We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Weekend in NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save
Ranked #238 of 452 hotels in New York City
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Long Weekend in NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I was looking for a convenient location and decided to stay here. The Hotel was very nice and well located. The front Desk person, Jinelis was exceptional!!!!! (The Day Manager was very helpful too!) She welcomed us and could not of been more accommodating. I wish I could say the same about the Concierge Joshua who got annoyed when I asked him how to get somewhere. Needless to say, we did not go back to him again. The Bellman Oscar was also very helpful in many ways. Overall, we were very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear curtiso,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! Our first priority is warm, personal service, and we are so delighted to hear that Jinelis, Oscar and their colleagues in the front office provided you with the exceptional service that is the signature of St Giles. I will be sharing your kind words with them. We certainly regret to hear, however, that you did not receive that same standard of service at the concierge desk—we always appreciate the opportunity to improve the guest experience, and we are certainly grateful that your feedback will allow us to grown and change. We hope you come back to visit us again!

Please let us know if we can be of assistance in reserving a future stay for you. For the best rates, you may always email our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code DIRECT when booking through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Court very soon!

Warm Regards

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    365
    476
    184
    47
    28
See reviews for
205
407
62
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is our second stay at The Court. Rooms are spacious, the location excellent, and the staff helpful. Great neighborhood for food and services. Dry cleaners, restaurants, all within a block. The breakfast is convenient, and the bar fun at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Andy M,

We love hearing from returning guests, and thank you so much for sharing your experience at The Court! From our spacious rooms, to our friendly staff, to our great location in Murray Hill we are delighted to hear that your visits have provided you with a great NYC experience. We look forward to making your third visit the best yet.

Please let us know if we can be of assistance in reserving a future stay for you. For the best rates, you may always email our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code DIRECT when booking through our website.

Warm Regards

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a very nice, clean, comfortable hotel that is very well located within easy walking distance of several subway lines, and a nice but longer walk to Times Square. This was also truly one of the nicest front desk crews I have ever experienced at any hotel. I would happily stay here again, and in fact hope to make another reservation in October!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Michael S,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We love hearing when our associates leave a great impression on our guests—I will be sharing your kind words with our front desk staff, who work day in and day out to provide warm, personal service to each and every guest. We hope to welcome you back to Murray Hill in the near future.

Please let us know if we can be of assistance in reserving your upcoming visit in October. For the best rates, you may always email our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code DIRECT when booking through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Court very soon!

Warm Regards

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel offers very spacious rooms for New York. The rooms are also quite comfortable and the complimentary wireless works well.

However the hitek us starting to show signs if wear & tear in what was clearly, once, a very stylishingky appointed hotel. The carpets in the hallways & elevators are extremely worn. The enamel on the bath & sinks is chopping away.

The hotel does have use of a fitness centre but note that it is in the hotel next door - the Tuscany -which is a minor inconvenience. But it is well equipped by hotel standard

Hotel check in staff were very friendly, helpful, and courteous. However concierge, and bell hop staff really need to improve their customer approach. I recognise the top based service culture in New York but the approach of the bell good in particular was particularly blatant in relation to demanding tips for what was slow, surly service - my particular experience requiring the bell hop to be paged 3 times before arriving.

Location is ok. I don't especially like Lexington Ave as a hitel location as I find it somewhat remote for my night life requirements and a little lacking in subway connections

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear journeyman29,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We are certainly glad to learn that you enjoyed our spacious, comfortable rooms, and we sincerely appreciate your honest feedback regarding the condition of your room. We pride ourselves on providing warm, personal service to each and every guest, and we are certainly delighted that our front desk staff left a great impression. We regret to hear, however, that your experience was so starkly different with the concierge and door staff. I will be sharing your feedback with our front office teams as we work to meet our own standards for seamless and personal service. I would like to speak with you further regarding your experience. Should you feel so inclined, please feel free to reach out to me personally at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877. We are eager learn where we can improve the guest experience, and we would love another opportunity to show you a true St Giles visit.

Sincerely,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

For a couple of days, I stayed at the Court and I wasn't dissapointed. Very nice room, and great location (E 39th and Park Av., close to the Empire State and Times Square).

The room was very comfortable (although the bathroom was a little small) and I had a very nice view of the Empire State building.

Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear danieldotcom,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spacious, comfortable rooms along with one of our signature views of the Empire State Building—we think it makes for an especially memorable stay in NYC. We hope you come back to visit us again soon.

Please let us know if we can be of assistance in reserving a future stay for you. For the best rates, you may always email our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code DIRECT when booking through our website.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Court very soon!

Warm Regards

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Generally friendly staff with the exception of the one concierge. seemed annoyed by our questions even though we were just looking for a nice place to have dinner.
The room was spacious but could have been cleaner (i.e. chocolate stains on the iPhone docking station)
Great location if you don't mind the noise from the city that never sleeps - windows are not isolated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear behindthescenes00,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We are glad to hear that you had a good stay with us, and we sincerely appreciate your honest feedback regarding the experience. We regret to hear that the service you received from the concierge did not meet your expectations, and that your room was not prepared to our housekeeping standards. I would love the opportunity to speak with you further so that we can take the proper steps to improve. If you feel so inclined, please feel free to reach out to me personally at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877. We hope to have another opportunity to show you a true St Giles experience.

Sincerely,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Furnishings are stylish but a bit worn. Upstairs it looks like this is a former apartment building reconfigured as a hotel. Rooms vary. Mine was very big for New York. Air conditioning was loud and erratic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Kevin G,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We are delighted to hear that you found exceptional value and that our location and spacious rooms provided a great stay. Should you have the opportunity to visit NYC again, please do not hesitate to reach out to us for the best rates and availability. Simply email our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code DIRECT when booking through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Court very soon!

Sincerely,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel

Address: 130 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#164 Business Hotel in New York City
#192 Family Hotel in New York City
#219 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.