We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but well done” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #158 of 451 hotels in New York City
Exton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small but well done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

A fantastic location, within walking distance of Penn Station where we came in by Amtrak. Courteous and available staff, flexible and helpful.
Ok, the room was small. If you are looking for a room to lounge around all day, this is not the place for that. But, if you are coming to New York to see the sites and you're looking for a nice place to spend nights, then this is just fine. The room was small, but very nicely done. Clean, efficient, nicely appointed. Bathroom was outstanding. Big comfortable bed. We got a very good price on Expedia.
After we checked out the staff allowed up to keep our luggage there while we went on a tour; that was a very helpful thing!
Thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    170
    27
    11
    8
See reviews for
100
107
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rural Belgium
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed in this place with the family for just under a week, and really enjoyed it. VERY friendly staff at front desk, breakfast area and maintenance (one night, a minor airco issue was very quickly resolved) and cannot fault the place at all. Hope to return.

As you'd expect in this location, rooms are on the small side; however they are efficiently laid out so it did not feel 'cramped' to us.

One (minor) issue, however. Pre-booked and pre-paid this place through IHG (Holiday Inn) website and agreed a rate. When I checked my credit card statement (a few weeks later), a different (higher) amount had been charged. It took a few e-mails (and calls to IHG guest relations) for this to be rectified. At check-out, a variation of the same happened; we were presented a total amount that was higher than expected. Unfortunately, the invoice could not be printed (technical issues), so they promised to e-mail it right away. Did not come. Back home, we re-investigated the whole thing, went through IHG Guest services and got a refund (fairly quickly). Both times, the billing correction was dealt with pleasantly and swiftly, but it's disappointing that billing mistakes occurred twice for one stay.

Room Tip: Higher up obviously cuts down on road noise and you can get a nice view of the Empire State Building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse ny
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

A one night business trip brought me to NYC, and this hotel was closest to where I had to be. I stayed in a king room which came to $300 after taxes. The room was clean and NYC small, but functional for my needs. I used the desk for a work assignment, and lighting and seating were both good. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was shower stall only, but well designed. A nice touch: a hair dryer located on the bathroom wall that featured a small lighted handle. That handle doubles as a nightlight for the bathroom. The neighborhood were this hotel is located on 31st is somewhat industrial, but within easy walking distance of all the major attractions and shopping. The staff was efficient and busy. I called for cab, and they booked a town car, which worked fine. I was able to print a boarding pass in the business center located below the lobby. All in all, a nice place to stay with a great location and good staff. One other note: This hotel is located a block away from Koreantown, with a good number of restaurants. I highly recommend Mangoo Bar for the fried dumplings. This place is around the corner. I got takeout and was sad that I couldn't finish it all.

Room Tip: I booked with AAA rate. Didn't need to show my card. My room faced a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Overall, my visit to this hotel was a good one. The only downside was a less than happy staff when I checked in. Otherwise, the rest of the staff, and facilities were great for my stay here on a business trip. It's within a few blocks of the subway, and was easy to get anywhere in the city. The room did not feel cramped, but then again I knew to expect NYC hotel rooms to be a bit more on the smaller side. The bed was very comfortable, and I would look to stay here again next time I'm in town. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I found this Holiday Inn to be an average hotel. It was clean and centrally located. The brightest spot was that the Front Desk staff was fantastic - friendly and accommodating with any requests or questions. The hotel restaurant and room service were so-so. The rooms aren't designed for efficiency - there is no room on bathroom vanities, etc and the lighting isn't high enough. This stay wasn't an unpleasant experience and I'd be happy to stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Saxtell,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into so our team can take actions accordingly.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Having been to NYC in the past I have to say that this was the cleanest, tidiest and best location of a holiday inn that I've stayed in. Right next to the Empire State Building which is great for going up early before a huge queue forms! Lovely rooms, spacious and such a comfortable bed! Room was bigger than anticipated and the bathrooms are so well presented.
Helpful front of house staff, especially the girl on reception who booked us a limo to take us from the hotel to mystic for a wedding! We defo arrived in style!
Also a big thank you to Rosanna?? The manager of the house keepers who went out of her way to track down a present that had been thrown out by mistake, it really meant a lot that she kept looking for it.
We had a fantastic time in nyc once again a synths hotel certainly added to the fantastic experience.

Free wifi in hotel and rooms too, perfect for uploading pics :)

Can't wait to visit again

Highly recommended by myself and the five other people in our party

Only thing we were disappointed with was that the roof top bar wasn't open when we were there, but in a City of bars we tried 230 fifth instead with an amazing view of the Empire State Building!

I'd return though, 100 %

Room Tip: Ask for a high room ending In a 6 to get a slightly bigger room and a view of the Empire State Build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Was very hesitant about staying here as my last Holiday Inn experience was over 15 years ago. Got a great rate and couldn't justify staying at the HGI a few blocks away. Rooms are typical NYC small but not out of the norm. Everything was clean and in good shape. Bathroom was modern and water pressure was adequate. Great location on a quiet street (no emergency vehicles keeping me up all night) that is close enough to Penn Station, Herald Square, etc. Would not hesitate to stay here agin.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street

Address: 30 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Business Hotel in New York City
#144 Family Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Hotel on West 31st Street is located between Broadway and 5th Avenue right in the heart of the business and shopping districts of NYC. Our hotel features all high-end finishes and a modern decor. Complimentary High Speed Internet Access and weekday morning newspaper await you as our guest. Come join us in Cuisines Restaurant open daily for Breakfast and Dinner. Macy's flagship store and the Mall of Manhattan are just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.