We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, clean, well thought out design.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center to your Saves list
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% Off Our Best Rates!
Ranked #107 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Small, clean, well thought out design.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This boutique is a small clean well thought out hotel that caters to the person travelling alone. Dining is located at its sister property down the street. The room was small, but efficient in design and clean. The location is perfect and the price was right for NYC.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    384
    70
    18
    27
See reviews for
247
473
82
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This small hotel is squeezed in W 51st Street near 30 Rock & is very central, quiet (for NYC!) and although the rooms are small the price is right; they're also clean, acceptably decorated and comfortable (free wifi is hard to come by in tourist hotels). Coffee shops, dining, sight seeing and several subway lines are all within a 3 block walk. perfectly acceptable for a few days for 2 or a business trip. Prob not the best place for large groups or family groups.

Room Tip: 51st St rooms may have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Fantastic location across from Rockefeller Center, down the street from Radio City Music Hall, up the street from St. Patrick's Cathedral, about a block away from NBC studios. Lot's of restaurants close by. They offer unlimited purified water bottles. It has all you need.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
183 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I got a great deal for around $100 on Hotwire and was very pleased with my stay. The location is ideal and close to everything in midtown. Lobby was a bit disappointing. It was just a computer with a few chairs. But the lobby staff and what appeared to be the manager, were very friendly and helpful. The room was on the 15th floor and I had to take an elevator to the 14th floor and then switch, but it wasn't a big deal. Room size is what to expect from a Manhattan hotel. But, the layout was nice, bathroom larger than expected and the bed was very comfortable. They were very strict with checkout and the latest I could get without paying $50 was 12:30. However, they stored my bags while I spent the afternoon walking around. Overall, a very good choice.

Room Tip: 1503 was a quiet room but no view outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natal, RN
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

a very good staff, they really made my stay, always ready to help! smalls but cozy and clean rooms, free drink water in every floor, not a fancy hotel but definitely a good option and it was one of my best stays in NYC!

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Jewel is definitely a jewel. The location cannot be beat especially for the rate I paid. But it is so close to everything in Midtown. Steps away from Radio City Music Hall, Rockerfeller Plaza and St. Pat's Cathedral. I could see all of these from my 12th floor corner room with floor to ceiling corner windows. Check in was a breeze with the kiosk and hotel personnel there to greet and guide me. Hotel was very clean and up to date in style and furnishings. My room was so smartly designed that every thing was designed to make all the space available to be very functional. I was traveling alone and found the room and bathroom to be more than enough space for me. I think it would work well for a couple too. I loved the bottled water dispensor that was located near the elevator on each floor. SO convenient and practical. No street noise from 12th floor. The bedding and bed was comfortable for a good night's sleep. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Seek out a corner room on a higher floor facing Rockerfeller Center for great floor to ceiling windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This well appointed hotel in New York is a great place for your stay in the city. The hotel is very nice, the room are small but well designed for the business traveler. I give them a kuddo for offering us a free night because of a persistent AC issue which was not completely fixed and upon telling the staff they apologize and they said this was not acceptable. Rare are establishments which take this approach. A couple of points, one is that the hotel need more than one person to handle maintenance and two whomever place the toilet paper at the opposite side of the commode was not thinking straight.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#80 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#85 Family Hotel in New York City
#86 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.