We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a decent option in midtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center to your Saves list
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now and Save More!
Ranked #103 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“a decent option in midtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My partner and I, young professional couple in our early 30s, spent a weekend in NYC and stayed here for three nights in late April. We got the reservation by bidding on priceline, so the cost was exceptionally low. But even if we were paying posted rate (which is generally quite reasonable for NYC standard), I would still consider our stay a pretty decent one.

The location being right in midtown was very convenient. It is a busy area by day, but at night the street it was on was fairly quiet, though it not far from night life. Like any Midtown Manhattan location, getting around is quite easy.

We checked in very early in the day, and were initially given a room on the second floor, with view of the scaffolding for building renovation. We requested a change, and was given a room on the eighth floor later in the day. Our window looks right on to Rockefeller Plaza, which is a pretty neat scene.

The room itself felt a bit like a very upscale college dorm room, but of reasonably good size for NYC. The décor was a bit dated and the room lacks much natural lighting, but overall it was a reasonably comfortable room, clean and well maintained. The wifi in the room worked quite well. The chilled purified water dispenser on each floor was a great idea.

We took advantage of the access to the Terrace Club next door at Club Quarters for brunch on Saturday. It was a very pleasant way to spend Saturday morning. Our interaction with the staff was limited, which is generally a good sign (i.e. no need for us to raise any issues). In the few instances that we did interacted with them, they were helpful and courteous.

Overall, a reasonably good stay, for a great price.

Room Tip: apparently rooms on 9th floor have really nice balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    372
    65
    18
    27
See reviews for
246
462
78
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staff is super accommodating. We arrived early and the gave us a room on the 15th floor. Outstanding view of St Patrick's Cathedral. Small but very clean. Queen bed. Service is excellent. A wonderful perk is free coffee on 2nd floor (from a professional brew machine) and bottled water on every floor. The coffee is great as you know just getting a good cup can run $3-$5 for each cup. It was a great perk. They have a beautiful clean common living room area on the 2nd floor. Nice for coffee, computer and printer work (free to guests). Ask for a room on the top floor in a quiet area. There is also a dining area in 25 W 51st and you get a 20% discount. Great terrace for outside dining. Reasonable prices and good food. Elevators are fast and check in is a breeze. If you need anything, all you have to do is ask. No valet parking but parking arrangements on 54th St at a discount of $35 per 24 hours. BIG PERK...FREE WIFI in rooms. Most hotels make you pay.
The location of this property couldn't be better. You are near everything; theaters, great food, shopping and the metro. We will definitely return to this property. The only reason I didn't give it an outstanding rating is the rooms are small. However, we knew that before we went and we didn't have plans to spend a lot of time in the room. They do have suites available, but we were satisfied with the queen standard and the price was perfect.

Room Tip: check that ac is quiet and working and that the room is big enough on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just had 7 nights nights at the Jewel and cannot fault it in anyway at all,all mod cons,good size bathroom and good size(for NY) bedroom with an ideal location to boot.

This was my 9th trip to NY and have stayed at hotels at all budgets including the Waldorf Astoria(overrated) and the Thirty Thirty(beyond poor) and the Jewel goes straight to joint number one with The Metro on 34th st.

Would I stay here again?..........most definitely.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Perfect location; excellent room - size, standard, facilities, decor, cleanliness; adjoining restaurant ideal for convenience, food quality and ambiance; staff - especially Rene and Iris - courteous, very attentive and helpful.
Could not have suited us better for our 8th trip to NY from England

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I can't begin to say enough positive things about our experience at the Jewel; starting with walking through the door and being greeted by the most pleasant concierge in New York City! Iris!!! They graciously stored our bags for a couple of hours when we got there (because we were so early) and on the day we left after we checked out. While we waited on both of those days--they had a common "Living room" for us to charge our phones in, use the bathroom, change, get a cup of fresh brewed coffee or cappuccino. Every employee was kind, friendly, and helpful. They had purified, chilled water stations on each floor and provided the plastic, refillable bottles. It was an amazing experience and worth every penny!!! Thank You to the Jewel for such a great experience! We will return! I have stayed in a lot of hotels in NYC and this boutique hotel was by far the best experience I have had! I highly recommend the Jewel!!!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A good choice for its amazing location, clean functional room and friendly front desk and guest services team.

What you get: small, clean, functional rooms - descriptor applies to bathroom and bathroom. Reasonable corporate rate via egencia. Walk or a short Uber ride to Times Square/Park Avenue offices and Soho/Villages for evening entertainment. Good bathroom amenities.

What you do without: restaurant (you're in NYC, more than enough choice elsewhere).
Nice touch: central guest areas on each floor for drinking water and shared iron/board - like the green gesture and cost efficiencies around this concept.

If you are familiar with and appreciate small business hotels in Europe, The Jewel is for you.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonehaven,kincardineshire,scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a week at the jewel and couldn't fault it. It's the kind of hotel that would remind me of an upmarket premier inn, modern, stylish and simple but with everything you need.
Smack bang in the middle of all the attractions, but on a relatively quiet street for New York so traffic noise isn't bad.
Rooms aren't huge but for being in the centre of NY then they are great! Comfy bed, decent bathroom, flat screen telly, room cleaned daily, we had a basic small standard room for the 2 of us & it was all we needed.
Free coffee machine, free bottled water on most levels, free wifi.
Reception staff were the best, friendly & couldn't do enough for us from confirming trips to booking taxis.
Gym very small, couple of bikes, cross trainers & weights but keeps you going for the week.
The sister hotel "club quarters" is a couple of doors down & would recommend going up to the 7th floor where they have a restaraunt called the terrace club with great food (20%off bill as a Jewel guest) with a balcony you can sit and eat/drink on & admire the view, happy hour 4-7pm on house drinks so about $7 for a wine/beer/spirit& mixer which is half price & cheap for NY. Right
Next door to Rockefeller, 20 mins to times sq & 20 mins to Central Park, depending how quick u walk !
Would defo stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#83 Family Hotel in New York City
#86 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.