We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #158 of 459 Hotels in New York City
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I didn't expect much coming here. I had an extra day in NYC before my business meetings and booked this hotel due its economical pricing and good locale. Ended up being a wonderful stay. Highlights:

1. The room had a very comfortable bed and modern design. Didn't feel old or stuffy. Felt renovated and well kept.

2. The hotel staff was SUPER friendly and accommodating. Always handled everything with a smile and warmth.

3. The location is excellent. You're close enough to everything, including major subway stops, without being too close to them that you feel you're in chaos.

4. The neighborhood can be a little noisy, but you wouldn't know it from being inside your room. They do a really good job of keeping the noise out.

I would stay here again in a second. Two very enthusiastic thumbs up.

Room Tip: Even the economical rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieC-FFIChelsea, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear ChristianSF,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our property. It's always great to hear the staff was accommodating and helpful and more importantly, you were able to enjoy your guestroom accommodations as well as the location of the property.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    165
    35
    15
    6
See reviews for
88
171
35
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Beautiful room, not much of a view stayed on the 3rd floor. However very good accommodations and amenities nearby. Central in chelsea and everything you want from the area and the city. Friendly front desk staff and very clean hotel.

Room Tip: Wait to ask for an upgrade when you get there and join the rewards program for Marriott it's fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieC-FFIChelsea, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Tristan S,

Thank you for your awesome review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Manhattan Chelsea!

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you stay with us again next time you are in the Big Apple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent a week at the Fairfield on 28th street. The desk staff were very helpful with all our requests, from recommendations for dinner to helping with subway advice. Located in the busy flower district the immediate area around the hotel entry was kept extremely clean, considering the amount of action that happens on the side walk. The location is great, close to all your needs. The west side subway is a 2 minute walk away. The room we had was quite small but perfectly adequate. The breakfast options were good, but can get quite busy, so earlier the better. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in NYC.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieC-FFIChelsea, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Travelingpete72,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. As you mentioned, one of the many benefits to staying at our property is the close distance to all of the great attractions in New York City.
Our goal is to provide a clean room and great customer service and it sounds like we accomplished our goal with you. We truly appreciate your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Hotel is in a perfect location for walking to time square and other popular destinations. Upon our arrival we were met with the very friendly staff- Mya checked us in and she and another gentleman (sorry, forgot his name) were most helpful. There is a ton of traffic on the street, but hey it's New York City, Mya explained that we needed to take our vehicle up the street to park and the cost was $25. Remember to take your ticket back to the hotel for them to validate it. They explained that there was 24 hour Starbucks coffee and Hot chocolate for our kiddies. As others mentioned the flowers are absolutely gorgeous and its nice to have such a beautiful walkway leaving and coming back to the hotel. I don't normally sleep well in hotels; however, I found their beds most comfortable, as did my husband. The rooms were clean and well maintained, and when we called for additional towels, housekeeping responded very promptly. We stayed on the twelfth floor, but my parents stayed on the tenth, and they had issues with their heating system. They called the next morning to have someone look at it- which was fixed, but they froze through the night. We did not have those issues, that is why I am still rating this hotel as excellent, as my personal experience.

Breakfast was the norm, oatmeal, hard-boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, and sausage along with mixed fruit and bagels. They also had orange and cranberry juice- and the hostess was very very pleasant and helpful also. She kept everything stocked and made sure everyone was well taken care of.

Overall, this was a very nice hotel, the price was perfect very reasonable and the staff extremely friendly.

Room Tip: Try to go as high as possible, to have a better view of the Empire State building :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieC-FFIChelsea, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear vivi411,

Thank you for the Excellent Review!

I am so happy to hear Mia and Thomas went above and beyond to make sure you were comfortable during your stay. I will be sure to pass long your kind words to them as well as the rest of our staff.

Our goal is to provide a clean room and great customer service and it sounds like we accomplished our goal with you. We thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon when you visit the Big Apple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

After reading the outstanding reviews of this hotel I had high expectations. I can honestly say that the FFI-Chelsea exceeded all expectations on every level (quality, value and especially customer service). We have stayed in many NYC hotels with varying star levels and tripadvisor ratings but none better than the FFI-Chelsea. As noted in previous reviews the customer servce is excellent. Every employee (too many to mention each by name), from those we spoke with by phone prior to our visit to those with whom we interracted during our stay, were both professional and personable. They made us feel right at home. Special recognition should go to Katie C who upon learning that we were there to celebrate our daughter's birthday went above and beyond with an upgraded room (great view of ESB) and a bday surprise. The rooms are large by NYC standards, well appointed and very clean. The free wifi and beakfast add to the already outstanding value. The location is convenient - near subway, restaurants and out of the craziness of Time Square. The FFI-Chelsea will definitely be at the top of our list for future visits to NYC. The only word of warning has nothing to do with the hotel itself but is worth mentioning. They were working on the street in front of the hotel. It did not take away from our positive experience but we did awaken to the sound of a jackhammer each morning. I'm not sure how long this will be an issue but you might want to ask if it matters to you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieC-FFIChelsea, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear tk4bama,

Thank you for giving Fairfield Inn Chelsea a try. I am delighted to know how much you enjoyed your accommodation, our free amenities and our great location. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our team. You, your family and especially your daughter is most welcome for the upgrade and birthday treat! It was my pleasure to make sure her special day was acknowledged!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel upon your next visit to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed here last week and had exceptional service from the staff. They were very helpful with directions and a cab to the airport. This hotel is clean and well run and very convenient to the West Village, Midtown, Soho etc. I do receommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieC-FFIChelsea, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Mcbearcatfan,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay with us!

I truly appreciate the great feedback on the hotel staff, as well as our property. I will make sure to share your great comments with the team and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very good location. Close to subway, can walk to Penn station. In addition, there are flower shops all along the road in front of hotel which make you feel fresh whenever you out of hotel.
Staffs are good. Room is good. Anyway, breakfast is never change, that make us a bit bored.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieC-FFIChelsea, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Siri P,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay. I am happy to here you enjoyed everything Fairfield Inn & Suites has to offer and the lovely flower shops right outside!

We hope you have another opportunity to visit us in the Big Apple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea

Address: 116 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Business Hotel in New York City
#152 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#154 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.