We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Row NYC Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Row NYC Hotel to your Saves list
Row NYC Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Introductory Rates
Ranked #240 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely hotel situated in an ideal location. The rooms were quite small but ive heard this is the norm for new york and as we weren't spending much time in the room this didn't bother us. Rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and there was on on site shop open 24hrs. Tea and coffee facilities in the room would have been nice but there was a lovely coffee shop right across the road that we went to and brought back over to the room.

One down fall was reception was always really busy and took ages to speak with someone. Our lights didn't work one day and we waited nearly half an hour to speak with someone on our way out. I would say just call down to reception if you have any questions much quicker.

On our last day a bill was put under out door for $90 when we questioned this at reception we were told it was for the "free wifi" well it isn't free then is it? And also for storing our bags (they then looked for a tip) and for baggage handling..... All they did was take in a bag for us that hadn't arrived at the airport at the same time as us and was sent by the airline to the hotel. If extras are going to be added this should be made clear from the start people don't want to and sometimes don't have the money to pay for these said extras at the end of a holiday.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    914
    379
    119
    75
See reviews for
520
702
95
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at Row NYC for the past three nights, and there were definitely ups and downs to our experience. The first night, we had an easy check-in process and went up to our "standard room" which turned out to be extremely small. There was almost no space to open our luggage or avoid getting in each other's way. The room was very clean though, and there didn't seem to be any actual problems with the room. We then chose to upgrade to a room with two single beds, and although the room was a lot more functional for us, throughout the rest of our stay our washroom had an awful sewage-like smell. Due to the hotel being very booked up for the holidays, we had little choice but to stay in this room.
Aside from the rooms, the hotel was great in terms of its other aspects. The location is a great walking distance to all of the great Midtown Manhattan attractions such as Rockefeller, Fifth Avenue, all the Broadway theatres, and not to mention Times Square is just a block away. The hotel also has a nice bar area with a great vibe, where we enjoyed some drinks and pizza a couple of evenings.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice remodel. I like the elevator system. Punch in your floor and it tells you which elevator to take there. Rooms have updated modern look with typical NYC hotel small bath. Lobby somewhat loud because of its openness.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Just got bk from 4nite stay in a party of 10. Hotel it self is busy but located great, clean everything u want for sleeping. The staff could do with more training in greeting customers with a smile than looking cheesed of. Expect queues for checking in & out. Please note u will b asked for $100 deposit when checking in, The house keeping are nice & friendly and will help anytime.
Overall I enjoyed staying here as it's very close 2 times sq etc comfy beds.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio_BoniventoGM, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear billie30,

Thank you for sharing this amazing review with us!! I am so happy that you enjoyed our perfect location, comfortable beds, and friendly and helpful housekeeping team. I will be sure to share you comments about the customer service with the Director of Front Office to correct this issue. Please accept my apologies.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Row NYC soon!!

Happy Holidays!!
Maurizio Bonivento
Managing Director
MB@rownyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just got back from my visit to NYC. I loved this hotel. Yes the rooms were small but who cares? You are visiting NY to be out and about not to sit in the room. The room had everything we needed from a comfy bed, to clean sheets and a sufficient bathroom. The room with a view was spectacular. I would stay at this hotel again. We were greeted with the very friendly Patrick and checked in by Lee the General Manager. After meeting the two of them I knew my stay would be just perfect!. We had pizza and drinks in the lobby for an evening snack and wonderful warm coffee for breakfast. This hotel is centrally located in Time Square and a perfect spot.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 2702 and it was perfect. It had a view of NYC from two separate windows and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio_BoniventoGM, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Christine M,

I couldn't agree with your title more! Thank you for sharing this amazing review with us! I am delighted that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, and of course, our outstanding customer service. Patrick and Lee have been a fantastic addition to our team and I am so happy that you got the opportunity to meet them. I look forward to welcoming you back to Row NYC soon!!

Happy Holidays,
Maurizio Bonivento
Managing Director
MB@rownyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We chose this hotel because of its location but also because of the constant references to it having been remodelled and the appealing pictures on the various internet sites. If having all the main sites within walking distance, a huge selection of restaurants and bars all around and being in the centre of the theatre district is you priority, and you are only intending in using the hotel for a shower and sleep then you cannot go wrong when choosing the Row....but unfortunately that is where it ends.

CHECK IN
We have arrived back at the UK today from a 10 day trip to NYC. We arrived at the hotel in the early hours of the morning because of an issue with the UK computers that halted all flights for a few hours on the day we departed. We are a family of 5 and had reserved one double room and one with two double beds for our 3 teenager girls. Due to an issue with the BA booking we were alerted to the fact that the girls had only a double room booked via BA, ie one bed was missing. The check in person quickly phoned around and the issue was resolved by upgrading the girls without extra charge. We certainly paid for the larger room so hope they will recoup the additional money from BA (to whom I shall be writing shortly to complain). This review reflects mine and my husband's experience with our room, a standard double room on the 15th floor.


THE ROOM
The standard rooms are very small, with a very comfortable bed (small double) but only a single wardrobe and around 4/5 hangers (ok for one or two nights but not for a couple staying 9 nights). The space becomes even smaller because the ironing board is also in this cupboard, together with the iron and hairdryer as well as the safe. We just left all our clothes in the suitcases and took turns to opening them up as the space is very limited. There are no coffee or tea making facilities which is the first time I have experienced it on all the countries I have visited both in Europe, Asia and Africa.

THE BATHROOMS
The bathroom was tiny and although the bath was clean the area under the sink was dirty when we arrived and remained dirty during our stay. At one point the water running from the bath was dark brown. It only happened once and we did not complain as this was our last night but there is clearly some issue with the plumbing. We have also noticed that the water fountain in the lobby twice had warm water which clearly shows some mixup in the plumbing of the appliance (this I mentioned when we checked out)

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio_BoniventoGM, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear AnamLondon,

Thank you for sharing this very detailed review with us. I cannot apologize enough for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. Please know that your comments did not fall on deaf ears. We will certainly be addressing the issues with the plumbing and service standards with the team.

I would like to have the opportunity to make this up to you on your next visit to New York City. Should you decide to take us up on our offer, please reach out to me directly and I will personally see to it that you a flawless and memorable stay with us. I hope to hear from you soon.

Happy Holidays,
Maurizio Bonivento
Managing Director
MB@rownyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Arrived at this hotel total mix up with shuttle not our fault and had to pay again not impressed.Got checked in went to room really small and situated behind lifts sooo noisy went back to reception got room changed to a disabled room which was large but not what we had expected as we were there to celebrate my husbands 65 th birthday which the hotel never metioned dissapointed . Well the hotel is situated in a good position and it was clean carn't coment on food but the pizzas looked good also the hotel magician was entertaining .

Room Tip: Do not get one near lifts as all our party had to be moved .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio_BoniventoGM, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Janet r,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am sorry to hear of all the issues you described. We always try our very best to ensure that all guests have a memorable stay with us and I'm sorry that we seemed to have missed our mark with you. Please accept my sincerest apologies. I would like to have the opportunity to make this up to you. Should you decide to give us this chance, please reach out to me directly and I would be happy to ensure that you have an amazing and memorable stay with us. I hope to hear from you soon.


Warm Regards,
Maurizio Bonivento
Managing Director
MB@rownyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Coming Soon - Set to open in 2014, the Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Row NYC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.