We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel to your Saves list
The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!
Ranked #261 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

The rooms are relatively spacious for New York. It's a great location within walking distance of times square and grand central station.The hotel has a bar and a restaurant in the ground floor but didn't try either so can't comment on the quality of both. My room (on the 11th floor) came with free wi-fi, and the usual amenities of mini bar (usual new york pricing though), safe, iron and ironing board, temperature control, shower with attached bath, flat screen tv, free paper in the morning (USA today) and writing desk. Access to your floor on the lift is via your key card so the safety aspects are taken care. My flight was at 11pm so i needed to check out before noon but the hotel stored my luggage till i came back to collect.
Positives-Great service specially from the front desk staff and doormen. Great lobby area with a pool table and lounge off to the side. Convenient location. Fast check in and check out.
Negatives- The room i stayed in could use an upgrade of a few of the fixtures (the hanger holding up the ironing board was broken), would have been useful if the mini-bar had an ice-maker

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    589
    215
    59
    36
See reviews for
248
496
73
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Great location. Rooms are the largest i found in that star rating. Excellent team. Especialy the concierge Juan Santamaria. He's the one that made the diferent between good and great.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1dutymanager, Front Office Manager at The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind feedback regarding your visit with us! The team works hard to make service seem effortless and it is incredibly rewarding to receive you recognition. We look forward to your next stay with us. Until then your commentshave energized us to eagerly await your return.

Warm Regards,
St Giles Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stated at The Court for a 3 night / 4 day break in NYC in January, booked through booking.com on a special offer. This offer made it incredibly good value for money given the Hotels location one block away from Park Avenue. We could see the Chrysler building from our 7th floor bedroom window and Empire State and Grand Central are just a few minutes walk away.

The bedroom was large with a good king size bed, en suite bathroom facilities and mini bar. The hair dryer provided was a bit useless but did its job eventually. Good, hot shower and plenty of clean towels daily, even toiletries were replaced every day which was nice. There is a mini bar in the room but as you'd expect it was very expensive.

Negative points were that the room had to the or coffee making facilities, and there was free wifi in the hotel lobby area but you had to pay $14.99 per 24 hour period to use it in the bedroom.

We didn't use the hotel bar or restaurant so can't comment- when you're in New York why be limited to your hotel??? There were lots of cafe's nearby and I particularly liked breakfast at Dunkin Do'nuts!

Staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly. We arrived before the 3pm check in time and were quickly shown to our room. There was a lot of noise from the street but when you're in the city that never sleeps you have to expect it- we were so tired from walking all day we slept through it so it can't have been that bad.

We would return to the hotel on a similar offer, however I wouldn't pay the rack rate. A good 4 star!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

The St. Giles staff, formerly the W Court, are what makes this place shine. Many of them are career hotel people, i.e., professionally trained and invested in making the hotel a great place to stay. The rooms are generally lovely, clean and when you ask the staff for something, it gets done. The Midtown location is a good base for explorations of the city and it's out of the Times Square jungle. If you get a rate under $300/night at this hotel, snap it up - for NYC it's worth it and you'll generally have bigger hotel amenities with boutique level service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at St. Giles - The court, for 6 days on december 2011. In the 3rd day we asked for a bed linen change to the housekeeping. Whe we come back i discovered that was some clothes missing. I would not accuse the hotel for theft, so i suppose the clothes went to the laundry inside the bed linen. We questioned the hotel about the clothes several times, and they keep saying that they were still searching. On our last day (3 days after) we checked out, leaving the receipt of the clothes and our address, as if they found, they can sent it to us, or refund our credit card, if they lost our clothes forever. Since then i didnt received the clothes, neither the refund, they do not answer my emails anymore (i sent them 4 emails before writing a bad review). Our bill was more than 1.000 dollars, and the refund, less than 30 usd, just the exact amount of we pay to replace our missing clothes.
I would not recommend st giles, there is a lack of attention in their faults, nobody of the staff felt responsible for that, and they started to ignore the costumer who want to solve the problem in a correct way.
Nobody wants to have this kind of problem when traveling. I would look for other hotel, NYC has several awesome hotels with good care of clients.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1dutymanager, Front Office Manager at The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
On behalf of the entire staff we would like to extend to you our apologies that things were not handled to your satisfaction. We actually do care a great deal about our guests and their experience and we pride ourselves on paying the needed attention to detail to make this happen.

We would welcome the opportunity to turn this situation around. If you would be so kind as to contact me directly at michaely@stgilesnewyork.com I would just do a brief review of the circumstances and then handle this for you immediately.

Until then, thank you for haven chosen to stay with us while in New York and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

The St. Giles Hotel - The Court was a wonderful hotel for my 10 year old daughter and myself. We arrived on the red-eye from Los Angeles, and arrived at the hotel early on our check in date. The hotel was kind enough to allow us to check in early so my daughter and I could have a nap before beginning our explorations. The room was clean, large, with a great shower, Philosophy products in the bathroom. The only reason whythe hotel didn't get 5 stars from me was because it asked for $15.00 a day for internet. This may be the going rate, but I felt it was excessive.

Room Tip: Only two blocks to Grand Central Station. Lots of great restaurants in the area and kind of quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Excellent boutique hotel and if you are lucky like us it has fabulous views of the Empire State Building. Location was perfect - round the corner from Grand Central Station and the Chrysler Building.The rooms are large, beds and pillows soooo comfy. The staff were always so helpful with any requests and queries and also upgraded us to a 15th floor suite as had printed out a voucher for an upgrade even though it didnt necessarily apply to our booking !!! so check the internet for vouchers before you leave ! I would have absolutely no problem in recommending this hotel to anyone.l cannot wait to return especially as the hotel is having a major refit so its a win win !

Room Tip: Ask for view of the Empire State ! Search the internet for vouchers !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel

Address: 130 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#153 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#156 Business Hotel in New York City
#210 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#243 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.