We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Row NYC Hotel

Save Saved
You added Row NYC Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Row NYC Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Introductory Rates
Ranked #242 of 449 hotels in New York City
New York
2 reviews
“Didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This hotel is amazing! We changed to this hotel after staying in a bad one a few blocks away. The staff on the desk were very friendly. The rooms were great size, clean, well air conditioned and the location of this hotel is awesome!! We left town and come back and stayed again. Had problems with a staff member on the phone when trying to book again but spoke to a lovely lady on the desk who resolved the issue friendly and efficiently. Great value for money and would not hesitate to come back!! You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    363
    145
    42
    28
See reviews for
213
263
44
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverkeithing, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good location next to Times Square, rooms are comfortable and cleaned regularily. The card keys are a bit of a nightmare, don't keep them close to credit cards / mobile phones etc or you'll have to get them reset. Quick check in / out when there isn't a queue. Internet in the lobby for boarding passes etc. Pleanty of restaurants around for evening meals. Would return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I am not staying at the Hotel ....(unfortunately) but my daughter is. I emailed the hotel to enquire about getting a refrigerator in her hotel room. I had a reply to my email immediately from Oliver Green, and he organised one to be taken to her hotel room straight away.

I have to say the service was wonderful, the email prompt and friendly. I feel my daughter is being looked after even though she is thousands of miles away.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

ROW NY is at first brush a quirky, young people's hotel. In fact, it caters for the full range of travellers. Located as it is close to subway, theatres, and restaurants staying there enhanced our visit to New York. Walk to Times Sq and the Hudson River and ferries; subway to 9/11 memorial and museum as well as to interesting suburbs. Short ride to Central Park. Prices reasonable, service good, rooms smallish but comfortable, well appointed. Almost always a taxi outside.
We'll return.

Room Tip: nothing to add
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is in a fantastic location, very close to Times Square. Staff at the door and on check in were very helpful and very friendly. Room was very quiet despite being so close to Times Square.
Only down side was that the room and bathroom were very small. Wifi was free for use on one device but anything more than that had to be paid for. However these are small complaints, overall, an excellent experience, would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here September 2013 when it was still The Milford and renovations were being done, even with the renos you weren't inconvenienced and it was quiet for the location - Time Square just around the corner. The beds were comfortable and wifi worked without a problem.
If I had to say a negative it would be that the lifts were really slow and some mornings it took a while before a lift arrived that had room for more BUT i'm sure with the new renos this has been addressed.
I will defiantly be staying here when I return to NYC!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

As many others have stated, the rooms are rather small. Our room was smaller than many of the hotels I have stayed at in Europe. The check in experience was less then stellar. There were three employees standing behind the check in counter that couldn't seem to help any guests when approached. We instead had to wait for the one employee that could check in guests, so what could have taken one minute took ten. If you are going to have employees in the view of guests, they should be able to assist them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face 8th ave, or you will need to pump up the A/C to drown out the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear robbasax,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are honored to have hosted your visit to New York City. We regret to hear that your stay with us was anything but exceptional. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at the front desk while checking in. The appropriate department heads have been notified and further investigation is being performed regarding this matter. We strive for efficiency throughout our hotel and hope to provide a seamless check-in experience for all our guests. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Coming Soon - Set to open in 2014, the Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Row NYC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.