We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Row NYC Hotel

Save Saved
You added Row NYC Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Row NYC Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Introductory Rates
Ranked #252 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Location location location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my sister and my daughter over the weekend and found this hotel to be perfectly located to be able to see all the sights that New York has to offer. The room was fairly small but clean and they do a great breakfast down in the lobby. Staff were friendly and our room was cleaned and beds made daily. They provided free wifi for 1 computer and supplied free internet and printing in the lobby. Thy even gave us free breakfast for our first morning because it was my daughters first time in NYC
Being only 2 streets up from the subway and 1 block from Times Square meant that we could get around easily and could drop our shopping back in the room before heading out again. Getting home late was no problem either.
We would certainly stay here again and can recommend it was a place to stay for others

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Jenny R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear you and your daughter loved our unbeatable location and enjoyed your complimentary breakfast. We thank you for your kind comments recognizing our housekeeping team, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    554
    248
    68
    46
See reviews for
337
414
57
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Usually when I travel I find a room on AirBNB. But for NYC, we just wanted somewhere private and central, and this didn't cost much more than an AirBNB room anyway. Firstly, we were SO pleased with the location when we pulled up outside in our rental car. From the first second, the service was great. Foyer is clean,free internet in the lobby on their computers, the lift system is strange... but not inconvenient in any way. Room was immaculate, and alot more spacious than the reviews lead me to believe. Aircon worked well, curtains blocked out all the light. We had room 314, so we could hear the lifts occasionally, but barely, and our view was over a concrete deck of some form... But pretty, but from what I have read, at least this means our room was quiet as I think street-view rooms can be quite noisy. The only downside was the room was wheelchair accessible, so when you shower the water goes EVERYWHERE all through the bathroom. Not to worry, only a minor issue. Toiletries were provided, plenty of towels etc, and easy check in/check out, and they let us check in early because otherwise we had to drop off our rental car and walk around NYC with our bags which wouldve been terrible. All in all, very pleased!

Room Tip: If you don't care about the view, then get a room without a street view as its quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear hospogirl,

Thank you for your lovely and detailed review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our optimal location. It gives us great pleasure to know you loved our large and clean rooms. Thank you for you kind comments recognizing our housekeeping team and we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Because of NYC traffic, we arrived at Row NYC for check-in when what we really wanted to be doing was watching the World Cup. Fortunately, they were showing the game on the large screen in the bar. Also, fortunately, even though we arrived at the same time as a large group getting off a tour bus, there were enough competent staff on duty to move the line along. It only got better. When we explained we were in NYC to celebrate our daughter's 30th birthday, we were handed free drink coupons. The room was a reasonable size for a room in New York and it was clean. We would stay at Row NYC again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Claudia C,

Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed a friendly and efficient check-in experience, and got the opportunity to watch the World Cup games in District M. We strive to provide personalized customer service and are beyond thrilled to hear your comments recognizing our great staff is indicative of this. We look forward to hosting you and your family’s next trip to New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

When you make a reservation for the first time in the big city you can only hope your Hotel is right. The Row NYC was more than just right, it was great. The location (Times Square) was where you want to be for every thing (from eating to shows). The rooms, though on the small side were clean and bright. The staff was very helpful, answering any and all questions we had. We will book this Hotel on our next stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear James S,

Thank you for your very lovely review of our hotel. What great news to hear you loved our unbeatable location, in the front ROW and center of all things New York! Although we are thrilled to hear you found your rooms to be clean and bright, we regret to hear you found it to be on the small side. We do offer larger room layouts and sizes, and would love to assist you in booking a more suitable room for a future stay. Thank you for your kind comments recognizing our knowledgeable and friendly staff, we look forward to your return stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in march 2013. There was lots of renovation work going on at the time but that didn’t affect our stay. It’s in an ideal location just off Times Square – not too loud but very close to restaurants and shops. Ideal if you’re planning on doing a bus tour because the main stop was just a block from the hotel’s entrance. The room was TINY but we had amazing views so I was willing to put up with the cramped conditions. It was fresh and modern plus the bathroom was surprisingly spacious. I would definitely stay here again. Apparently when the renovation work is complete, there’ll be a roof top bar?

If you stay here I’d recommend checking out 46th Street between 8th and 9th... also known as restaurant row. If you like Thai, go to Yum Yum too.

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear agirlinthesun,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad to hear you loved the view of your room during your last stay with us in March 2013. We do offer larger room layouts, and would be glad to assist you in booking a more spacious room for a future stay. We have made some significant upgrades to our property and look forward to one day introduce you to Row NYC, and all we have to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had stayed at this hotel several years ago when it was the Milford Plaza, I was looking for a "Broadway" located hotel for the purpose of attending a few shows during our stay. That hotel had a good location but it was showing its age!
The newly remodeled Row NYC is a changed (for the better) Hotel, we attended two shows within half a block of the hotel and the third show was three blocks from the hotel. The room interiors have been totally renovated with very modern designs, the beds have very comfortable pillow top mattresses and goose down comforters and pillows. It has a quick check in area with very knowledgeable and attentive staff. It has a Free large area (ten monitors) for Internet use, including printers for airline boarding passes. It has a very convenient bar and restaurant for a quick drink or sandwich. To say the least I enjoyed my stay at this Hotel. 7-1 thru 7-5-2014.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Ernesto241,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are beyond thrilled to hear you loved all the upgrades our property has undergone since your last visit. We appreciate you kind comments noting our reputable location and our modern design. It gives us great pleasure to know our comfortable beds and goose down comforters made for a restful sleep. We hope to provide another 5 star experience upon your return stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The location of the Row is hard to beat, but the rooms are incredibly small, even for NYC standards. Two adults and two suitcases and you are tripping over each other. The bathrooms are also super small and don't have any counter space. Bottom line if you want a good location and you don't care about the room stay here. If you want a little more space to stretch out then head somewhere else.

Room Tip: Any rooms on the front side of the building have a fair amount of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear travelbug_Boston_09,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We regret to hear you found your room to be on the small side. We do offer various room sizes and layouts, and would be happy to assist you in securing a more suitable accommodation for a future stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Coming Soon - Set to open in 2014, the Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Row NYC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.