We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in midtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gotham Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Gotham Hotel to your Saves list
The Gotham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 East 46th Street, Between Fifth and Madison Avenues, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #239 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in midtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Great sizeable rooms in midtown. Extremely clean, with a small balcony. The staff were both friendly and attentive. 5th avenue on your doorstep and a short walk to Times Square. Very reasonably priced especially for Super Bowl weekend. Would definitely recommend for couples or on business.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    149
    44
    15
    18
See reviews for
37
218
32
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I came for business and I am quite impressed. The rooms are clean and modern and the staff is friendly and helpful. before coming I saw a few of the negative reviews and was a bit nervous but decided to chance it. I'm glad I did. I think this is a great hotel and I'm really happy with my experience.

As for the negatives, no I didn't have a view but I didn't expect one at this price point in New York. I would also like a butler outside of my room but do not expect one if I am not paying for it. As for cleanliness I can only say that in my experience the room was very clean and I did not have any problems.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Convenient location, quite smart and stylish and the free glass of wine on arrival is a nice touch. We had great views from our 16th floor room, which was small but adequate - a very comfortable bed and a good shower.
Only regret was taking their advice on how to get to Newark Airport!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Right in the best point for the tourist in Manhattan, close to everything - Central Park, restaurants, shops. The hotel seems to have been recently renovated. The rooms are comfortable (amazing shower), not really spacious (NYC standard), but very clean. Overall, it's a good option if you are not in a tight budget.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We spent a week in the City and we found this hotel. We were used to go to international Hotels so we were a little bit skeptical on the Design & Boutique hotels but as soon we reached we felt great.
Superb location. The room was big and very comfortable and clean.
The staff was great. Always helpful, kind and young.
We appreciated a lot Ray and Maria: they are the best in town!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I have just come back from NYC, where i spent 10 days at The Gotham. We had booked a King size bed double room, we've been allocated room 81, on the 8th floor. The room was PERFECT! I was hesitating between 2 hotels, and couldn't quite make my mind. Now i'm happy i've chosen the Gotham.
In terms of location, the hotel is perfect! It's perfectly located, in a walking distance from Times Square, colombus circle.. It's very central. The room was really big ( way bigger than the usual standards in Nyc), the bed was super comfortable, and the staff were extra helpful when needed. The room's decoration is modern, neat and clean. And the bathroom was very nice, with a gorgeous italian shower.
We highly appreciated our stay at the Gotham! The Internet is free ( unlike most hotels there), and the tv channels are thorough.
All together it really was a fantastic stay, and i would definitely recommend and go back to the Gotham!
The Hotel Manager, Norman, was really nice and helpful, replying to my emails very quickly. Too bad we never got around to meeting him.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Needed a simple hotel in midtown for business and am so happy I found Gotham Hotel. It's a small boutique hotel - with friendly service and great ammenities - like a wine bar/restaurant and a snack bar/stocked fridge in the room. Great!

Room Tip: I stayed on the 8th floor, but I believer higher up floors have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gotham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gotham Hotel

Address: 16 East 46th Street, Between Fifth and Madison Avenues, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gotham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of Gotham Hotel’s 66 unique guestrooms offers style and comfort. The guestrooms are luxurious and stylish with European touches in an elegant and pragmatic manner. These spacious rooms feature distinctive terraces, loft-like ceilings, dynamic windows, vast bathrooms featuring Italian glass mosaic tile, workspace/desk, lavish linens, generous closets, custom accessories, and thoughtful amenities. Come stay in luxury and style with guestrooms that feature a balcony or large terrace encompassing a range of views and inspiring unlimited possibilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gotham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gotham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.