We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good option in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Herald Square New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Herald Square New York to your Saves list
Hyatt Herald Square New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30-32 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #319 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good option in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

hotel is modern and quiet which is important as many hotels are not well soundproofed in this very noisy NY.
Service was friendly and room decent size. Price was ok in term of NY standards.
If you like Asian food, korean street is close by.

Would definitely come back for business or leisure

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Manager at Hyatt Herald Square New York, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear An D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hyatt Herald Square. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
6
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The rooms were nice however the valet was the worst. For $60 a day you would expect better service. The hotel only had one person retrieving and parking cars. I've never experience a 50 minute wait for my car

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Manager at Hyatt Herald Square New York, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear lamar c,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with the Trip Advisor community. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and appreciate you taking the time to share your frustration. I completely agree with you and we will absolutely be revisiting our processes to ensure our guests are completely satisfied. We hope you will choose to stay with us again so that you can enjoy our expedited services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were booked into this hotel for a week for a business trip. The location, design, room size are all very good.

Although the staff was courteous there seemed to be guest services prioritization issues. On our first night we found one of the main room lamps (a "paper" lantern which is the brightest light source in an otherwise dark room) was missing a bulb and the shower was cold.

We called and we were told that engineering would check the boiler while a bulb was delivered the next morning. The bulb didn't work. The shower water remained cold.

We called again and were told the lamp would be fixed and the water would be looked into. On the third day a floor lamp was delivered. The water at night was still cold. Often, we wishfully left the shower tap running in the off chance it would get hot. This is no way to conserve water.

We gave up taking showers at night and got up early to beat the rush and take showers while the water was still hot. On the first two days I could not find sink soap. On the third day both sink and shower soap appeared!

The sink had major drainage problems. The sink filled very quickly then took a good 5-10 minutes to drain. Due to the sink's flat basin design, residue just floats and builds which is unpleasant to look at, and must be a total pain for housekeeping. Because we could not take hot showers, we became somewhat sink-dependent at night, so facial scrubs and soaps and toothpaste were still floating around in the sink after we went to bed and had dried out in the bottom of the sink by morning. Just an unpleasant sight and an ongoing reminder of the lack of hot shower water.

There is lots of space to store clothing and luggage on top of shelves. There was also large fridge. There is a coffee maker which is helpful when you have to get up at 4AM to take a hot shower.

Although the space is cramped, and the coffee station is right next to the bed, so it is a little too easy to accidentally spill hot coffee. For some reason, housekeeping decided that we didn't need our sheets changed for six days(!), despite an accidental coffee spill on the white duvet. We finally left a note requesting that they change the sheets and the request was obliged.

If we had been on holiday, and staying on our own dime, we would have found another room in the first 24-28 hours. It's a nice hotel, but when you're pulling long days, you just want the basics, e.g., hot shower, clean sheets, working lights, efficient plumbing.

They may work out the kinks, but some of these issues may require expensive infrastructural fixes that won't be addressed in a timely fashion.

Again, everyone was very pleasant, especially the team of barkeeps in the lobby at night. Wishing all staff there good luck as management deals with "new house" issues.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in which hot water is assured.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Manager at Hyatt Herald Square New York, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear sjc90039,

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience and appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns. I have shared your commentary with our management team and the issues you encountered during your stay are being rectified. Everything we do is to improve our guest's experience and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future so that you can see our continued improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

HARD TRUTHS: I just can't recommend this hotel as a Hyatt. Yes it is new, but just too many kinks to work out and the walls are paper thin. In the middle of December, I could not get my room to a comfortable temperature. No security watching the front door at night. Anyone can just walk in and get on the elevator. PROS: Staff really nice and try to be helpful. Location is great and view of empire state.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Manager at Hyatt Herald Square New York, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear mamanila,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am disappointed to read that we did not meet your - or our own - expectations and appreciate you taking the time to make your feedback known. I can assure you that your commentary has been shared with all of our department heads and that our staff is working hard to improve our guest's experience. We hope that you will return to our property so you can see the improvements your concerns have inspired. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am a frequent traveler and have never been so offended by the hotel staff as in this hotel. First the hotel is rather small with very small room that I would call cheap Euro chic--and that is the high spot. On my second day at the hotel I came back from work to find a letter stating that they had evidence that I was violating their non-smoking policy and that they were charging my credit card $250 for the violation. I immediately went to the front desk demanding their evidence. They had none. Later in the evening as I was relaxing and a loud rapping was at my door. It was security asking me if I was smoking in my room. I am making a formal complaint the Hyatt chain about this unprofessional, accusatory behavior of their staff.

And as to security, on each evening you can walk in the front door, into the lobby and into the elevators with no checkpoint or challenge from security. Poor security practices.

Will never stay here again and suggest no one else stay here either

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Manager at Hyatt Herald Square New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear kiddogo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of the property. I apologize that you were offended, however we are a non-smoking hotel and take that commitment very seriously. Two separate housekeepers and the housekeeping manager stated that they felt your guest room smelled strongly of smoke so we wanted to ensure you were aware of our policy - when you made your concerns known, the charges were removed from your account.

I apologize if you did not feel safe, we do have security stationed at the entrance of the lobby 24/7 and we are committed to ensuring that all of our guests have a safe and enjoyable experience. We hope you will choose to stay with us again so that we can change your opinion of the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel had a great location in mid-town, but it was small, basic, and almost economy-like. This was the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in. The corner room on the 14th floor was barely larger than the bed. It was beautiful and well designed, and the bathroom was great, but the room felt like staff quarters from a ship. There was minimal staff in the building and no ambiance or energy in the lobby/restaurant. It's very overpriced for such a mediocre experience. There was no concierge to assist with anything and no bellman to assist with our bags.

Room Tip: Stay in a corner suite on the North west corner, you'll have more windows and light. We were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Manager at Hyatt Herald Square New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kapricca,

I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay and appreciate your commentary. Our front desk ambassadors assist with all aspects of our guest's stay so I am sorry to hear that you did not think they were able to assist you enough. Our guest rooms are average for Manhattan and are delighted to read that you appreciated the design. As a newer property, we sincerely appreciate all commentary as we strive to better our service and hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future so you can see our continued improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here in November. The hotel is fine but one major issue we had is NOT receiving the wake up call we had requested. This is a BIG miss. We requested it on our first night. We also found the Hotel to be unusally loud as well....that being said We enjoyed the new property otherwise. It is nice to have many new options in NYC with Hyatt

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Manager at Hyatt Herald Square New York, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear lanzmo,

Please accept my sincerest apologies that you did not receive the wake up call as you had requested. As a newer property, we sincerely appreciate all of our guest's valuable feedback and hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future so that you can see our continued improvements. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Herald Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Herald Square New York

Address: 30-32 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Herald Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the all new Hyatt Herald Square and upgrade your New York experience. A design inspired with a nod to the publishing industry and a flare infused by the fashion industry, our modern take on comfort and style is inspired by our Herald Square location. Guest rooms offer functional design, custom furnishings with pops of color and feature services to suit business and leisure travelers. The Den offers a lifestyle dining experience on the first level, featuring an array of small medium and large bites with a fresh take on American Classics, and a farm to table concept to bring you an array of fresh, delicious options. Grab a cup of our gourmet coffee from the Express Bar, featuring Stone Street Coffee, locally roasted in Brooklyn. Take in sweeping cityviews and specialty house infused cocktails at Up on 20 Rooftop Lounge. Stay on your health regime in our fitness center or catch up on work in the business center or in the Den. Personalized service meets fashion forward design in a great Herald Square location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Herald Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Herald Square New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.