We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT ESCAPE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Spa Castle

New York Spa Castle
131-10 11th Ave CollegePoint, New York City, NY
718 939 6300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #264 of 509 activities in New York City
Type: Spas
Attraction Details
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A GREAT ESCAPE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Spa Castle is a wonderful escape from stress, especially in the winter time. I have been many times (weekdays are best as they are less expensive and less crowded) and have always found it to be spotlessly clean and terrific. It is a traditional Korean-style bathhouse and also similar to bathhouses in Europe. The single sex soaking pools and saunas on the ground floor are incredibly relaxing - nudity is obligatory in this section as it is in Korea and most parts of the world that don't have major hang ups about the human body. The outside swimming pools have more of a waterpark atmosphere but are also quite nice. I have to admit that I'm not crazy about the food, but the dumplings and other simple offerings on the top floor (next to the outdoor pools) are good. Alcoholic drinks are quite expensive, but this is not a place to come to for drinking (although a beer after a long afternoon of soaking and sauna-ing is nice).

I do recommend trying to come by car - the trek on the #7 train out to Flushing takes a while, and the shuttle from the train does not run that often - but it is on a schedule that's available on their website. If you do take the train, try to time it around the shuttle schedule. It's also helpful to speak directly with someone on the phone at Spa Castle to find out exactly where the shuttle leaves from in Flushing. The pick up spot is next to a large parking complex and across from a bank (forgot the name), which is a helpful landmark. Main Street in Flushing is incredibly crowded and busy, and it helps to know where you are going.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    15
    12
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A great place to spend the day but do not expect high end service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I came her with my husband on a Sunday, just to spend some time together. There is a lot to do here. There are a couple of different saunas, different pools, steam room, massage area, salon, etc. the out door pools are very cool and fun but the water was not hot enough.
Do not expect a quiet relaxing place, there are a lot of people, the place has a kind of commercial feel.
If you want any services book as soon as you come in cause they seem to book out fast. I wanted a mani/pedi and they were all booked.
The food was not the greatest but we ate anyways, we were hungry :)
The drinks are okay, I recommend the pistachio colada.
The staff is not friendly besides for the bartender at the poolside bar and the bar across from there.
The lady at the checkout seemed to have felt very important to make me wait online to return my wrist band, even when I told her that my husband checked out I just want to drop off the bracelet. I was annoyed, I felt that at checkout they should at least try to have good staff so people leave with a good feeling and attitude.
If you're just looking for a place to chill, this is great but do not expect much.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Attraction as opposed to an actual spa or sauna”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It's a destination for spending money, and more like a water park as opposed to an actual bath house. I had ventured there thinking I would actually go into the saunas, as they have "several." In reality, the saunas are very crowded and at the seating level (floor), don't reach anywhere near the actual temperatures displayed. Also wearing the required "uniforms" in a sauna is very uncomfortable and bizarre to say the least... Pool areas are incredibly crowded, and on a cold day the best option was an outdoor pool with medium temperature water. Food and drink facilities seem to dominate the square footage, and as no big surprise, are obviously overpriced.
Having then decided to leave, I was yelled at for not wanting to go nude in the public showers by extremely rude and discourteous staff. Also, the towels provided look like wash rags at best, because obviously you are encouraged to rent a bath towel....obviously....
Overall if you are looking for a water park experience, this is the place. If you are looking for a sauna, I would strongly urge you to go elsewhere.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“MY FAVORITE PLACE FOR MY SON AND I TO RELAX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

When I cant get to go away on a destination vacation and life gets tough like hurricane sandy and school bus strike, my son and I (or my girlfriends and I - great for a girls night out they are open until 11pm ) escape to NYC Spa Castle. The minute you enter the rotunda and release your vehicle to the valet you feel a sense of relief that you can relax. (YES!!! VALET! Parking!! but street parking is available mos times if you prefer)

Once you get your hands free (watch-type) device and enter the main women's spa you immediately feel like you have been transplanted to Asian Artisan Social and Relaxation temple.

Before putting up your belongings in the ample lockers that have been conveniently provided and putting on swimwear and spa covers (provided free) take shower and take a dip in the bade pools with jasmine exotically aroma therapeutically enhances your experience as massaging water jets soothe every muscle. Or indulge in a semi private sugar scrub$. Or save the best part for last as you may want to slumber right after. And that's okay here your entry fee enables you unlimited hours. Take a nap in the napping area located on the second floor if you opted to to massage and scrub $$ first before heading upstairs.

But I suggest start upstairs first co-ed saunas and outdoor and door bade pools where you can enjoy all family and friends and work your way down to the massage and scrub $$ schedule it at any of the convenient massage appointment desks located throughout the facility. Splash with the kids in the outdoor pool or heat up with your husband or best friends in the hot tubs or catch the game and a bear at the bar with sitting indoor pool on the third level before you unwind for real with your personalized service at an extra fee of course.

But to be quite honest with you, when I and my son go we pay entrance fees hit the outdoor bade pools on the 3rd level that also have massaging jets and just add lunch$ to our itinerary , (no personal massage services added) and soak all day (daylight to nighty night) and have what we feel is the time of out lives for just the cost of entry and cost of buffet or the sushi bar. and haagen daz ice cream for dessert, (but yes they have a smoothie bar for the more healthy at heart lol ). My son loves the fried dumplings and yellowtail and salmon sushi. ALL AND ALL OUR FAVORITE PLACE OF EARTH WHEN WE CAN'T GET OUT OF THE CITY TO THE BAHAMAS , OUR FAVORITE DESTINATION.

(men have their own entry which your husband and boys can have their own experience on main floor before heading up to co-ed levels of spa. However, if you are a single mom with a son you just ask for a personal assistant from the mens' spa to escort the child to his locker and assist them getting their spa uniform over their swim suit, you can meet them on the upper co-ed floor if your children are old enough to be unattended for a few minutes that is they wait seated on the second level that has buffet$ , open massage $ , saunas, chair massage $, smoothie counter $, if you don't want the kids to get any services or food until you get their give explicit instructions as their hands free devices allows them to swipe for food or service too that must be paid for at departure/exit of the spa)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“it is like being in a vacation cruise for 1 day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

the first time i went there i loved it, the food in the 4th floor is excellent, and not expensive, the sleeping napping area is nice for u to relax, the heated indoor and outdoor pool is great, an when it snows the outdoor pool is great, children love the place too and keep asking to go back. after the first time the initial experience is gone, but still it is a nice place to spend the day.
whenever a school holiday comes around, paying $550 per night at great wolf lodge vs 1 day in spa castle without the drive and better food, is a no brainer.
i bought the 10 entrance at once with a discount.
going back saturday.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Spa Castle also viewed

 

Been to New York Spa Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Spa Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added New York Spa Castle to your Saves list