We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Herald Square New York

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Herald Square New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Herald Square New York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30-32 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Location, clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Staying at the Holiday Inn was very enjoyable. Their rooms are a bit small but you usually don't spend much time there. You have a cupboard and a couple of big drawers that give you enough space to put your clothes away. Our room had a king bed, a big TV and a modern bathroom. The A/C is working fine but probably is a bit loud. Even if you open the window you don't hear much of the usual Manhattan noise as the hotel is close to the corner on Broadway where you don't have too much traffic.
The hotel is close to the next Subway / Bus stop and you have a few of the popular shopping places (Macy's, GAP, Footlocker, Levi's, Victorias Secret, Uniqlo) in walking distance (go to Herald Square on 34th Street).
During our stay, our key cards have not been working (twice) and we had to ask for fresh towels (twice) but the staff was friendly and helpful. The free WiFi was working fine but we had to log in (enter password) every time we got back to the hotel.
The hotel has a restaurant but we never tried it. They also have a roof top bar that opens at 5 pm. You have a pretty amazing view up there and you can either sit at the bar or in lounges (very pretty). Still, they have room for improvement as for what they offer is not that much and the barkeeper is a bit slow (he also had to read from the recipe to mix our drinks).

Room Tip: Our room was facing 31st Street and was just fine. They also have rooms facing the back which a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Hyatt Herald Square New York, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Nisli,
Thanks so much for your review. We do appreciate everyone of our guests.
We hope to be your host again the next time you are here in NYC.

Sincerely,
Joseph Mojica,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    177
    29
    12
    8
See reviews for
101
112
35
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Nice new city hotel. Very clean. Rather small rooms, but it is all right for a short stay and is common for Manhatten. Great location. Close to broadway, time square and 34 "shopping street". Definitely very good value for money. Stayed just for one night and if in NYC will book again.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Hyatt Herald Square New York, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Ella150,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the terrific location.
I hope you come back to visit us soon.

Sincerely,
Joseph Mojica
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALDOSTA, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a wonderful hidden property on 31st street about 20 blocks from Broadway and Times Square, two blocks from Madison Square Garden. Each floor has 4 guest rooms. Our room in 903 has two double beds, a flat screen TV, refrigerator, and coffee maker. The bathroom was lovely with a modern sink and glass shower. Joe at the front desk was very accommodating and kind. I will definitely chose this hotel for my next stay in Manhattan.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Hyatt Herald Square New York, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Taryn H,

Thanks so much for the review you wrote about our hotel. Joe is a great asset to our hotel, and I will make sure to show him your kind words.

Thanks again, and we hope to be your hosts again here in NYC.

Sincerely,
Joseph Mojica
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Joe at the front desk was wonderful! It was my sister & I's first trip to the Big Apple and he offered great advice on eateries, sites to see and directions there! Beds were very comfortable and rooms were clean.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

A fantastic location, within walking distance of Penn Station where we came in by Amtrak. Courteous and available staff, flexible and helpful.
Ok, the room was small. If you are looking for a room to lounge around all day, this is not the place for that. But, if you are coming to New York to see the sites and you're looking for a nice place to spend nights, then this is just fine. The room was small, but very nicely done. Clean, efficient, nicely appointed. Bathroom was outstanding. Big comfortable bed. We got a very good price on Expedia.
After we checked out the staff allowed up to keep our luggage there while we went on a tour; that was a very helpful thing!
Thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Belgium
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed in this place with the family for just under a week, and really enjoyed it. VERY friendly staff at front desk, breakfast area and maintenance (one night, a minor airco issue was very quickly resolved) and cannot fault the place at all. Hope to return.

As you'd expect in this location, rooms are on the small side; however they are efficiently laid out so it did not feel 'cramped' to us.

One (minor) issue, however. Pre-booked and pre-paid this place through IHG (Holiday Inn) website and agreed a rate. When I checked my credit card statement (a few weeks later), a different (higher) amount had been charged. It took a few e-mails (and calls to IHG guest relations) for this to be rectified. At check-out, a variation of the same happened; we were presented a total amount that was higher than expected. Unfortunately, the invoice could not be printed (technical issues), so they promised to e-mail it right away. Did not come. Back home, we re-investigated the whole thing, went through IHG Guest services and got a refund (fairly quickly). Both times, the billing correction was dealt with pleasantly and swiftly, but it's disappointing that billing mistakes occurred twice for one stay.

Room Tip: Higher up obviously cuts down on road noise and you can get a nice view of the Empire State Building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse ny
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

A one night business trip brought me to NYC, and this hotel was closest to where I had to be. I stayed in a king room which came to $300 after taxes. The room was clean and NYC small, but functional for my needs. I used the desk for a work assignment, and lighting and seating were both good. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was shower stall only, but well designed. A nice touch: a hair dryer located on the bathroom wall that featured a small lighted handle. That handle doubles as a nightlight for the bathroom. The neighborhood were this hotel is located on 31st is somewhat industrial, but within easy walking distance of all the major attractions and shopping. The staff was efficient and busy. I called for cab, and they booked a town car, which worked fine. I was able to print a boarding pass in the business center located below the lobby. All in all, a nice place to stay with a great location and good staff. One other note: This hotel is located a block away from Koreantown, with a good number of restaurants. I highly recommend Mangoo Bar for the fried dumplings. This place is around the corner. I got takeout and was sad that I couldn't finish it all.

Room Tip: I booked with AAA rate. Didn't need to show my card. My room faced a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Herald Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Herald Square New York

Address: 30-32 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Herald Square New York 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the all new Hyatt Herald Square and upgrade your New York experience. A design inspired with a nod to the publishing industry and a flare infused by the fashion industry, our modern take on comfort and style is inspired by our Herald Square location. Guest rooms offer functional design, custom furnishings with pops of color and feature services to suit business and leisure travelers. The Den offers a lifestyle dining experience on the first level, featuring an array of small medium and large bites with a fresh take on American Classics, and a farm to table concept to bring you an array of fresh, delicious options. Grab a cup of our gourmet coffee from the Express Bar, featuring Stone Street Coffee, locally roasted in Brooklyn. Take in sweeping cityviews and specialty house infused cocktails at Up on 20 Rooftop Lounge. Stay on your health regime in our fitness center or catch up on work in the business center or in the Den. Personalized service meets fashion forward design in a great Herald Square location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Herald Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Herald Square New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.