We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Easyliving-harlem

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Easyliving-harlem
Save Saved
You added Easyliving-harlem to your Saves list
West 137th Street, New York City, NY 10030   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We spent three nights in this stunningly restored home. Heidi and Tom have gone to great lengths to produce one of the most welcoming places we have ever stayed in. They (and Monica) managed to make us feel completely welcome and special, without being intrusive. The house is spotless, comfortable, open and friendly.
Heidi recommended a great local jazz bar and a restaurant. Downtown Manhattan is about 40 minutes by bus, and much faster by train.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
70
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Woke on our 1st morning in New York to the sound of Birds singing!
The peaceful neighbourhood of Heidi &Toms lovely house in Harlem was great to come home to after a tiring day downtown.
A special memory was our visit to The Shiloh Baptist Church.
Loved our stay so much will go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at Easy Living Harlem for a week in January this year with family- all adult-
and recommend it unreservedly as the place to make a holiday in New York
perfection itself. The 19th Century house is beautifully and
sympathetically restored and furnished, with the addition of contemporary,
tasteful bathrooms and kitchen, but it's Heidi and Tom who make it home -
it was their home and ours for the duration of our stay - and, because they
are so generous, warm, good-humoured and genuine, and New Yorkers who know
and love the city, in no time we felt like locals too. The kitchen was
ours if we wanted an evening in, but there's so much to do in Harlem itself
and access from the house to anywhere in Manhattan is easy on the nearby
frequent and fast subway service. We found poetry reading, jazz, gospel
and story telling, much of it inexpensive, as well as enjoying the
well-known galleries and museums and fabulous New York food. So... book
now, make Easy Living Harlem your base and you'll thank us for this
recommendation!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Heidi and Tom, I miss you guys. This couple of complete sweethearts welcomed me into their beautiful home and make me feel loved and safe. Thank you for giving me a life-changing experience. Harlem is a fantastic place to stay - a real NY neighborhood. It has a sense of community that I felt was missing in lower Manhattan. Heidi, Tom and Jodie, you people are so very kind and warm and loving, I miss you a lot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Because of the warm welcome of Heidi & tom you feel directly as a part of the house. The friendly and very helpful hosts never give you the feeling of a stranger. We enjoyed our stay there very much and would always recommend it to other travelers who don't want to stay "like a tourist" in any NY Hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean with a modern bathroom and you find a very well equipped kitchen downstairs which offers fee coffee & tea.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Heidi and Tom offers a quiet, charming, clean, spacious, light and most of all very welcoming atmospfere in their beautiful townhouse. Once you leave the quiet block (quiet in the Harlem-sense of quietness) you are in a most lively neighbourhood with all you need within a few minutes walk. Great food, in the resturants or from many of the take-away places. You find small clubs, not only for jazz. Central Park is a 10 minutes run away. the hosts can give advice on things to do and see both in the neighborhood and in the rest of the city. As a small family on tour we always felt safe and secure in the neighborhood. We appreciated the calmness and the easyliving-attitude inside the B&B as well as in the streets. Going back to Harlem after a day downtown felt like entering av oasis.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris, france
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I can only use superlatives when describing easyliving-Harlem. The experience of staying with Heidi and Tom in their beautiful and comfortable home is one of the very best that I have ever had. From the moment you walk in Heidi and Tom make you feel like a welcome houseguest, yet at the same time, maintain the balance of respecting their visitor's space. The incredibly clean kitchen is stocked with all types of coffee, tea, and fruit which you are free to use at any time. The rooms are tastefully done and the beds are really really comfortable. The wifi is free and it works. The neighborhood is lovely and the people in it are friendly and everybody knows Heidi and Tom. There's even a block party coming up. All in all I just can't say enough about this wonderful place to begin to do it justice. It is truly amazing because Heidi and Tom are amazing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Easyliving-harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easyliving-harlem

Address: West 137th Street, New York City, NY 10030
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We live in a large,beautiful TOWNHOUSE and rent out 4 SPACIOUS ROOMS to travelers, who prefer this kind of accommodation to the anonymity of a hotel. Frequently guests meet with us or each other in the COMFORTABLE KITCHEN for cooking, friendly chats, tips and exchange of experiences. RATES 120 to 150 USD/DOUBLE OCCUPANCY. VERY CLOSE to MAJOR SUBWAY/BUSES. DON'T VISIT, LIVE NY!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Easyliving-Harlem Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Easyliving-harlem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.