We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay - Clean room & Friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Row NYC Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Row NYC Hotel to your Saves list
Row NYC Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Introductory Rates
Ranked #244 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Great Stay - Clean room & Friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights celebrating our 10yr anniversary. Shantelle at the front desk gave us breakfast and drink vouchers once she found out it was a special occasion. We also came back to our room one day to find a complimentary fruit basket with a note from her wishing us congratulations - very nice touch. The room was comfortable and clean. Location is great - right on 8th ave just a block away from Times Square and many of the theatres are located right around the corner. Even within walking distance of Central Park. I would recommend walking down to "Restaurant Road/Row" - 47th I think and eating at "Bare Burger." That area is less crowded than Times Square and has tons of other restaurants.
This hotel was just recently remodeled and looked very nice. If you take a cab from the airport you might want to tell the cabbie that it used to be the Milford Plaza. He had no idea what Row NYC was but he knew of the Milford Plaza.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
WOW, thank you for the 5 star review. We are elated that Shantelle made your 10 year anniversary memorable and special with her great service and special touches. We are also happy that you enjoyed our clean, comfortable and upgraded rooms. Our location is always a plus, we know you enjoyed being in the front "ROW" of the theater district and Times Square. We look forward to your next visit on a special occasion or anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    922
    382
    121
    75
See reviews for
529
707
95
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We booked a double room at ROW NYC through bookings.com for just one night. Our experience was awful, the room was not clean and the staff was beyond rude.

We arrived at about 1115am checked in and were given directions to our room. We didn't spend much time in the room and left almost immediately after dropping our bags off. When we returned to get ready to go out that night we encountered a numbers of issues which were unacceptable.

Among the issues we discovered during our short stay:
1. Our shower never drained and backed up into the tub even after shutting off the water making it extremely difficult for two of us to shower.
2. The power outlets on the desk didn't work.
3. Our tv never worked---it wouldn't even power on.
4. When we returned last night to go to bed, we turned down the sheets to discover several large yellow stains on the sheets and on the comforter. We called the front desk (and almost reached nobody) and asked to have the sheets changed. The receptionist was rude and said she would send someone up with clean sheets. Twenty minutes later someone brought us new sheets but offered no apology and didn't offer to remake the bed for us. To add to the situation she was incredibly rude about the entire situation.

The room was fairly expensive and I think we are not wrong to expect clean bed linens and a working shower.

Long story short: it wasn't anywhere near up to par and for the rate we paid we expected much much more. Won't be staying here again and I would encourage you to think twice before you book with them.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor in a double room-- it had nice views of 8th ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Jacinto, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Amanda R,

Thank you for your concerning review. We regret to hear that you found the condition of your guestroom to be subpar. We have notified the appropriate departments and are investigating these concerns to ensure they do not happen again. I am beyond dumbfounded at the conditions you reported regarding the linens in your room. We take this matter very seriously and regret that we wee unable to rectify this issue in a more timely manner. I assure you that that the issues you have reported are not our standard, and hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust in us as I know we can do better.

-Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I have been staying at the Row Hotel (formerly named Milford Plaza) every two weeks for the past year. I am always greeted by friendly, attentive staff when I arrive. Junior at the front desk is always very accommodating and takes care of our team's various needs.

This hotel is located within a few minutes walk of Times Square and the atmosphere is busy and bustling, much like the feel of the city. The new lobby renovations feel almost like you are in a nightclub, which could give you a little extra energy after a long day of travel. The room accommodations are cozy and simple; a sweet and relaxing retreat from the city. Rooms are the typical size for New York City and depending on your floor, they have a spectacular view!

Located in the Theatre District, the location of Row Hotel is perfect for all things New York: shows, Hells Kitchen restaurants, Central Park, Times Square, and shopping.

Room Tip: High floors and street-side for a good view; inside room with no view for a quieter sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Meredith E,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your patronage and loyalty and are delighted to hear Junior and the rest of our staff welcome you warmly every time. We love to hear you enjoy our prime location and the upgrades our property has undergone. We look forward to your future stays with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

June 4, someone opened our hotel room door with a key card but luckily the door latch was locked. Saying she is from the security but when i checked tru phone i was informed that they didn't send someone. I requested a change of room because our location is very secluded but the fourth time i followed up from the front desk for an available room, the story is now different.. its a cable maintenenance guy. Should i believe? She should have knock the door if it is legitimate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Jacinto11, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Tad B,

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. My sincerest apologies that you felt, at any point during your stay, that your safety was in question. We did indeed have scheduled cable maintenance for the date you reference, our deepest apologies for not communicating this information to you sooner. We take this matter extremely seriously and the appropriate departments have been notified and are further investigating this issue. Safety is and always will be our number one objective and we hope to host your stay in New York City in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed at the hotel in Feb this year when it was still the Milford Plaza just before re-branding and I absolutely loved it!! had read the reviews prior to by arrival but wasn't bothered by them, most reviews go on about small rooms, your in New York? as long as the room is safe and clean that's all that matters, who is going to be spending their trip in the room anyway. I contacted the hotel prior to my arrival as I had injured my ankle and was going to have mobility issues, the hotel kindly upgraded us to a larger room with a bath also without hesitation. we were on the 22nd floor, you could still faintly hear the street noise but that added to the fun of being in NYC, we had a great sleep every night and the room was cleaned well daily. The staff were very kind and helpful and the check-in and check-out process was very speedy and easy, flight home was not until 9 at night so the hotel kept our luggage for us. The hotel itself is in the perfect location could not have been more pleased with the overall experience and have now booked up to return in December!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear VictoriaGilmourx,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your most recent stay with us back in February. It gives us great pleasure to hear you found your room to be clean and comfortable and also found our luggage storage facilities to be helpful. We look forward to welcoming you to Row NYC in December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Hotel renovated in January 2014.
- Located on the 8th avenue, right behind Times Square, you will enjoy NYC like no other. 300 feet for the theaters, right across the famous Shake Shack Hamburger, in front of the subway (WTC line).
- The staff is extremely friendly and helpful
- the rooms have a good size (for a NYC hotel), they are not that clean.... :-(
- ask to be located above the 10th floor at least, it will reduce the noise of the street.
- I would not give 4* but well 3*

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear vincent l,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our prime location, and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We regret to hear your room was not in our norm of cleaning standards. I have notified the appropriate department to further investigate this matter. We hope to regain your confidence in us upon a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Our business team recently stayed for 2 nights at the Row NYC Hotel. It is apparent everyone has been educated in the "Art of the relationship". Each person we met made us feel like family. The main floor was buzzing all day with people from all over the world making breakfast to evening cocktails a blast! Try this Hotel...

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 19th floor!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear bp87,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. We are so glad to hear your and your business team enjoyed a welcoming experience during your stay with us. We appreciate each and every one of our guests and hope to host your future stays in NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Coming Soon - Set to open in 2014, the Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Row NYC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.