We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easyliving-harlem: no better place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Easyliving-harlem

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Easyliving-harlem
West 137th Street, New York City, NY 10030   |  
Hotel amenities
Castellammare del Golfo, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Easyliving-harlem: no better place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have been at Easyliving-harlem and I will always choose this town house for my future trip to NY. A very stylish house where you can enjoy your stay. The room is clean and beautiful. Heidi, Tom and Jodi are just wonderful.I love the way they welcome the guests. They are very nice people! Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
61
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kempele, Finland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for 5 days in Dec 2012 with Heidi, Tom & Jodi. The owners Heidi and Tom were super friendly and helpful, and they gave good tips for the local restaurants and other interesting places in NYC too. The booking correspondence with Heidi was very easy and quick - excellent!

We stayed in Kind Size bedroom with a private bathroom. The room was really king sized - very spacious, clean and comfortable. We also used the modern, fully furnished kitchen downstairs and had a nice breakfast: English muffins, jam, coffee and fruits there. The whole house was very spacious, cosy and spotless!

The location in Harlem was good, just a couple of blocks away from the subway which took us to the central Manhattan in roughly 20 mins. There were some groceries and great restaurants nearby. We also felt totally safe there, it was actually very peaceful neighborhood.

We had a lovely stay in NYC with Heidi and Tom!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The hosts, Heidi and Tom and their god daughter Jodi are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. They will often make suggestions on where to go. Every morning Tom will teach us on how to get around to the different places we plan to go on that day which was very helpful for us as the subway system was a little complicated for us in the beginning.

We stayed in the room with the king size bed and attached bathroom. The room was very clean and spacious, much bigger than we expected!

The location was great too as it is near to 2 subway stations for different subway lines.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 5 days with Tom and Heidi and loved it.

t was peaceful compared to the middle of town and the room was infinitely better than what we could have got further in for the price yet it was very handy by tube.

Added bonus was being handy to one of only two city stops for the trains that go up the Hudson River for a real break from the city.

Tom and Heidi were great hosts and we hope to see them in NZ at our place some time.

Harlem itself was a good base - safe and interesting. NYC seems to be a city that keeps transforming and felt very safe and friendly to us.

Definately and wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

As a native New Yorker who lives in CT now, it was wonderful to spend a weekend in NYC at a beautiful renovated brownstone built in the 1800's. The home is spectacular, comfortable, amazingly friendly and relaxing.You may meet very interesting people from all over the world and have incredible conversations and learn more than a few things! Or not, that's to you! The amount of privacy youbrequire is up to you. The neighborhood is beautiful with many sites to see and easy travel to any parts of NYC. The history that is abound just in Harlem is overwhelming! Don't miss Tom and Heid , they are the heart of this wonderful experience. We brought our 12 years old daughter who said " Lets always stay with Heidi and Tom!" P.S. there is no swimming pool! Lol

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at EasyLiving Harlem! We were warmly welcomed by Monika (Friend of the owners), she was really kind to us, looked up some great vegetarian restaurants for us, and helped us with all our questions. What we read in the other reviews is not exaggerated: from the moment you walk in the beautiful house, you feel like a welcome houseguest!
We booked the small room with a shared bathroom. The room is basically OK, although a bit on the small side. Shared bathroom is new and clean. After three nights we were offered to move for the next 5 nights of our stay to one of the biggest rooms (without surcharge, like a free upgrade), with a private bathroom! This room was absolutely gorgeous, very spacious, with a nice bathroom. For the price we paid this was really exceptionally.
The house has a big kitchen, and a small garden, fantastic for having breakfast outside in the spring and summer!
The only disadvantage for us was that you easily spend a lot of time on the subway, as it easily takes you half an hour to the "tourist attractions" downtown, sometimes less sometimes longer, dependent on where you are heading. But then again: the house is located in a more quite neighbourhood, and we were usually happy to get away from the noise downtown (the constant buzz). So overall: highly recommended!

Room Tip: one of the bigger rooms if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Tripadvisor found me a great place once again! I visited New York with my girlfriend for a week, and neither the city nor the guesthouse disappointed.

The house is located on 137th street, very close to the subway on 135th. The couple who run the place, Heidi and Tom, are incredibly welcoming, but also gives you plenty of privacy. They are really eager to give you tips about the city.

I think there are four rooms they are renting out. We had a room with kingsize bed and private bathroom. The price was 150 dollars/night, that's not bad for nyc in May! The room was huge, so we had plenty of space. Downstairs, there is a kitchen we had access to. Very nice to be able to buy and store some groceries in the house. There is a small garden were you can enjoy your breakfast if the weather allows it.

It was our first time in the city so we didn't really find the time to check out the neighborhood. There is a nice park though, by the A-train subway station.

All in all, you will get an affordable yet big and comfortable room. You will have to use the subway, but that just means you will see a lot of different places in the city.

Tip: If the weather is good, take the subway directly to Brooklyn Heights and have your breakfast at the promenade. Grimaldi's at 1 Front Street serves the city's best pizza from 11:30. Order to go.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Easyliving-harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easyliving-harlem

Also Known As:
Easyliving-Harlem Hotel
Easyliving-Harlem Hotel New York City
Address: West 137th Street, New York City, NY 10030
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We live in a large,beautiful TOWNHOUSE and rent out 4 SPACIOUS ROOMS to travelers, who prefer this kind of accommodation to the anonymity of a hotel. Frequently guests meet with us or each other in the COMFORTABLE KITCHEN for cooking, friendly chats, tips and exchange of experiences. RATES 120 to 150 USD/DOUBLE OCCUPANCY. VERY CLOSE to MAJOR SUBWAY/BUSES. DON'T VISIT, LIVE NY!!! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Easyliving-harlem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Easyliving-harlem to your Saves list