Fifth and Madison Avenues, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #194 of 453 Hotels in New York City
New Haven, CT
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great stay in a convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. The hotel is in a great location right near Grand Central. Our room was clean, spacious, and the bed was really comfortable; it was probably the best night's sleep I've ever had in NYC. We got an upgrade to a room with a small balcony, which didn't have a view of anything since it faced other buildings, but the quiet it provided was worth a lot more than the view. The staff were friendly and helpful, and were altogether pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    122
    38
    13
    15
See reviews for
31
190
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I would stay at the hotel again. Having welcoming staff (specially Rey doorman) and a great location was a great way to spend my birthday. The rooms were modern and comfortable--perfect for the solo traveler. It within walking distance to Time Square and Broadway Overall it was a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We read horrible reviews about hotels in New York so we were a bit apprehensive in choosing a hotel for our first trip to New York. The Gotham Hotel was a pleasant surprise! The hotel staff was amazing (especially Donaldo), the room was large (compared to the what we read online about what to expect in New York), we had private balcony and a terrace for the floor. The location was perfect as well.

I have a few criticisms but not based on the level of service or quality of the hotel. The bed frame is wooden with corners. With less than 18 inches of space around the bed, we both hit our shins. My husband tripped in the middle of the night once and his shins will probably scar. The shower, while spacious, was not designed properly. You have to step into the shower to turn on the water and you end up getting wet with cold water.

On our last day, we checked out of the hotel at 12 noon but our flight wasn't until 7:00pm. We went to lunch, did some shopping and ended up back at the hotel wanting to hang out in the restaurant. The waiter was rude and pretentious. He took my glass of tea off the table without asking me and told me he was required to serve it to me. We ordered an appetizer so that we were not just sitting in the restaurant without ordering. At one point, I was checking on the pasta I bought from Little Italy in my lunch bag. The waiter came over and looked at was I was doing as if I was up to something. It was very awkward and uncomfortable.

That being said, these items will not influence my decision to return to the Gotham Hotel. The hotel staff, service, quality and location was beyond my expectations. We look forward to visiting again and staying at the Gotham.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gotham M, Manager at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review The Gotham. We sincerely appreciate your kind feedback about our Front Office team We a grateful for our location and we are happy that you took advantage of it and enjoyed so many areas of New York City!

On behalf of our entire team, I want to apologize for the poor customer service you received on your last day in the hotel restaurant.

We are proud that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to your return visit. Please contact the hotel Sales Department prior to making your reservations.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 16 nights and enjoyed my stay. Got an emediate upgrade to a room om the 22nd floor which was lovley, quiet and spacious. The staff were great especially the doormen and Rey especially.
Would defintley recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, Manager at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your recognition of Rey and our entire team. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just got back from spending 7 nights at the Gotham hotel. Are we are so happy about everything. The room was very clean and big, the bed was wonderful after a hole day of walking. The staff is so helpful and kind. The location is perfect. This was our first trip to NY and when we come back we will stay at this hotel. LOVE IT !

Room Tip: We asked for a room against the 46th street, that was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, Manager at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your review and wonderful comments! We are so glad you decided to stay at The Gotham Hotel and even more pleased that you had so much fun with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Did not book this hotel based on location (just reviews and price) but couldn't really have been better. Right near Times Square, Broadway, 5th Avenue.. a great base to walk around Manhattan. Excellent customer service. Modern, clean rooms. Very comfy beds and powerful shower. Glad they provided a hairdryer as my UK one worked rubbish (due to voltage differences). Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, Director of Sales at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Gotham Hotel, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our location, cleanliness, amenities we provide to our guests and excellent customer service. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service and we are proud that we fullfilled our goal during your stay. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

But of their fantastic customer service! I recently had a situation where my reservation was not cancelled properly and reached out to the Director of Sales, Mike, who took care of me. I appreciate their patience and great customer service. And as always, LOVE the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gotham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gotham Hotel

Address: 16 East 46th Street, Between Fifth and Madison Avenues, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gotham Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of Gotham Hotel’s 66 unique guestrooms offers style and comfort. The guestrooms are luxurious and stylish with European touches in an elegant and pragmatic manner. These spacious rooms feature distinctive terraces, loft-like ceilings, dynamic windows, vast bathrooms featuring Italian glass mosaic tile, workspace/desk, lavish linens, generous closets, custom accessories, and thoughtful amenities. Come stay in luxury and style with guestrooms that feature a balcony or large terrace encompassing a range of views and inspiring unlimited possibilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gotham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gotham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;