We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel of a hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center to your Saves list
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save More!
Ranked #106 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cortland, NY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A jewel of a hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

While most of the time the term boutique hotel means a room so small it's a glorified closet, the Jewel really is terrrific. The location can't be beat and while the rooms are small the layout makes sense and gives a feeling of much more spaciousness. The service was just terrific - requests for extra pillows or a replacement hair dryer were quickly filled; while there was no concierge, front desk staff were full of suggestions and willing to make reservations anywhere. If you're looking for a reasonably priced home base for NYC sightseeing or a show, this is a great choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    363
    63
    18
    27
See reviews for
242
452
75
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Jewel Hotel offers a great location, convenient to all of midtown. We had a room with a small kitchenette (stove top, microwave and oven, and fridge). The room was clean and quiet, the service was fine. You need to only walk one block and you're at the ice rink at Rock Center and two blocks to St. Patrick's Cathedral and all the shops on 5th Avenue. It's a perfect spot for a quick weekend in Manhattan.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I booked a single bedded room and was very pleasantly surprised when I was given a queen size bed which was very comfortable as were the pillows. The room was small, well lit and the bathroom was large and very well stocked with towels. On my floor (another pleasant surprise) was an alcove that supplied purified water and sealed plastic bottles free of charge. That's a first! I ordered room service, coffee, warm cream and a warmed cup. I received cold milk, styro cups and no sugar. I called and complained, they were very, very apologetic and replaced my order, correctly, very quickly and the coffee was very good. The restaurant gives a 20% discount to hotel guests. The hotel is excellently located right across the street from Rockefeller Center, the theatre district is blocks away and Fifth avenue and St. Patrick's Cathedral are also just blocks away. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. My only complaint was that there wasn't a safe in my room and I had to be taken to the sub-lobby to access my safe. I booked online and received an incredibly low price. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

There is really nothing more to add to the many other reviews that simply rave about this place. Given that you're right across from Rock Center anyone who criticizes the slightest detail about this marvelous hotel should have their head examined. Sure, if it was in Peoria, Illinois for the same price you could find a few nits to pick, but you can easily spend two or three times the room rate for another Manhattan hotel and be far worse off. This is the undisputed best hotel value in the Big Apple, bar none.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, CT
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had everything we needed for a "quick weekend" base in NYC.

Clean, quiet (we had a minimal room #406 in the back) and were able to access theaters and restaurants in mid-town.

Sure, it's NOT the Ritz Carlton (kind of Paris-sized room) but, a wonderful price/value proposition.

PS: Check out the restaurant in the basement (MARCELLA 51 INC) - a great deal ANYWHERE and even more remarkable in this neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I recently stayed at club quarters in Philadelphia and thought I would try the one in New York. It was everything I expected. Friendly concierge staff, super fast check in. The property is very secure. The elevator is operated with your room key card, making it hard for people not staying there to loom the halls. The hotel is very modern as are rooms. You are in the heart of it all. Madison ave, 5th ave, rock center. And Times Square is around the corner.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed at the Jewel for 5 nights from the 24th Nov 2013, My first time to New York. The Hotel was excellent, receptionists were really friendly. The location is perfect and easy to get to most places/attractions. After reading some of the negative reviews on here i was apprehensive about my stay at the Jewel. Yes as noted on here the rooms are not massive but they are clean and well appointed, and have everything you need, good power shower, i pod doc, FREE WIFI for which we had no issues and a big comfy bed. Also as stated on here there is no restaurant in the hotel, but this is no issue when you have the whole of New York to explore! this is clearly noted on the website so shouldnt come as a shock! If you are wanting a big fancy hotel with fancy reception area, restaurant and bar this wouldnt be the place for you. If you want a clean hassle free base for your visit close to all the attractions i would definately recommend it. Fabulous hotel clean and modern, free bottled water on each floor. perfect base for exploring New York city. would definately recommend, and would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the rockerfella centre, radio city! fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#87 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#90 Family Hotel in New York City
#113 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.