We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay at EasyLiving Harlem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Easyliving-harlem

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Easyliving-harlem
Save
You added Easyliving-harlem to your Saves list
West 137th Street, New York City, NY 10030   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
Brussels
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“We loved our stay at EasyLiving Harlem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at EasyLiving Harlem! We were warmly welcomed by Monika (Friend of the owners), she was really kind to us, looked up some great vegetarian restaurants for us, and helped us with all our questions. What we read in the other reviews is not exaggerated: from the moment you walk in the beautiful house, you feel like a welcome houseguest!
We booked the small room with a shared bathroom. The room is basically OK, although a bit on the small side. Shared bathroom is new and clean. After three nights we were offered to move for the next 5 nights of our stay to one of the biggest rooms (without surcharge, like a free upgrade), with a private bathroom! This room was absolutely gorgeous, very spacious, with a nice bathroom. For the price we paid this was really exceptionally.
The house has a big kitchen, and a small garden, fantastic for having breakfast outside in the spring and summer!
The only disadvantage for us was that you easily spend a lot of time on the subway, as it easily takes you half an hour to the "tourist attractions" downtown, sometimes less sometimes longer, dependent on where you are heading. But then again: the house is located in a more quite neighbourhood, and we were usually happy to get away from the noise downtown (the constant buzz). So overall: highly recommended!

Room Tip: one of the bigger rooms if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
78
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Tripadvisor found me a great place once again! I visited New York with my girlfriend for a week, and neither the city nor the guesthouse disappointed.

The house is located on 137th street, very close to the subway on 135th. The couple who run the place, Heidi and Tom, are incredibly welcoming, but also gives you plenty of privacy. They are really eager to give you tips about the city.

I think there are four rooms they are renting out. We had a room with kingsize bed and private bathroom. The price was 150 dollars/night, that's not bad for nyc in May! The room was huge, so we had plenty of space. Downstairs, there is a kitchen we had access to. Very nice to be able to buy and store some groceries in the house. There is a small garden were you can enjoy your breakfast if the weather allows it.

It was our first time in the city so we didn't really find the time to check out the neighborhood. There is a nice park though, by the A-train subway station.

All in all, you will get an affordable yet big and comfortable room. You will have to use the subway, but that just means you will see a lot of different places in the city.

Tip: If the weather is good, take the subway directly to Brooklyn Heights and have your breakfast at the promenade. Grimaldi's at 1 Front Street serves the city's best pizza from 11:30. Order to go.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We spent three nights in this stunningly restored home. Heidi and Tom have gone to great lengths to produce one of the most welcoming places we have ever stayed in. They (and Monica) managed to make us feel completely welcome and special, without being intrusive. The house is spotless, comfortable, open and friendly.
Heidi recommended a great local jazz bar and a restaurant. Downtown Manhattan is about 40 minutes by bus, and much faster by train.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Woke on our 1st morning in New York to the sound of Birds singing!
The peaceful neighbourhood of Heidi &Toms lovely house in Harlem was great to come home to after a tiring day downtown.
A special memory was our visit to The Shiloh Baptist Church.
Loved our stay so much will go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at Easy Living Harlem for a week in January this year with family- all adult-
and recommend it unreservedly as the place to make a holiday in New York
perfection itself. The 19th Century house is beautifully and
sympathetically restored and furnished, with the addition of contemporary,
tasteful bathrooms and kitchen, but it's Heidi and Tom who make it home -
it was their home and ours for the duration of our stay - and, because they
are so generous, warm, good-humoured and genuine, and New Yorkers who know
and love the city, in no time we felt like locals too. The kitchen was
ours if we wanted an evening in, but there's so much to do in Harlem itself
and access from the house to anywhere in Manhattan is easy on the nearby
frequent and fast subway service. We found poetry reading, jazz, gospel
and story telling, much of it inexpensive, as well as enjoying the
well-known galleries and museums and fabulous New York food. So... book
now, make Easy Living Harlem your base and you'll thank us for this
recommendation!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Heidi and Tom, I miss you guys. This couple of complete sweethearts welcomed me into their beautiful home and make me feel loved and safe. Thank you for giving me a life-changing experience. Harlem is a fantastic place to stay - a real NY neighborhood. It has a sense of community that I felt was missing in lower Manhattan. Heidi, Tom and Jodie, you people are so very kind and warm and loving, I miss you a lot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Because of the warm welcome of Heidi & tom you feel directly as a part of the house. The friendly and very helpful hosts never give you the feeling of a stranger. We enjoyed our stay there very much and would always recommend it to other travelers who don't want to stay "like a tourist" in any NY Hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean with a modern bathroom and you find a very well equipped kitchen downstairs which offers fee coffee & tea.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Easyliving-harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easyliving-harlem

Address: West 137th Street, New York City, NY 10030
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We live in a large,beautiful TOWNHOUSE and rent out 4 SPACIOUS ROOMS to travelers, who prefer this kind of accommodation to the anonymity of a hotel. Frequently guests meet with us or each other in the COMFORTABLE KITCHEN for cooking, friendly chats, tips and exchange of experiences. RATES 120 to 150 USD/DOUBLE OCCUPANCY. VERY CLOSE to MAJOR SUBWAY/BUSES. DON'T VISIT, LIVE NY!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Easyliving-Harlem Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Easyliving-harlem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.