We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the rooms are tiny” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #161 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“the rooms are tiny”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The location of the hotel is great, but it's the smallest room I've ever paid money for. Horrible size, you have no space for luggage, you cannot move around at all in the room and I am a small person. There is no counter space in the bathroom to place toiletries. The breakfast in the morning was nice, but I spent more time out of my room due to the lack of space in the room. Also, the view was horrible. I love Marriott Hotels, but I won't stay at a Fairfield Inn again. I prefer to pay a little more, for more space. The room isn't functional at all.

Room Tip: Find another hotel in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    190
    37
    18
    6
See reviews for
103
187
38
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This hotel was a 3 star and should have been a 2 star. It was $499 a night....but I thought I could spend the extra money since I would earn Marriott Points. Don't do it! There are so many four star hotels in the same area ....closer to Madison Avenue and 5th Avenue...that are not as expensive. The rooms and bathroom are smaller than a typical "small NYC hotel room" and the air conditioning unit blew cold, dusty air on my face throughout the evening. Needless to say, I had a cold the next week and oh yes, the new scarf I left in the room "was not found by housekeeping."

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

This hotel was average/below average. I would never stay here for vacation purposes and probably not again for business purposes. There is no restaurant in this hotel so I recommend staying at the hilton or indigo hotel directly across the street. The rooms are very small, but neat/clean/modern. The staff are average if not below average. When calling the front desk for assistance with the internet connection, I received very rude attempt to answer my question from one of the ladies working at the front desk. I would not recommend unless you literally need a place to sleep while on business travel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Mel J,

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I sincerely apologize for the lack of assistance you received with the internet connection and I hope you addressed it with the front office supervisor, so we could have the opportunity to make it right. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.

Sincerely,
Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

First time in New York and one word fantastic This hotel as everyting for a great stay staff fantastic and so helpful bed the most comfortable hotel bed and we have stayed in hundreds of hotels breakfast good and tea and coffee 24hrs is another perk ideal position to walk to a lot of sites we traveled on all public transport walked at night never so any trouble and felt safe ,We will certainly use this hotel when we go back to ny we had 8 days there but still had things we needed to do , Just a big thank you to everyone at the fairfield
Jeff and Dot Wood

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Jeff & Dot,

We were delighted to hear that you had a "fantastic" stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea. It was nice to hear that you slept well,enjoyed the breakfast,as well as the 24hrs StarBucks coffee and tea service. Thank you so much for letting us be your host while in New York City, and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stop by NYC last summer for a 2 nights family escapade. My 2 girls, 5 & 7 years old loves exploring Manhattan every summer. Walking in midtown, 5th avenue, Rockefeller Plaza, St Patrick Cathedral, Lego Store, American Girl store, and Pokemon Center. So many things to do in this modern and busy city. We stayed in Fairfield Inn Marriot Chelsea area. Our family loves staying in Marriot Hotel because of it's reputation, and cleanliness. The room is small but modern. There's a parking garage just 3-4 doors away and much cheaper and convenient compared to midtown area. Lots of authentic restaurants nearby and lots of wholesalers where you can shop for purses, eyeshades, etc. You can walk to Macy's and there's a Lotte Korean Rest in 32nd or 34th St w/ lots of Korean and other Asian restaurants. You have to come early if you plan to eat dinner because it gets busy at dinner time. Lots of waiting in line. This hotel has free breakfast so you don't have to worry what and where to get your hot and yummy breakfast. There's also McDonald at the corner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear AZSch,

We read your review and are very happy to know you and your girls enjoyed your time in New York City and here at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea. We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in New York City!

Sincerely,

Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Amazing room in the flower district. Streets lined with flower vendors. 14th floor with view of a very stubby empire state building. Visited 350 art galleries nearby in one day. We didn't meet a person we did not like. Andrew at the desk was helpful with things to do in the neighborhood. We walked everywhere and felt safer than I do in Dayton, Ohio. I admire the concept of a "pencil hotel". Uncrowded and a trip on the elevator was speedy.

Room Tip: Go high. Elevator was across from our room but I never heard it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Lordegbert,

We were happy to hear that you had a problem free stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea. It was very nice to hear that Andrew our front desk associate was helpful with information to navigate the neighborhood.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here because of it's location. We were attending a race that was close by. We frequent NYC. (a little tricky parking to check in) We arrived early and our room was not ready. They offered a different room at no extra cost. The room was perfect! The breakfast was included and offered healthy choices. Parking is always an issue in NYC...expensive. This hotel has an arrangement with a garage down the street $25! Quite the bargain for NYC. This is not a luxury hotel but being in NY I would rather save the money and enjoy a gourmet dinner and a show! We were able to walk to the Home a restaurant which we have been wanting to try. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Handicap access rooms very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear travelgirl_987654321,

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea. Pleased to hear that the breakfast offered,and parking met your requirements. Thank you for letting us be your host while in New York City,and hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in New York City!

Sincerely,

Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea

Address: 116 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
#146 Family Hotel in New York City
#166 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea Hotel New York City
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.