We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #155 of 451 hotels in New York City
VALDOSTA, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Holiday Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a wonderful hidden property on 31st street about 20 blocks from Broadway and Times Square, two blocks from Madison Square Garden. Each floor has 4 guest rooms. Our room in 903 has two double beds, a flat screen TV, refrigerator, and coffee maker. The bathroom was lovely with a modern sink and glass shower. Joe at the front desk was very accommodating and kind. I will definitely chose this hotel for my next stay in Manhattan.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Taryn H,

Thanks so much for the review you wrote about our hotel. Joe is a great asset to our hotel, and I will make sure to show him your kind words.

Thanks again, and we hope to be your hosts again here in NYC.

Sincerely,
Joseph Mojica
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    172
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
100
108
35
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Joe at the front desk was wonderful! It was my sister & I's first trip to the Big Apple and he offered great advice on eateries, sites to see and directions there! Beds were very comfortable and rooms were clean.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

A fantastic location, within walking distance of Penn Station where we came in by Amtrak. Courteous and available staff, flexible and helpful.
Ok, the room was small. If you are looking for a room to lounge around all day, this is not the place for that. But, if you are coming to New York to see the sites and you're looking for a nice place to spend nights, then this is just fine. The room was small, but very nicely done. Clean, efficient, nicely appointed. Bathroom was outstanding. Big comfortable bed. We got a very good price on Expedia.
After we checked out the staff allowed up to keep our luggage there while we went on a tour; that was a very helpful thing!
Thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Belgium
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed in this place with the family for just under a week, and really enjoyed it. VERY friendly staff at front desk, breakfast area and maintenance (one night, a minor airco issue was very quickly resolved) and cannot fault the place at all. Hope to return.

As you'd expect in this location, rooms are on the small side; however they are efficiently laid out so it did not feel 'cramped' to us.

One (minor) issue, however. Pre-booked and pre-paid this place through IHG (Holiday Inn) website and agreed a rate. When I checked my credit card statement (a few weeks later), a different (higher) amount had been charged. It took a few e-mails (and calls to IHG guest relations) for this to be rectified. At check-out, a variation of the same happened; we were presented a total amount that was higher than expected. Unfortunately, the invoice could not be printed (technical issues), so they promised to e-mail it right away. Did not come. Back home, we re-investigated the whole thing, went through IHG Guest services and got a refund (fairly quickly). Both times, the billing correction was dealt with pleasantly and swiftly, but it's disappointing that billing mistakes occurred twice for one stay.

Room Tip: Higher up obviously cuts down on road noise and you can get a nice view of the Empire State Building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse ny
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

A one night business trip brought me to NYC, and this hotel was closest to where I had to be. I stayed in a king room which came to $300 after taxes. The room was clean and NYC small, but functional for my needs. I used the desk for a work assignment, and lighting and seating were both good. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was shower stall only, but well designed. A nice touch: a hair dryer located on the bathroom wall that featured a small lighted handle. That handle doubles as a nightlight for the bathroom. The neighborhood were this hotel is located on 31st is somewhat industrial, but within easy walking distance of all the major attractions and shopping. The staff was efficient and busy. I called for cab, and they booked a town car, which worked fine. I was able to print a boarding pass in the business center located below the lobby. All in all, a nice place to stay with a great location and good staff. One other note: This hotel is located a block away from Koreantown, with a good number of restaurants. I highly recommend Mangoo Bar for the fried dumplings. This place is around the corner. I got takeout and was sad that I couldn't finish it all.

Room Tip: I booked with AAA rate. Didn't need to show my card. My room faced a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Overall, my visit to this hotel was a good one. The only downside was a less than happy staff when I checked in. Otherwise, the rest of the staff, and facilities were great for my stay here on a business trip. It's within a few blocks of the subway, and was easy to get anywhere in the city. The room did not feel cramped, but then again I knew to expect NYC hotel rooms to be a bit more on the smaller side. The bed was very comfortable, and I would look to stay here again next time I'm in town. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I found this Holiday Inn to be an average hotel. It was clean and centrally located. The brightest spot was that the Front Desk staff was fantastic - friendly and accommodating with any requests or questions. The hotel restaurant and room service were so-so. The rooms aren't designed for efficiency - there is no room on bathroom vanities, etc and the lighting isn't high enough. This stay wasn't an unpleasant experience and I'd be happy to stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Saxtell,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into so our team can take actions accordingly.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street

Address: 30 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Business Hotel in New York City
#144 Family Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Hotel on West 31st Street is located between Broadway and 5th Avenue right in the heart of the business and shopping districts of NYC. Our hotel features all high-end finishes and a modern decor. Complimentary High Speed Internet Access and weekday morning newspaper await you as our guest. Come join us in Cuisines Restaurant open daily for Breakfast and Dinner. Macy's flagship store and the Mall of Manhattan are just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.