We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center to your Saves list
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save More!
Ranked #93 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We selected this hotel to be close to the tree lighting at Rockefeller Center (which was the reason for our NYC trip) and ended up having a wonderful stay! The location couldn't be better. From our window we could see Radio City Music Hall to the right and St. Patrick Cathedral to the left. Although we couldn't actually see the tree from our window, the sidewalk leading to it was just right out the front door of the hotel.

Bill's Burgers just across the street has wonderful food and is open late. There is a full service pharmacy/drugstore (Walgreens inside, but a different name on the facade) just a few doors down.

From there we were able to easily visit MoMA which is only two blocks away. We were in walking distance to Central Park, Times Square, and the Theater District - no more than about a 10-15 min walk.

Our room was perfect for what we needed. Room 709. Clean and fresh. We had a room with a kitchenette which included a microwave and small fridge as well as a coffee maker. The room was small but well designed and so it didn't feel cramped at all. We always carry a small portable sound machine for sleep and with that, we never were awakened by any street noise. The hotel also has sound machines to borrow if you don't normally carry one. The free wifi and the free bottled water stations were a great find! The ironing boards and irons are kept in a closet in the hallway by the bottled water station on each floor. They were always available and in great condition. I liked the fact that you had to use your room key for the elevator to allow you to get to your floor.

Check in and Check out ladies were friendly. Had room service our first night since we got in late and didn't know yet what was around. They were timely and the food was good. Reasonably priced. The staff was helpful with activity suggestions and directions. They have discounts on various attractions that are nearby (we used the Top of the Rock discount card for $2 off each admission). They also have options for early check in and late check out options for an additional fee.

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel for our first NYC trip and will definitely be back.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    344
    59
    17
    25
See reviews for
230
428
73
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

From the moment we walked in and asked the gal at the desk if they might have a room with a view (we ended up in 1502, top floor, which had to have had the best view in the City) to the day we left and I called down at 10:45 AM and asked if I might leave my luggage downstairs after 11:00, as we wanted to get a late breakfast ("Oh, check out isn't until noon, and don't worry, if you're a few minutes past, just let me know"- said a different clerk) I was really impressed with this place. We had one of the small rooms- (so, if you'd rather a large room looking at a wall, head somewhere else!) but with the bed set behind one huge window looking up to Radio City and one to the side, looking down to the entrance of the tree - and then back to St. Patrick's (and an amazing hidden roof garden!) - it was pure eye candy. My husband and I both sat up just staring at the nighttime lights. We didn't spend much time in the room beyond staring and sleeping- the bed was fine, the bathroom was great with nice toiletries, there was a small desk/chair in the corner and another hassock/ottoman that could be used as a chair under the night table on the right side. Fine side closet, 1 huge drawer underneath, coffee maker, free internet, bottled water- and our own aerie in the middle of NY during the holidays!

Room Tip: I asked if there was a room with a view? (I had gotten an online deal, if they had said no, that wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If there is going to be regular construction including loud jack-hammering going on in the morning next to the hotel, it would be nice for the hotel to give their guests a heads up. As the front desk manager informed me when I asked why they did not give guests a heads up, the construction is "only during business hours," "intermittent," and had been going on "only for about a week and a half." Well, let guests know that. Many guests will not be disturbed because they will be out of their room before the noise even starts. Others, like me, may not mind but may take their conference call from a nearby office or a coffee shop rather than dial into a call only to have loud jack-hammering start up in the middle of it. I tried to escape to the bathroom and even hallway but the noise reverberated loudly throughout those areas. With the phone on mute, I called the front desk to complain about the noise and the manager replied "Yes, we can hear it down here, too!" Which in hindsight is kind of funny. At least we were on the same page.

I should note that when I complained upon checking out the front desk manager was nice and did give me a discount on the room and later a certificate for a free weekend night, but rather than that I think they should just give notice of the construction going forward so guests can plan accordingly.

Apart from the nearby construction, I thought this was a decent cheap hotel. There is no front desk, just a few computers and a couple of chairs in the small entryway, so it feels more informal than a standard hotel. I have a colleague that refuses to stay there , and if you are used to four or five star accommodations, this hotel is not for you. To use NYC apartments as an analogy, if you would only live in a building with a doorman, this hotel is not for you. If you are bothered by things like a loose bathroom faucet that wiggles a bit when you turn it on (but otherwise works fine), this hotel is not for you. And, of course, if you do not want to roll the dice on whether there could be something like construction going on without warning, this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I wanted to be close to the Rockefellar Center and I was. There are great places to eat including the hotel. Nice place on the 7th floor for drinks and dinner also with a good view of the tree. Free filtered water and bottles to take with you for the day. Free cappuccino in building next door if you dont mind the walk. Free printing center for emails and tickets to events. 10 min walk to Times Square. 5 mins to Radio City Music Hall.

Room Tip: Did not have a lot of TV choices. I guess they expect you to spend your time outdoors so just bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First off, the Jewel is not a posh, luxury hotel. We'd wanted one of those, but couldn't get the booking dates we needed. The Jewel had a few available rooms, the description and reviews were positive, and the location looked good, so we took a chance. We're so glad we did. The location was absolutely perfect, particularly for our plans. The room was basic, but also large, comfortable and quiet. The bathroom, by NY standards, was large. We'll stay here again.
The front desk staff was excellent! I can't say that strongly enough. In our experience, the front-desk staff of the Jewel now ranks first in terms of professionalism friendliness and above-and-beyond helpfulness. A number of other NYC hotels also have good staffing, but the front-desk personnel at the Jewel can serve as a role model for excellence.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P, Hotel Representative at The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Elisabeth,

Thank you for staying at The Jewel and for your kind and thoughtful review. We’re glad you chose to stay with us and happy we met your expectations with our guest rooms, our prime Manhattan location, and especially in the area of guest service. We work hard to provide excellent service to all of our guests, so it’s wonderful to receive such great compliments! We will be sure our staff sees your review and receives our thanks as well. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Jewel in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location, location, location. Loved it and hope to return. Iris and other staff so helpful. Beds need to be replaced, but can't beat the location for Rock Center. Thoroughly enjoyed our time here-treat to have bottled water on each floor.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P, Hotel Representative at The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear dancerstravel,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Jewel during your recent trip to Manhattan. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review and especially the kind words you had for Iris and our staff. There’s nothing we love more than being able to share wonderful comments like yours with our staff! I will be sure Iris and the rest of our team sees it. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed here and we got a great deal through Expedia for flight and hotel. I think we may have stayed here soon after they first opened, but that's beside the point. We got to NYC a little earlier than expected and to the hotel about 2 hours before check in. Without hesitation, they allowed us to check in early at no charge and even automatically upgraded us to a king size bed. We weren't even thinking of asking and they said they had the room to give it to us at no charge. The room was so nice and the bed was VERY comfy...along with its 6 pillows! We could see the walkway to Rockefeller Plaza/Center out our huge wall-size window. The bathroom was so nice and energy/water efficient complete with glassware. There was even a complementary bottled water station that you could use at anytime before leaving the hotel. It came in handy for walking around NYC wherever we went, I think every hotel needs this! It was in a centralized location and we had no troubles walking where we wanted to, we only took the subway a couple times to get to the upper and lower sides of Manhattan and back to the airport. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! Everyone was friendly and helpful and for being in the middle of NYC, it was quiet and we could sleep great each night.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up facing the street. Great views and surprisingly quiet for a big city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in New York City
#66 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#75 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Description: The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.