We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all Costs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Herald Square New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Herald Square New York to your Saves list
Hyatt Herald Square New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30-32 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #266 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Avoid at all Costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I am a frequent traveler and have never been so offended by the hotel staff as in this hotel. First the hotel is rather small with very small room that I would call cheap Euro chic--and that is the high spot. On my second day at the hotel I came back from work to find a letter stating that they had evidence that I was violating their non-smoking policy and that they were charging my credit card $250 for the violation. I immediately went to the front desk demanding their evidence. They had none. Later in the evening as I was relaxing and a loud rapping was at my door. It was security asking me if I was smoking in my room. I am making a formal complaint the Hyatt chain about this unprofessional, accusatory behavior of their staff.

And as to security, on each evening you can walk in the front door, into the lobby and into the elevators with no checkpoint or challenge from security. Poor security practices.

Will never stay here again and suggest no one else stay here either

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
6
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel had a great location in mid-town, but it was small, basic, and almost economy-like. This was the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in. The corner room on the 14th floor was barely larger than the bed. It was beautiful and well designed, and the bathroom was great, but the room felt like staff quarters from a ship. There was minimal staff in the building and no ambiance or energy in the lobby/restaurant. It's very overpriced for such a mediocre experience. There was no concierge to assist with anything and no bellman to assist with our bags.

Room Tip: Stay in a corner suite on the North west corner, you'll have more windows and light. We were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Manager at Hyatt Herald Square New York, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Kapricca,

I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay and appreciate your commentary. Our front desk ambassadors assist with all aspects of our guest's stay so I am sorry to hear that you did not think they were able to assist you enough. Our guest rooms are average for Manhattan and are delighted to read that you appreciated the design. As a newer property, we sincerely appreciate all commentary as we strive to better our service and hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future so you can see our continued improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in November. The hotel is fine but one major issue we had is NOT receiving the wake up call we had requested. This is a BIG miss. We requested it on our first night. We also found the Hotel to be unusally loud as well....that being said We enjoyed the new property otherwise. It is nice to have many new options in NYC with Hyatt

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Manager at Hyatt Herald Square New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear lanzmo,

Please accept my sincerest apologies that you did not receive the wake up call as you had requested. As a newer property, we sincerely appreciate all of our guest's valuable feedback and hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future so that you can see our continued improvements. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was immaculately clean. Everything worked well. Everything was visually pleasing. The staff was very nice, helpful, friendly. The bathroom in the room was a good size and I loved the shower.
But, the room was very small (granted there were 4 of us sharing a room with 2 double beds). Hardly any room to walk around. And the room was partly carpeted and partly tiled which added a trip factor, especially when you got up in the middle of the night. Also, the walls were thin, the couple in the next room had a VERY good time, I'm sure they will be giving the hotel a great review.
The location was great as far as being near shopping and restaurants and things to see. It's very close to the Empire State building which we could see from our room. The rooftop bar also had a great view, all the way to the Freedom Tower.
Of course, being mid-town, the neighborhood was a little seedy. It's amazing how such a nicely kept hotel can sit next to some really lousy stores.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Manager at Hyatt Herald Square New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear 468jamesq,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your candid commentary! Our staff works hard every day to ensure that our guests have a great during their visit - thank you for recognizing them! We hop you will return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This property was recently updated and you could definitely tell. Rooms were extremely fresh feeling and very clean. The service was solid, though the hotel did not have all the Hyatt Amenities noted on the card. Herald Square itself is a bit of a dull area in my opinion-- but a very good walkable location. The rooftop bar was not open the night we stayed there but it had a nice view and seemed like a better option than your standard hotel bar. Workout room was really nice and even had towels. All in all I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Manager at Hyatt Herald Square New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear b_cox252,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind words. We are working to make our rooftop bar more weather friendly but the overall space is open year round and we encourage our guests to take in the unbelievable sights - especially the fantastic views of the Empire State Building. We hope you will come back and join us in the warmer weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for a week, a week ago.
Great location and lovely and friendly staff.
Mr Sang specially was very helpful and also fixed a problem I had with the heating.
Will love to come again in the near future

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Manager at Hyatt Herald Square New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Elad E,

Thank you for taking the time to recognize our staff! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind words. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed the hotel. Close to shopping. Love the recently renovated rooms. Rooms are on the smaller side, however, room was well designed to accommodate all of my needs. Love the hard wood floors (instead of being fully carpeted).

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Manager at Hyatt Herald Square New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear 890sheryly,

What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Herald Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Herald Square New York

Address: 30-32 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Business Hotel in New York City
#238 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Herald Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the all new Hyatt Herald Square and upgrade your New York experience. A design inspired with a nod to the publishing industry and a flare infused by the fashion industry, our modern take on comfort and style is inspired by our Herald Square location. Guest rooms offer functional design, custom furnishings with pops of color and feature services to suit business and leisure travelers. The Den offers a lifestyle dining experience on the first level, featuring an array of small medium and large bites with a fresh take on American Classics, and a farm to table concept to bring you an array of fresh, delicious options. Grab a cup of our gourmet coffee from the Express Bar, featuring Stone Street Coffee, locally roasted in Brooklyn. Take in sweeping cityviews and specialty house infused cocktails at Up on 20 Rooftop Lounge. Stay on your health regime in our fitness center or catch up on work in the business center or in the Den. Personalized service meets fashion forward design in a great Herald Square location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Herald Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Herald Square New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.