We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #138 of 449 hotels in New York City
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great value, location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My husband and I are currently staying here. We went to NYC pretty unexpected and called the hotel 2 hours before arrival. We were able to get a room with king size bed. The person on the phone initially said breakfast was not included. However, we had seen a deal on a hotel website where breakfast was included and so they were so kind to give us breakfast after all. The room is very nice, small but has everything you need. There is no minibar though but don't know if there are rooms with one. Bed and pillows are very comfy and the shower is really nice. For breakfast we got to choose one dish of their breakfast menu. They have plenty of options, such as fresh fruit, cereal, oatmeal, several egg dishes, pancakes, waffles, french toast and even heavier stuff with steak!

This morning we decided to stay another night which was no problem at all and luckily we got to stay in the same room. The staff is really friendly and helpful.

There is parking 1 block up from the hotel. It's a parking garage and you get a discount if you stay at the hotel. Although we're very happy with the parking possibility, it can be a hassle if you have heavy suitcases to carry because you still need to walk to the hotel. On the other hand: you could take out your bags at the hotel and then park. Plus I think most people come here by other transport rather than a car.

The hotel has a convenient location. There are lots of restaurants in the area and public transport is not far.

The only reason for the 4 stars instead of 5 is the view from our room (12th floor but looking at a building) and the fact that there is no parking at the hotel itself. But those are minor things that don't make this stay less enjoyable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Di 1084,

Thank you very much for your review. I am very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the great location of our property. As you can see, one of the many benefits to staying with us is that we are within walking distance to all of the great attractions New York City has to offer.

I am happy to hear the staff was accommodating and helpful. There is plenty more to see and do in this great city so we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Joseph Mojica
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    170
    24
    10
    7
See reviews for
96
104
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel is very well located in central New York, close to Penn station for connections to JFK and close to many major attractions. We were lucky enough to get a room with a spectacular view. The room was adequately sized and had everything you could want, without being over the top. The bathroom was adequate and functional, although the towels were a little flimsy. The mattress on the bed was incredibly comfortable (one of the best I have stayed in) - leading to an excellent night's rest. Staff were helpful without being over the top. It was a good value, pleasant stay in New York - everything you could want for a very central location. A trip to the rooftop bar for excellent views with drinks is recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Darren F,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our great location and our new roof top bar, Sky31. The views are incredible! I appreciate your kind words on our property and my team. I will make sure to pass on the accolades to them.

We look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Sincerely,

Joseph Mojica
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was perfect for a week long "get a way". It was spotlessly clean, rooms small but well appointed and comfortable, safe environment. Liked having a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Restaurant staff were disappointed and surprised when we showed up for a Sunday evening dinner. We were the only patrons in the restaurant (despite the fact that it was well within operating hours). We left and went elsewhere. "Business center" was completely blocked in by cleaning carts when we went to use it. Daytime front desk staff were professional and helpful. Others...not.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Linda C,

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate hearing how the great the staff and services were during your stay with us as well as any feedback that can help us improve your experience for your next stay. Our goal is to extend the best in service to every guest with our staff as well as product.

Please accept my apologies on the challenges you experienced with the restaurant staff. Please be rest assured the issue has been addressed. Thank you again for choosing our property and we certainly hope you give another opportunity to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Joseph Mojica
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Check in and check out were fast. Staff always kind and ready to help (staff at breakfast look "strange" but at the end they are very friendly and nice).
Quality of sleep was very good despite air conditioning was little bit noisy. Bed was comfortable, bathroom OK. The room is small but aligned with NY standards for this price.
Position is good to visit the Empire, Time Square and walk downtown (Little Italy, Chinatown, etc).
Business area OK to check and print flight tickets or whatever you may need.
POSITIVE ASPECTS:
quality of sleep
rooms are clean
good position

NEGATIVE ASPECTS:
breakfast is not a buffet, you must order and sometimes it takes time both to order and receive the dishes. This means if you have business meetings just wake up 20 minutes in advance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear mbigo,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our property. It's always great to hear the staff was accommodating and helpful and more importantly, you were able to enjoy your guestroom accommodations as well as the location of the property.

There is plenty more to see and do in this great city so we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Joseph Mojica
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

If you don't want to spend to/much, but stay near times square, this is the perfect hotel. It is in walking distance from many attractions like the Empire state building. It isn't grand spectacular, but you get what your pay for. It isn't ran down it is nice looking.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear MsShira01,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay with us and took advantage of the great location the Holiday Inn Midtown has to offer.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Joseph Mojica
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This weekend my girlfriends and I stayed at the Holiday Inn for our yearly NYC get away. Fabulous hotel!! Warm, friendly and helpful staff; clean and comfortable rooms; great location!! Easy walk to tourist attractions and great shopping. We'll never stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Fran U,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay with us and took advantage of the great location the Holiday Inn Midtown has to offer.

I truly appreciate the great feedback on the hotel staff, as well as our guest rooms. I will make sure to share your great comments with the team and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Tip- request a upper floor to get great views of the ESB. Easy walks to Flatiron, ESB and many other NYC attractions. Staff very lovely and easy to work with. Requested late check out and gave it without question- give it a try. Thank god for this since the beds were so comfy we slept until 11:30!!!!!!! Room small but suits all your needs. Shower lovely- perfect for relaxing muscles after a long day of city walking. Only con- the bathroom lighting- ugh! If your going to be applying make-up for a clown outfit than its perfect- for anything else not so much! I walked out and did a double take thinking oh god how could've I messed this up! Overall would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Travelfanalicia,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience here at the Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street. We're thrilled you selected our hotel as your choice for lodging while visiting the Big Apple.

Our location puts you in the center of everything in Manhattan and offers the incredible view of the famous, ESB. We appreciate the great feedback on our guestrooms and glad to hear you enjoyed the view...

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street

Address: 30 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Business Hotel in New York City
#172 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Hotel on West 31st Street is located between Broadway and 5th Avenue right in the heart of the business and shopping districts of NYC. Our hotel features all high-end finishes and a modern decor. Complimentary High Speed Internet Access and weekday morning newspaper await you as our guest. Come join us in Cuisines Restaurant open daily for Breakfast and Dinner. Macy's flagship store and the Mall of Manhattan are just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Midtown West 31st Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.