We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They've thought of everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Save Saved
You added The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save More!
Ranked #99 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“They've thought of everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Where do I start? Ok, cons: I don't/can't live here...

Pros: Location, location, location. Next to 30Rock, steps from times square, restaurants, etc... walk any direction from the door of the hotel and you'll find something great.
The Staff: The receptionist warmly welcomed us and had our keys within a matter of minutes after describing all the amenities.
The rooms are a bit small but it's NYC... Queen bed is comfortable but not fantastic (I believe it's two twin beds set together) Rooms are very modern, clean, Great views, nice amenities for those who need connectivity. Plugs abound, wifi is quick and free, lots of storage, and cords to attach anything to the LCD TV.
Anything you need, they have or can get. iPads to borrow, cold filtered bottled water, etc... even the thermostat is right next to the bed for ease of use when you want to change it in the middle of the night! Rooms are fairly quiet and the street outside isn't too busy. Good sound proofing.

Will absolutely stay here again and again!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    317
    55
    15
    25
See reviews for
220
395
70
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DENVER
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The location is terrific, right in the heart of everything. The rooms are beautiful. The staff is incredible--warm, welcoming and very friendly! I couldn't ask for anything more. The free bottled water is a great perk.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Spent August 26 to August 29 at the Jewel via Priceline. We were there to see some Broadway plays so, needless to say, the location was fabulous. But beyond that, the people at the check-in desk (particularly Brandy and Sandy) couldn't have been better to us. As I have some health issues, they placed us in a room that really met my needs including having a small kitchenette. We got the extra pillows and anything else we needed for the room provided with no questions asked. The extras like the fitness area, free coffee and cappuccino machine, fresh bottled water on every floor were absolutely great. At checkout I mentioned that, in a world where airlines are charging for every little extra, it was wonderful to see a hotel that still valued wonderful service and accommodating their customers . We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

third time we have stayed at this hotel. as my title indicates you are close to everything in mid-town. Central Park, Hells Kitchen, Times Square are all within walking distance. hotel staff is friendly and very helpful and informative. bottled water on each floor is a big plus. free wifi has good range throughout hotel. on second floor is an awesome coffee machine that also makes latte's, tea etc. Our room was small but very clean and modern. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. only complaint but I don't think anything can be done about it was we were on the 2nd floor facing 51st and it was a bit noisy early in the morning in the street outside but we weren't sleeping in either. Jewel has fast elevators.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on a higher floor or one not facing 51st to escape the early morning noise on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an excellent stay at the jewel. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The location was great. Everything in walking distance. We could walk to Radio City Music Hall as well as to other theaters. We were able to take the subway, just two blocks away, to the 911 museum. I highly recommend visiting there! We would like to thank Sandy for all her help and advise. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was my first visit courtesy of Hotwire. I rate the hotel a 10+. From the moment my wife and I walked into The Jewel, we were impressed. I asked for a cot or to be moved to another room (generally doesn't happen with a third party booking), and they found us a room facing Radio City & Rockefeller Center.

The Jewel offers wireless internet all over the hotel. A gym with new equipment. A coffee machine which includes latte and cappuccino. Free. Unlimited. Computers and a printer. Water bottles for chilled water on every floor.

Did I say service? Pleasant, professional and customer-service oriented.

You need to walk towards Hell's Kitchen or Times Square for dining options. It's the best city in the world and I'm fully endorsing The Jewel,

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from NYC and had a great time staying at this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel, as the staff went out of their way to provide maps, suggestions and transportation for the airport. The location was so fun, right by Rockefeller Center, walking distance to Time Square, and Broadway and easy access to the subway. The room layout was great and the free water bottles with fresh water dispensers on each floor made walking out the door with fresh water everyday great as we toured around. There was no noise at night, so sleeping was also great. The breakfast at the sister property was especially nice on at the Terrace just next door.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 12th floor with a window with natural light and refrigeration. It was a quiet r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#68 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#79 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#149 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Description: The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.