We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slinky little number tucked away off 5th Avenue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gotham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Gotham Hotel to your Saves list
The Gotham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 East 46th Street, Between Fifth and Madison Avenues, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #240 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Slinky little number tucked away off 5th Avenue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This place was truly a pleasant surprise. It's in the middle of midtown, steps from Fifth Avenue and Grand Central, but worlds away from the hustle once you enter your spacious, modern, and quiet room. Every room has a balcony or terrace. There are no more than four rooms on each floor. The lobby is a tiny affair, but the rooms are huge by New York standards. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    149
    44
    15
    18
See reviews for
37
218
32
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We selected the hotel because is was a short walk from Grand Central. Very neat hotel. We were on an upper floor - only 2 rooms that shared a large outdoor area with dining table and chairs. We had a small balcony off our room as well. Very nice and very comfortable.

Room Tip: We booked our room at the last minute online. Great price. Upper floor - only 2 rooms to a floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel in a great location with lots of space and great staff! Stayed there for our honeymoon and would definitely go back, we were upgraded to a skyline room which was brilliant. Bathroom was very large and all amenities perfect. Prefer this type of hotel to a really big one. Good breakfast too!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at the Gotham, and we really enjoyed it. It is a pretty small hotel; the floor our room was on only had three rooms. We stayed in a skyline room. The room is pretty good sized (for NYC) as well as the bathroom. It had a balcony that overlooked 46th Street with a table and chairs, which was really nice. Unfortunately, there was a massive heat wave going on while we were there (it felt like it was in the high 90's or above every day), so we didn't use it as much as I would have liked. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely consider saying here again when we return to NYC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed overnight on Friday and I was so happy I chose the Gotham. The staff, especially Ray & Ana were very friendly and helpful. Ray even flagged down a cab for me in the rain.
The room was immaculate with a great shower in the bathroom. Quiet with a sizeable terrace for NYC.
I so enjoyed it, will definitely come back. Not to mention, this is in a great location too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothamgm, General Manager at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Lemonlime56,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review on trip advisor. I am truly happy that Ray and Ana were able to provide friendly and helpful service. Please reach out to me next time your travels bring you to NYC, I look forward to welcoming you.
Ferran S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Second time at Gotham. New reception. Very nice position close to the fifth (shopping area) and Bryant Park / Broadway (my business area) . Nice and clean rooms,comfortable bed . quite expensive (but what's not expensive in that area?)Special thanks to Rey always kind and helpfull. Gianluca - Como - italy

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed one night in the Gotham, and it is perfect for anyone doing business in the Diamond District as it is located on 46th St. between Madison and 5th Ave. The young man at check-in was super nice and friendly, and the property is clean and beautiful. The other guests seem nice, all professionals. The room was itself was immaculately clean, fairly spacious by NY standards, and beautifully decorated (the bathroom shower tiles are gorgeous, with a stacked, lean subway tile effect in colored glass). And, my stay was QUIET: I was on the 7th floor and didn't hear anyone else the whole night, and my room was on the 46th St. side yet I had a completely silent night! [I find that street-side rooms can be noisy bc of traffic.] It was pricier than what my company normally pays ($400 for the night via HotelTonight.com) and that would be the only reason I wouldn't come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothamgm, General Manager at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear maxjeffjen1,

Thank you very much for your review! I am so glad that you had an enjoyable stay! Please contact me directly at ferran@thegothamhotelny.com next time you visit NYC I am sure we will be able to accommodate you.
We look forward to your next visit.
Best

Ferran Sanfelimon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gotham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gotham Hotel

Address: 16 East 46th Street, Between Fifth and Madison Avenues, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gotham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of Gotham Hotel’s 66 unique guestrooms offers style and comfort. The guestrooms are luxurious and stylish with European touches in an elegant and pragmatic manner. These spacious rooms feature distinctive terraces, loft-like ceilings, dynamic windows, vast bathrooms featuring Italian glass mosaic tile, workspace/desk, lavish linens, generous closets, custom accessories, and thoughtful amenities. Come stay in luxury and style with guestrooms that feature a balcony or large terrace encompassing a range of views and inspiring unlimited possibilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gotham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gotham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.