We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - What a find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices from these 9 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center to your Saves list
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save More!
Ranked #101 of 453 Hotels in New York City
West Haven, CT
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wow - What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had everything we needed for a "quick weekend" base in NYC.

Clean, quiet (we had a minimal room #406 in the back) and were able to access theaters and restaurants in mid-town.

Sure, it's NOT the Ritz Carlton (kind of Paris-sized room) but, a wonderful price/value proposition.

PS: Check out the restaurant in the basement (MARCELLA 51 INC) - a great deal ANYWHERE and even more remarkable in this neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    325
    57
    15
    25
See reviews for
223
402
70
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I recently stayed at club quarters in Philadelphia and thought I would try the one in New York. It was everything I expected. Friendly concierge staff, super fast check in. The property is very secure. The elevator is operated with your room key card, making it hard for people not staying there to loom the halls. The hotel is very modern as are rooms. You are in the heart of it all. Madison ave, 5th ave, rock center. And Times Square is around the corner.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed at the Jewel for 5 nights from the 24th Nov 2013, My first time to New York. The Hotel was excellent, receptionists were really friendly. The location is perfect and easy to get to most places/attractions. After reading some of the negative reviews on here i was apprehensive about my stay at the Jewel. Yes as noted on here the rooms are not massive but they are clean and well appointed, and have everything you need, good power shower, i pod doc, FREE WIFI for which we had no issues and a big comfy bed. Also as stated on here there is no restaurant in the hotel, but this is no issue when you have the whole of New York to explore! this is clearly noted on the website so shouldnt come as a shock! If you are wanting a big fancy hotel with fancy reception area, restaurant and bar this wouldnt be the place for you. If you want a clean hassle free base for your visit close to all the attractions i would definately recommend it. Fabulous hotel clean and modern, free bottled water on each floor. perfect base for exploring New York city. would definately recommend, and would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the rockerfella centre, radio city! fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

A very clean and functional hotel located in the centre of the city. The biggest advantage of the hotel is it's location - Rockefeller Centre. It's accessibility from the main streets like the 5th ave., Subway station, Hop on Hop off bus stops, Central Park and Times Square make it an ideal location for tourists.

The rooms are extremely well furnished and clean. The staff is very courteous and informative. The service levels of the hotel are excellent. They provide free wifi and water coolers & bottles are kept on each floor for the guests to use.

In all the experience at the hotel was great and I would recommend this hotel to all.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I had to spend the night for business and thought this offshoot of Club Quarters would foot the bill. Unfortunately they had very small rooms and noisy corridors. The stall was nice and helpful, but the rate was just too high for that kind of room, for $450, I could have stayed around the corner at the Hilton and gotten a much nicer room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have been to The Jewel on 3 occasions & will be back in March of this year. Yes, the rooms are smallish but that is made up by all the other advantages. The location is perfect...just a quick stroll from the Today show & Rockefeller Center. We love rolling out of bed and quickly run down to The Today show. The rooms with the balconies give the appearance of being larger. Having the fresh water refills on each floor is an added bonus. The staff is minimal but very helpful & welcoming. The new restaurant Downstairs is excellent (best gnocchi I have ever had) . We Like to visit NYC a couple times a year & The Jewel has become our Hotel of Choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#71 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#83 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#146 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Description: The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.