We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel next to Times Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Row NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Row NYC Hotel to your Saves list
Row NYC Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #267 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A nice hotel next to Times Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

One of the best locations in New York. The rooms are super small and ours was very noisy ,once again bring your earplugs. the hotel is serviced by 8 lifts and are fast. the wifi is good in the rooms. no view from the room (see pic) we had, but you can pay extra for a city view room. On arrival you can request a small fridge to be delivered to the room if one is available. Although the location is great I would probably choose another location next time.

Room Tip: pay extra for a city view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Aussietracker,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our unbeatable location and our efficient elevator system. We do offer larger room sizes and layouts and would be happy assist you in booking a more suitable room category for a future stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    1,425
    608
    216
    144
See reviews for
824
1,176
176
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very well located to visit NY.
Staff friendly and efficient. After check in we've seen the room assigned and asked for a better room.
They've immediately moved us, without ask any money, ten floors upper, and gave us a very nice room.
Room are enough quiet.
The single suggestion to the property is to add some shelf in the bathroom! You don't have a single corner to leave any object.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Paolob67,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our prime location and found our staff to be efficient and friendly. It gives us great joy to hear you were accommodated in clean and comfortable room--we hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Stayed here years ago when Milford Plaza so knew it was good location. Arrived 11.30am and were able to check in and room ready for us. Had room on 15th floor and good view of 8th Ave. Nice clean room and small bathroom but fine for use. Very useful computers in the lobby to be able to print off board passes for flight home. Free use fir 30 min and printers too.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear UkManchestergirl,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our prime location and the many upgrades our property has undergone. It gives us great joy to hear you were able to check in early and found your room to be clean and comfortable. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Located in the Time Square area, very close to everything you need to get around. Restaurant area around the corner, across the road from Shake Shack.
Rooms are very small - especially for 4 adults sharing one room. nicely renovated - making the most of the space.
The foyer is very nice.

Room Tip: Request a larger room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear me33gs,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our unbeatable location. We do have larger room sizes and layouts should you decide you require additional space for a future stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We went to NYC to see a Broadway show. This place is right in the midst of the Theater District. Had a total renovation and is now sleek and sophisticated. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The hotel cost was more than reasonable for New York. Our room was small but adequate as we only slept there. The bathroom was immaculate. When we came back from the theater, there was a live performance going on in the Lobby. How cool is that? Restaurants surround the hotel. We'll be back.

Room Tip: The higher up the better; otherwise there is the usual street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Alice R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our prime location and appreciated all the upgrades our property has undergone. We are thrilled you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I've arrived home from New York, being two weeks in this wonderful and exciting city. About the ROW NYC Hotel we expected more than we found. Everything was correct, but just that, nothing else.
It's true that it has an excellent location, in Midtown, near Broadway (we went to a 4 musicals, just walking no more than 5 minutes each). Near the tube, and very near from Times Square.
The Hotel is huge, entering to the hall it's like entering Times Square, it's always full of people, it's the first time that I've seen people doing the line each time I cross the Hall.
The first room they assigned to us, has not wardrobe, and although it was a PREMIUM CITY VIEW, meaning it was more expensive than a standard, it was too small. After doing AGAIN the line to complain about the room, they assigned another one, with at least a minimal wardrobe. How am I supposed to spend two weeks in a 4 HOTEL ROOM, with no possibility to unpack luggage??
You can have breakfast in the Bar, but there's no enough chairs and tables to everybody, too much design but not enough practical. The same space is used to have a beer or a cocktail later.
Very nice people working there, the most the ones they worked at breakfast time, and the worst (by my own experience) the conseirge, they don't help us the way they should do.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear david f,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our prime location and found our staff to friendly and helpful. We regret to hear we did not meet you expectations regarding the room size. We do offer suites with larger layouts and view option, and would be glad to assist you in booking a more suitable room category for a future stay. We hope to regain your confidence in us upon a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The hotel's location is fantastic. We stayed there for 4 nights and the price came in around 100 UK pounds which for NYC I thought was great. The rooms are very small but I was expecting it so it didn't come as a shock and let's be honest - who wants to spend time in a hotel room when there's a whole city out there to explore! Thank you to Marcelo who had to change our room twice as each time you flushed the toilet it splashed on the floor which was horrible - this happened in 2 out of 3 rooms so it could be a general problem? We were moved to a slightly larger room with no charge which was very generous. We would have been happy with a same size room and a dry bathroom floor! The walls are thin so you might be unlucky with noisy neighbours and you can hear everything that's going on in the street but again - it's NYC - just embrace it! Felt very safe there and you had to present your room key each time you entered the lobby which I liked.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear 753jennym,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our central location. Our main priority is safety and security and we are glad to hear you comments are indicative of this. We apologize for the inconvenience regarding the bathrooms in the initial rooms, but are glad to hear you were accommodated in a more comfortable, larger room. We hope to host your future trips to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Otel, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Row NYC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.