We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Save Saved
You added The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer, Save More!
Ranked #88 of 449 hotels in New York City
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Centrally located, nice clean rooms, excellent service and thoughtful towards the environment. I absolutely loved the hotel.
Easy access to all parts of town. Small but comfortable rooms, definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    605
    333
    53
    16
    23
See reviews for
208
377
67
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Booked hotel direct through website. Arrived late around 8.30pm. Check-in was simple and no fuss. Room was excellent with HD TV, air-con that worked, Alarm Clock with ipod functionality. Shower was a POWER shower putting it mildly. View from room was excellent although this wont apply to all. Coffee/Tea facilities provided with extra coffee facilities and computer use on Floor 2.

In summary, a great hotel and big enough for an extended stay in the Big Apple. 15 mins walk away to Central Park/Times Square/Grand Central and next door to classy 5th Avenue and Tiffany and Co.

Dont regret booking and if going back, I would definitely book here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the corners will have access to the view of Rockefeller Center and Radio City
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had booked a reservation at another hotel, but they did not have the room we had asked for when we got there (a "one room suite" for three people). They offered to put a rollaway bed in a regular queen room, but the room was tiny and there was literally no way to walk around. So they sent us to the Jewel ("a sister property"). We were pretty grumpy after an hour or more of nonsense and having to move several blocks away, but the Jewel was a breath of fresh air. The staff were really genuine and helpful. The hotel is only 3 years old and felt very contemporary and clean. Nothing fancy, but they have the basics well-covered. There is a water station on each floor with free water bottles that they encourage you to refill. The room was not huge, but very nicely equipped and the rollaway bed fit fine. Fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, charging stations for devices, no-hassle wi-fi. We usually try to avoid mid-town and the theatre district, and this was right across the street from Radio City Music Hall. It was totally fine. Quiet. They held our luggage for us after check-out and let use the lounge on the second floor for a small birthday celebration. They could not have been nicer or more pleasant about everything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The staff was very friendly and check-in was a breeze! Hotel parking is a few blocks away and the discounted rate of $35 for 24 hours is not bad for NYC. The room is small (as expected) but it was clean. The bed could have been nicer, it seemed a little lumpy and old. Overall it was a pleasant stay and I would recommend it for anyone sightseeing NYC. Rockefeller Center is truly across the street, Times Square is within walking distance among countless other attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I am currently staying at this hotel and will not stay here again. First, there is no on site restaurant. You have to leave the hotel and walk a few doors down to Club Quarters. Next, the room did not get cleaned until very late in the day. Then, for two days there is no cable or TV. Finally, the restaurants they say will deliver with a charge to the room will not do so. Very frustrating. Poor service with absolutely no apologies or promise of fixing any of these problems.

Room Tip: There is no spa or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great location next to Rockefeller Center and a short stroll to Central park. Room was a little small but big enough for 2 guests and the view was amazing. The hotel and room were very clean and well maintained. The service was great as well. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

First i will start with the good parts, the location(maybe the best location in nyc), hotel and amenities, free coffee and water are very well, but the management style of the hotel is very poor. We made our booking to the hotel at January 10 months before the stay, I informed the hotel twice prior to our arrival about our late check-in, booking com people have also contacted the hotel and called me saying that it is ok for late check out, at the 9th night we came to hotel at midnight after a long flight and we are told that hotel is overbooked and we will be transferred to another hotel belongs to same group and front dest said we will pay nothing to the hotel that we transferred and our first night will be free of charge we are not pleased with the inconvenience after a very long trip that we planed for a long time but we said ok, next day at the other hotel they charged us for the night despite our refusal to pay, they said we have to pay and handle the situation with Jewel and if not paid we will not be check out, we paid helpless and go to the Jewel, there was a different one in the front dest and said we have to pay full charge, we gone mad after this behavior and explained the situation again and again, we argued and finally she said they are ok for free of charge first night, be careful with this hotel about their overbooking scam, after this situation i read lots of reviews on tripadvisor on similar situations

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#58 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#65 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#157 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Description: The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.