We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Stay in NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Row NYC Hotel

Save Saved
You added Row NYC Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Row NYC Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Introductory Rates
Ranked #252 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Ventura, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“First Time Stay in NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

April 2014. My husband and I stayed at the Row NYC for our 20th anniversary. It was our first time in NYC. The lobby area is trendy and fresh. The staff are helpful, polite and knowledgeable. We got in late the first night and went straight to the in-house bar/cafe, District M. The pizza was excellent and the drinks strong. Our room was, as to be expected, very small. Twice we asked for a room with a view, but couldn't be accommodated. The front desk agent, Gezennia, was sweet and comped us each with a continental breakfast and drink at the bar. She also sent a fruit plate and water to our room. The room was clean and looked just like the online photo. Our only complaints were that the towels were like sandpaper and that the daily housekeeping service was in my opinion, poorly performed. The bathroom was tidied up but not truly cleaned. As we had been warned, staying in Times Square is noisy. The elevator "system" is very practical and helpful. We would stay at Row NYC again. We booked through Expedia as a package with airfare.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator and housekeeping station
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    541
    238
    67
    44
See reviews for
332
400
57
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Forth time in this hotel, before named, Milford.
I really enjoyed the unbeatable location near Times Square, great sites and subway.
Fast check-in and check-out, friendly staff, and quick lifts.
I really thank Ms Diana who kindly accomodate me in a larger room with an Amazing view on the 8th Street!!!
Excellent breakfast, free wi-fi and a bed extremely comfortable.
What else I can say? For sure I am going to come there for the firth time!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here late April 2014. There has clearly been a big refurb but even with this overall the hotel is still pretty shabby. They have put a lot of money in creating a flashy lobby area but the rooms are very small with a large number having views of a wall. The rooms have been fitted out using modular elements to keep costs down. The bed was comfortable and room was clean. Fresh paint and murals on walls do not really hide that this is not a four star hotel.

The breakfast area was chaotic. There are 6" paper plates and bowls, no trays and so you end up feeling like you are in a Russian food line unable to hold what they give you. They need to sort out this chaos as everyone was complaining!!

Overall just about acceptable and I would not stay again.


Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Jacinto, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Andy8712,

Thank you for your thoughtful review. Please know that we are looking into the breakfast issue you have described. Additionally, I sincerely regret that we were unable to accommodate you with a room with a view of our city. Unfortunately, during times of high occupancy – like those experienced during your stay – we must utilize all rooms and, given the nature of NYC’s iconic skyline, not every room has a view. I sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you again as we would love to show you some of our unbeatable views.

- Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Booked through Hotwire for a stay in NYC with my mother. Besides being close to a lot of things our stay has been short of excellent. The lobby is very cool and gave me a false expectation for the room. We checked in and got to our room that appeared to be the size of my college dorm room with one double bed (thinking that we had gotten a room with two beds). My mother then called the front desk with no answer. We made our way to the lobby and asked to be moved to a room with two beds, but the man aiding us was very unhelpful and told us that a room with two beds would cost an upgrade of 40 bucks a night. Other than that he didn't say much and made us two new keys after disappearing for a while. We still don't know if he charged us the 40 dollars a night or took care of it without the charge (which should have been done). The staff was overall unhelpful and somewhat ride. We get to our new room and it is the same college dorm room size with what looks like two twin beds. It worked for a room to sleep in. We were originally staying two nights in the city but because of the bad weather we decided to change our flight home, extending out trip by a night and a day, in hopes of catching some good weather. We will be taking our business to the Marriott Marquis for our extra night and will only stay here again if a site like Hotwire assigns me to.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Jacinto, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear jacobreidster,

Thank you for your very concerning review. I am deeply sorry that your stay with us fell so short of your expectations and that you did not receive the customer service that you deserved or for which my staff are usually lauded. Please know that the experience you have described is by no means our norm and, as such, we are investigating further to ensure the employee behavior you encountered is not repeated with future guests. That said, we look forward to hosting you again and demonstrating the sincerity of our commitment to excellent customer service.

- Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My daughter and I booked this hotel through Hotwire to visit the college nearby and to celebrate her 21st Birthday, we could not asked for a better hotel to stay at. The hotel is clean, rooms are clean, location is great, the staff was wonderful. Special thanks to Paul and Patrick, always welcomed us with a hello and smile. I liked the idea that you have to show your room key to get to the elevators at night. Paul is a wonderful asset to Row NYC. Thank you for a wonderful experience at Row NYC, we will be back. I had a couple of drinks at the bar and wasn't that impressed with the mixed drinks especially for the price but the bar staff was very friendly and it was nice to be able to have a place to relax and have a great glass of wine. Again special thanks to Paul and Patrick!

Room Tip: With it being my daughters 21st birthday the lady that checked us into the hotel upgraded us to room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and the hotel had some mixed reviews due to the construction work at the hotel as they were going through a massive refurbishment, but we chose it due to its prime location in Times Square. All of the rooms had been refurbished by the time we visited, but the lobby was still under construction, which caused a bit of chaos when guests were trying to check in, but we didn’t encounter any real problems with this.

We had a bit of a crazy start being in a minor accident when the shuttle bus transfer from the airport to the hotel crashed into a van, but everyone was fine as it was at a slow speed.
The check-in was quick so after a long flight from the UK, this was a positive start. I had previously informed the hotel by email that the trip was for my girlfriends 21st birthday and had asked for a high floor double room, which we were given along with a box of cupcakes on the bed as we walked in. The modern rooms were kept very clean and tidy by the daily cleaners and the blackout blinds worked a treat.

Times Square was a 2 minute walk as soon as you stepped out of the hotel, which made it a perfect place to stay being in the heart of Manhattan. From our base in Times Square we were able to reach all the best attractions of New York at ease, such as the Empire State Building, Rockefella Centre, 5th Avenue, and the subway and buses to the Twin Towers site and Woodbury Common Shopping Outlet.

The only negative to our stay was on the final day. We had left our suitcases with the hotel after checking-out, and this was managed by a guy at the entrance/exit of the hotel. When it was time to collect our suitcases at the end of the day ready for the transfer to the airport, we handed the ticket for our cases to the same guy we checked our cases in with earlier. He was already in some kind of argument with an English couple in front of us, and when it came to getting our bags he was very rude and offensive to my girlfriend who had also just asked for the suitcases. This put a small downer on our trip but it didn’t take away the very good memories we have of the hotel itself and of New York.

Overall, even though the hotel was still under construction and the lobby was very busy every morning, it is still a great base for a trip to New York. We only spent time in the hotel sleeping, and getting ready to go out, and this hotel does its job as you don’t go to New York to stay in your hotel. You can’t beat the location and now that the construction has finished and the hotel has a restaurant and bar, it would be a nice place for both couples and families.

Room Tip: High floors 20+
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Jacinto, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear AlChar,

Thank you for your glowing review of our hotel! I am pleased to report that, since your stay in May of 2013, the dust has settled and all construction is now totally complete. In fact, in March of this year, we launched as a new hotel, Row NYC, complete with exciting new amenities for our guests. We would be delighted to host you again and hear your feedback on our finished product. Hope to see you soon!

- Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flintshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights from the 12th April to the 15 April the hotel in a great location for Times Square and lots of bar and restaurants although the hotel is always very busy everywhere is kept clean.They have a small bar/bistro try the pizza its excellent.The only downside we found was the room size very small whilst most people who just do a 4 or 4 night trip to New York it would be ok we travelling onward with two cases so nowhere to put cases and very little storage but the rooms where comfortable spotlessly clean and kept so by the maids and bbc america on the flatscreen tv.
That all said we enjoyed our stay and would recommend Row NYC

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Coming Soon - Set to open in 2014, the Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Row NYC Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.