We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groupon visit 3 nights, 15 to 18 Dec 14” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Row NYC Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Row NYC Hotel to your Saves list
Row NYC Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Introductory Rates
Ranked #241 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
“Groupon visit 3 nights, 15 to 18 Dec 14”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel location is hard to beat for the price. 2 blocks to Times Square. Room was small but adequate. Nice bed and great shower. Room was on the street side and NYC never sleeps. Short walk to a subway station for multiple lines.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    905
    373
    118
    74
See reviews for
514
694
95
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Me and my sister weren't expecting much as we booked this because of a great deal we found on the internet as well as seeing that it was in a great location (2 minute walk from times square). We arrived to a bustling hotel with live music playing and helpful staff. room was exactly what we needed, great tv, comfy bed and modern room. nothing too luxurious but very nice. There is a bar in the main lobby serving great drinks and pizzas, and the staff are very willing to assist you (concierge service available). Again, the position is a massive plus although we did use taxis to get to the more far away parts of town, would definitely recommend The Row to anyone! Also a very convenient store just off the lobby for snacks, magazines and toiletries if you need them.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at the hotel when it was called the Milford Plaza and when it was in the midst of its renovation. The renovation is complete and the name has changed. Let me start off by saying the, yes, the rooms are small (maybe even tiny). They also vary in size within the same category. My wife and I and our friends booked the same room types, but our room was a bit larger than my friend's. Ours (953) happened to be on a corner, whereas our friend's (924) was in the middle of the hall. That being said, it was very serviceable and made the best use of the space allotted. It was clean and comfortable. If you are coming to the city to spend time in your room, you'll have to pay more for a larger one. However, if you are like me and most visiting the city, you will leave it in the morning and return in the evening. The room was well equipped and had a big plus in that it had a safe large enough to store a laptop computer.

The location can't be beat. It is in the heart of the theater district, a block over from restaurant row, a block from Times Square, and close to major subway lines. The staff was very friendly and helpful. For those that are concerned about the $20 per day fee for Internet, phone, etc., called a resort fee, you get free local AND long distance, and the Internet connection is actually pretty fast in the room. It would not be a deal breaker for me. I had booked our rooms before that fee want into effect. The beds were quite comfortable. The bathtub had a bit of a "squishy" floor to it, basically due to poor installation of the Rebath liner.

Would I stay here again? Yes, as long as the price were reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

As an experienced tour group traveler, this hotel seems to fit that category perfectly.
There were lots of travelers (many European) coming/going/hanging out on the steps in the hotel with little place/space to go. To me, many travelers in a hotel are not a sign of a good hotel, but a sign of package deals. This was my first, and my last Groupon.
Breakfast was to consist of one piece of fruit, one cup of coffee, and some other useless trinket. My wife and I went across the street to get some real food at a great price.

Last year we booked a tour of Italy with a large tour operator, and this is an exact replica of the cheap group hotels they had booked for us. In the ad they were supposed to be "first class" accommodations, but all except for one were no more than hostels.
This is a boutique hostel for group travelers on a budget. A place to sleep and shower. Nothing more.

Room Tip: Find a hotel such as the Millennium. Prices are a bit higher but much better overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location for a trip to New York. Just off Times Square, easy to walk to most attractions. Rooms very small ( usual in NYC ) and basic but fairly clean. There was no shower curtain over our bath which didn't get replaced until day 3 of our stay. Staff polite and efficient and I would definitely stay again, mainly due to the location.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Used Groupon to reserve a room for 3 with 2 double beds. The rooms are European sized (small) and a bit tight for 3 women. The room attendant, Ester, was outstanding. All service maids were extremely friendly. Beds are firm but not board hard.The lobby houses check in and the bar (which doubles for breakfast: District M). Appeared to be lots of larger groups of college age visitors but wasn't noisy in the rooms. Bar scene was pleasant...good entertainment (live). Drinks are expensive as 1 glass of Malbec was $15...same brand in nearby restaurant was $9.Has luggage hold area...doormen helpful flag cabs. Best part? 2 blocks from Times Square! Pretty easy walk.

Room Tip: Keep temp set at 71 degrees so as to not freeze or have too much on/off noise! Rooms have night tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I am currently staying at the ROW NYC. I asked the staff to if they could a special surprise for my husband as we are militaries and we don't often get to celebrate anything together because of our jobs. They automatically positive about my idea and were more than happy to help me. I asked them to decorate the room with christmas stuff and they did. Upon arrival in the room, my husband was surprised and cried. I cannot thank them enough for this beautiful surprise. Christmas hats for both of us were on the table, with a fruit platter, alittle Christmas tree as well along with a Christmas card with a message that I told them to write. Thank you once again for all of this. Every time that we've been here, we've been well treated and have always enjoyed our stay.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Coming Soon - Set to open in 2014, the Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Row NYC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.