We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Row NYC Hotel

Save Saved
You added Row NYC Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Row NYC Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Introductory Rates
Ranked #247 of 449 hotels in New York City
Millom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not bad.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were in ROOM 1917 which was very small but had a huge TV. Very handy for Broadway and most of the attractions. Small bathroom with a over bath shower (not very powerful. The biggest plus was the location. Very modern and is perfect for a city break.

Room Tip: When you walk in there is a porter. Unless you know what you are doing he takes you up one floor in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    351
    141
    42
    28
See reviews for
210
254
43
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This place is Great. I found it on hotel.com and wasn't sure. I booked it and let me tell you this place is great. The room sizes are as big as u thought, but the rooms are so comfortable. We had Junior at the front desk check us in and let me tell you he made are experience even better. Great staff at this location, very clean and very close to everything. 15 min walk to central park and 5 min walk to the center of time square. This hotel is a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I planned a mini-vacation for me and my youngest son (8) in NYC. My plan was to take in a Broadway show, go to a Yankees game, experience a walking foodtour in the Village, take in a children's movie, and eat out for all of our meals during our 3 day stay. Choosing Row NYC was an excellent choice. To begin, the location was ideal. I loved staying right in the heart of the Times Square district. Upon arriving, we were greeted by a wonderful front desk person. My other excellent experiences included the cleanliness of the room, the dedicated elevators and the very nice greeting from lobby staff every time we departed and arrived from the hotel. Yes, the room was small, but this is to be expected at any reasonably priced Manhattan hotel. I like to stay in a city hotel twice a year and will first check out Row NYC in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Row from June 20-23, 2014. The lobby area, and common areas are all updated and clean. We had a standard room with two double beds. The room was very much NY size, small and clean. We faced the 8th Avenue, and I could say the blinds did a good job of blocking the light and some of the sound. The beds were somewhat soft for my taste, but I did sleep soundly each night. We had to call for wash cloths the first night we stayed, as none were left in the room. They were delivered promptly. We did not try the cafe within the hotel, opting for nearby delis instead. I did purchase snacks and a magazine from the small shop within the hotel for the trip back home, the clerk was very helpful and pleasant. The hotel is very convenient to the Broadway Dance Center, and Time Square. There is a great mix of people at this hotel; it is both family, and single friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Row NYC has a great boutique hotel feel while still being a large hotel Modern and comfortable. The rooms are nice, but pretty small. But, hey, in NYC who's gonna sit around the room all day? The location a block from the heart of Times Square is perfect (I'm not sure I'd want to stay right IN Times Square anyway). Lot's of restaurants around.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was warmly surprised by the location, service, and hip vibe of Row NYC. It exceeded expectations. The room was very cool and modern. The public areas were inviting. The staff was superb. The location in Times Square is excellent - minutes from theaters and restaurants yet not in the overcrowded center. Finally, the environment is both singles and family friendly with a great mix of global guests from all over the world.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear RueduDome,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear we exceeded your expectations in regards to our location and service standards. Thank you for noting our inviting, hip vibe and ‘superb’ staff. On behalf of Row NYC, it was a pleasure hosting your visit to New York City! We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I just spent two days at the ROW NYC (which used to be the Milford Plaza) - once again, from the efficient, and courteous check in, the spot on cleanliness of my room (not, to mention, the fabulous view), the most pleasant service at the morning breakfast bar, and to the bell captain, that I known over so many years - I can't wait to return, once again, to this amazing hotel !!!!

Room Tip: It really depends on the view of the city that you prefer - I always like to be facing the west side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Stephen K,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel, and your continued patronage. We are overjoyed to hear you had another great experience while staying with us. We appreciate your kind comments recognizing our efficient and courteous staff as well as our cleanliness standards. We strive for personalized customer service and are glad to hear your comments are indicative of this. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Coming Soon - Set to open in 2014, the Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Row NYC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.