We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, good value for NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel to your Saves list
The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #248 of 459 Hotels in New York City
California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“great location, good value for NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

This hotel seems to attract more international travelers, but we Californians were very comfortable here. A nice sized room, which was remarkably quiet for NYC; we faced a courtyard, not a street, and we'd suggest you ask for that. Easy to get everywhere on foot or otherwise. Room was clean, well-looked after,and staff was very very helpful. We had arrrived very late and tired, and the man who helped us with our bags went out of his way to be sure we were comfortable; the first room he took us to was noisy, and on his own, he got us that quieter room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    533
    204
    55
    31
See reviews for
230
454
67
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I stayed here in September 2010 with my boyfriend. He brought me to NYC to propose and this was the perfect hotel to stay at. The room was huge, I have been to NYC at least 6 times and I have never stayed in a hotel room this big and nice. It is right near Grand Central Station so it's super easy to get around the city. We walked everywhere, or took the subway. The elevators are a bit small and they do charge for WIFI but we were able to use WIFI from a close by business for free.
The bed was super comfy and the room was clean.

I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

first thought was the room was a bit worn, but it was clean and huge, by NYC standards. it used to be a W Hotel property, so the Heavenly Beds are amazing. Pillows too.
very hip/modern, wide range of guests - everyone welcome.
gym next door at the tuscany was fantastic. hotel staff was very friendly. 3 blocks south of grand central station, walking distance to byrant park, and good restaurants. big market 2 blocks away.
would definately stay here again. great value for NYC

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Clean, looks recently renovated. Friendly staff (although the concierge was a bit testy at times). Excellent service. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with same price category vary in size - ask specific details about the room layout; some bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westmeerbeek
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We spent 4 nights at the St Giles the Court. We had a very trendy and spacious room, much more space than other hotels we have stayed in at similar price. There's no fuzz checking in or if you have a question: always friendly service, to the point. The location is superb, so close to Central Station, Bryant Park and nice restaurants around. The bar is also a must: supertrendy, delicious appetizers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

From the moment we arrived ,with the doorman opening the door, to the service on the desk by Sarah in particular and being shown to our very nice room ,everything was perfect.The position of the "Court" on the corner of 39th & Lexington and only 2 blocks from Central station also handy to cafes,delis,restaurants and bars suited us personally.The desk staff were great organizing best times etc.for Empire State and Ellis Island tours in particular.The room was clean and well serviced in the 10 days we stayed there and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: View to the Chrysler Building was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

My son and I stayed here for 5 nights while he was on business and I was catching up with him (and broadway, etc.). We had an oversized room-- even by non-New York standards-- with all the little touches of a boutique hotel: awesome, comfortable beds and pillows, great and helpful staff, including Maritza who works the breakfast buffet. The breakfast buffet is great if included in your stay, otherwise too expensive, redundant and not enough protein choices. This hotel is also wonderfully located for transfers to Grand Central station (and to take bus to LaGuardia or Newark airports) as well as close to Broadway, Macy's and subway. Only negative: high-speed internet not included.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel

Address: 130 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#138 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
#202 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#225 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Court - A St Giles Premier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.