We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Between the Parks

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Between the Parks
Save
You added Between the Parks to your Saves list
West 80 Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 88 New York City B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Excellent bed and excellent breakfast, correctly selected district, well-informed about everything Susan!
We are lucky to stay here and hope to come back soon! Many warm greetings to Susan from Moscow!)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
betweentheparks, Owner at Between the Parks, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
It was wonderful having you here and I look forward to meeting you again in New York ... or Moscow! Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. -Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    7
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
44
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

After quite a lot of research for hotels here at Tripadvisor and on Lonely Planet, we stubled over "Between the parks B&B". After reading several great reviews, we contacted the owner, Susan, and she replied kindly with answes to all our questions. We booked the room several months in advance, as she only has the one room, and lots of people wanting to stay there.

This was our first visit to NYC, and we stayed for a week. During the whole week, Susan made a great breakfast for us every morning, with fresh bagels, fruit, coffee and juice, and we had interesting chats about everything from things to see in NYC to politicts and our daily lifes. It was really great to get "inside information" about things to see/do (ant not bother seeing/doing) in NYC from Susan, who is a born New Yorker herself.

The room is cozy, and feels like a "litte home away from home". Is has its own bathroom, with toilet and shower, and Susan does "light housekeeping", which really is enough when staying a few days or a week. The neighbourhood (Upper West Side) is really great - it is peaceful and cozy with lots of restaurants and bars, and also has some shopping. Both Central Park and two subway stops is a three minute walk away, really great!

We are allready starting to plan our next trip back no New York, so you will soon hear from us again, Susan!:)

Frank & Heidi

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Between the Parks B&B is an excellent choice for those people visiting NYC who want an authentic NY experience, of a high standard, with a host who is extremely knowledgeable and a true New Yorker! Susan runs a excellent B&B, with comfortable and clean facilities and a delicious breakfast - but it is her attention to detail and the mine of information that she provides, that makes Between the Parks my first choice! She is extremely helpful and accommodating and is very cognisant of the best options for tourists - be they options for transport, attractions, interesting shows or how to save money! Her apartment is a lovely peaceful haven to return to after a long day shopping, sightseeing and fighting the crowds. Ideally situated close to restaurants, shops and banks - visitors need not head downtown if they choose not to, but could stay and explore the upper west side. Also it is only 5 minutes walk to central park and less than 2 minutes to the subway! I would thoroughly recommend this venue and will now look no further for my future NYC trips, having already made one return trip to her!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Happened upon this gem by accident but it turned out to be the find of our trip.After several anonymous nights in basic hotels, it was so wonderful to walk through the doors of this Upper West treasure. Susan makes the perfect host with her immense knowledge of NY and easy going manner. Starting the day with a chat over fresh bagels, seasonal berries and fruit and yummy yoghurt, Susan always willing to offer advice on how to enjoy her hometown and make the most of one of the great cities of the world. So much to explore in close proximity, Central Park, amazing restaurants, the subway makes it easy to explore the rest of the boroughs and then coming back to our home away from home, to our very comfortable room with ensuite. Perfect location, free wifi and truly warm and welcoming host Susan...brilliant

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing,KS
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I planned a trip to NYC to celebrate her 30 th birthday, staying at Between The Parks B & B was the best decision we could have made. Susan and her cozy apartment suited our needs perfectly it was clean, quiet and in the perfect location. We enjoyed a beautiful fresh breakfast every morning and Susan gave us ideas of places we shouldn't miss seeing.
It was wonderful to spend the day riding the subway to shop or go see a show on Broadway and then return to this private hideaway.
After staying with Susan I can't imagine staying in a hotel or any place else!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed with Susan at Between the Parks in June and were delighted because she Susan treated us like old friends. She discussed our daily plans with us over breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurt and pastries. She suggested which parks and museums would probably please us most (and was bang-on every time), as well as several other outings, like the High Line walkway that we wouldn’t have thought of on our own.

The room was comfortable and large enough that we didn’t feel like we were going to bump into furniture and walls, but of course, you have to remember that you’re in a condo in Upper West Manhattan, so you can’t expect home on the range in terms of space. Still, the room was larger than either of the hotel rooms we had in Paris in previous years. You also can’t expect a magnificent view but we didn’t mind at all because we were out most of the time and Susan’s hospitality more than made up for any minor issues.

The location is fantastic. You can walk to both Central Park and Riverside Park. You’re just off Amsterdam Ave., so the subway, shopping and a string of good restaurants are within easy walking distance. And it’s a residential area where you constantly see people walking their dogs and mothers pushing strollers, so you never have to have any concerns about safety.
There’s a little elevator, so you don’t have to lug suitcases up and down flights of stairs. She’s done a great job of maximizing the space, both for her guests and herself. She even created a small reading area just inside the front door where you can browse a small library or research your next day’s outings.

Book well in advance because, as more people discover this cosy little gem, it will get harder and harder to book. And in answer to a couple of obvious questions: Yes, I would stay there again and hope I get the opportunity to do so. And no, no one paid me to say these nice things; I just really liked New York and Susan’s accommodations.

Keep a candle in the window, Sue!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore/DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My best friend found Between the Parks B & B for our annual BFF weekend and it was PERFECT. First of all the location is incredible, just a short walk to the 1 train which gets you just about anywhere you'd want to go in Manhattan, or the A train is just a few blocks further. It's in a great, quiet, very safe neighborhood. Secondly, Susan was a wonderful hostess. Breakfast was delicious and Susan was full of great tips, recommendations, and resources.

You simply cannot beat this price, and it is such an amazing value as well. I highly recommend Between the Parks for any single or couple travelers.

Room Tip: She only has one room and it has a double bed. The quarters are tight, but there is a private bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#78 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,757 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#113 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#27 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#263 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,453 reviews
Upper West Side
Inn New York City
Inn New York City
#6 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#206 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Between the Parks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Between the Parks

Address: West 80 Street, New York City, NY 10024
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As owners in residence, we have welcomed guests to join us in our home from all over the US and more than 30 countries. We have set aside one comfortable, clean, quiet, and private bedroom with en-suite bath within our NYC apartment, for one to two lodgers. Mornings feature a fresh cup of coffee or tea and breads from world-famous Zabar's. Air-conditioned. Located on the Upper West Side Side of Manhattan with convenient access to subways and buses; Central Park; Lincoln Center; Met, Guggenheim and Natural History museums; Macy's and shopping; restaurants and cafes; and parking garages. We are 5th generation New Yorkers, residing in the apartment throughout your stay, on hand to get to know you and share our knowledge of, and love for, New York City. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Between the Parks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.