We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel of a find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center to your Saves list
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now and Save More!
Ranked #103 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A jewel of a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Perfect location; excellent room - size, standard, facilities, decor, cleanliness; adjoining restaurant ideal for convenience, food quality and ambiance; staff - especially Rene and Iris - courteous, very attentive and helpful.
Could not have suited us better for our 8th trip to NY from England

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    370
    65
    18
    27
See reviews for
246
459
78
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I can't begin to say enough positive things about our experience at the Jewel; starting with walking through the door and being greeted by the most pleasant concierge in New York City! Iris!!! They graciously stored our bags for a couple of hours when we got there (because we were so early) and on the day we left after we checked out. While we waited on both of those days--they had a common "Living room" for us to charge our phones in, use the bathroom, change, get a cup of fresh brewed coffee or cappuccino. Every employee was kind, friendly, and helpful. They had purified, chilled water stations on each floor and provided the plastic, refillable bottles. It was an amazing experience and worth every penny!!! Thank You to the Jewel for such a great experience! We will return! I have stayed in a lot of hotels in NYC and this boutique hotel was by far the best experience I have had! I highly recommend the Jewel!!!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A good choice for its amazing location, clean functional room and friendly front desk and guest services team.

What you get: small, clean, functional rooms - descriptor applies to bathroom and bathroom. Reasonable corporate rate via egencia. Walk or a short Uber ride to Times Square/Park Avenue offices and Soho/Villages for evening entertainment. Good bathroom amenities.

What you do without: restaurant (you're in NYC, more than enough choice elsewhere).
Nice touch: central guest areas on each floor for drinking water and shared iron/board - like the green gesture and cost efficiencies around this concept.

If you are familiar with and appreciate small business hotels in Europe, The Jewel is for you.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonehaven,kincardineshire,scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a week at the jewel and couldn't fault it. It's the kind of hotel that would remind me of an upmarket premier inn, modern, stylish and simple but with everything you need.
Smack bang in the middle of all the attractions, but on a relatively quiet street for New York so traffic noise isn't bad.
Rooms aren't huge but for being in the centre of NY then they are great! Comfy bed, decent bathroom, flat screen telly, room cleaned daily, we had a basic small standard room for the 2 of us & it was all we needed.
Free coffee machine, free bottled water on most levels, free wifi.
Reception staff were the best, friendly & couldn't do enough for us from confirming trips to booking taxis.
Gym very small, couple of bikes, cross trainers & weights but keeps you going for the week.
The sister hotel "club quarters" is a couple of doors down & would recommend going up to the 7th floor where they have a restaraunt called the terrace club with great food (20%off bill as a Jewel guest) with a balcony you can sit and eat/drink on & admire the view, happy hour 4-7pm on house drinks so about $7 for a wine/beer/spirit& mixer which is half price & cheap for NY. Right
Next door to Rockefeller, 20 mins to times sq & 20 mins to Central Park, depending how quick u walk !
Would defo stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, new york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed overnight at The Jewel on Sunday, April 26, 2015. I got an excellent rate through Priceline's Express ($90) and it was rated as a 4 star hotel. They didn't lie about the location, you can see Rockefeller Center, but only from a higher floor. I was on the 3rd floor and saw another hotel. Besides, there's not much going on at Rockefeller Center right now anyway. The entrance is covered by scaffolding and I walked right past it. The lobby (if you can call it that) is very compact, although the person manning the desk did check me in in less than 5 minutes. There is a small lounge on the second floor which has a tv, 2 computers, and a coffee/espresso/cappuccino machine. The room I had was small, but okay for one night. There was a Keurig machine, but I was afraid to use it since the menu said they charged you for each cup you used. There was no real closet or dresser. The bathroom had a sliding door with no lock, but the toilet was interesting since there was a dual button on top to flush, 1 for just tinkle and light toilet paper and 1 for other. There was no safe or refrigerator like they show in their photos. The walls were pretty thin since I heard a lot of noise through the door and walls at around 2:30 in the morning and at about 8:30 in the morning, I heard construction start up. All in all, it was adequate for overnight, but I'm not so sure about a longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of The Jewel is excellent. Across from The Rockefeller Centre and a short walk to Time Square. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. They always greeted you in the lobby, coming or going. In typical Manhatten style, the rooms were a bit small but, had everything you could need. It was clean with modern furnishings and the bed was very comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the second floor lounge and chilled filtered water machine on each floor. The Jewel provided an excellent stay at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev r, General Manager at The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for staying with us and for your thoughtful review. We take pride in our prime location and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. There's nothing more rewarding to our team than to hear positive guest feedback. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words to them.

If you would prefer a larger room for your next visit, please inquire about the availability of our studios or suites. We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Sanj Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My sister, mother and I stayed in this hotel the beginning of April. I booked the hotel over the internet and was under the impression that there were only queen size beds. When my sister arrived her room had a king size bed. Just want people to be aware that kings are available. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and quiet. No view though in the two rooms I saw. There is no food service at this hotel but they do offer a dining room 2 doors down at a private club, of sorts- food was good.

You can't beat the location. The cathedral and Fifth Ave is just down the street, Rockefeller Ctr. right out the front door, Times Sq. about a 10 minute walk.

We stayed during a "shoulder season" so our rate was under $200. Excellent for the location. Parking was a block over and was $33 a day.
I will stay here again if the need arrives.

Note to management: I think it would be perfectly OK to let your front desk employees to have a stool to sit on!! Also...Erika was MORE than helpful every time we needed her help. Great employee....give her a stool!

Room Tip: There are some rooms that look DOWN to Rockefeller Center which is one block over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev r, General Manager at The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Jewel Hotel and for taking your time in writing a review. We're delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Since your stay with us, we have opened a Sushi restaurant in the lower level of the hotel serving lunch and dinner but you can also use The Terrace Club a couple of doors down for breakfast or any of the other meals as well. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Sanj Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#119 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.