We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Save Saved
You added The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 446 hotels in New York City
Gainesville, FL
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel has an amazing location right next to Rockefeller Center! The rooms are small but there is enough space for what you need out of your hotel in NYC. Other than showering and sleeping, I don't hang out in my hotel room so space is not a high priority as long as I am comfortable enough and the place is clean, which this one is. You have all amenities you may need. It is a modern boutique style hotel. I would definitely stay again in a future visit!

Room Tip: Ask ahead of time to get a room facing Rockefeller Center. If you wait until arrival it will be too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    582
    311
    48
    16
    21
See reviews for
197
359
63
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent commercial hotel in a perfect location, just front of Rockefeller Plaza. Small hotel, clean, good size rooms and friendly staff - very helpful. Ask for a room with a view (street front). Complimentary cold bottle water, really nice specially during summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view (street front).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Walk out the door facing Rockefeller Plaza, Radio City Music Hall down on the corner. Modern rooms are small but laid out well - we were even able to get a roll-away in okay. Small lobby but there is a floor with a lounge area with computers and coffee. Small workout room and laundry.
Water bottle filling stations were nice. Refrigerator and Microwave. Also very quiet for being right in the middle of a busy city. Walked to the habour for the 4th of July Fireworks.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Peters, MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location for Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall and Times Square. Very small lobby and rooms, but clean and has everything you need. Lots of restaurants near by.

We were there for the Christmas tree lighting and we practically just stepped out the door and were there.

The biggest difficulty was the lack of grocery stores near by. We were looking for a bottle of wine to drink in the room one evening, went to several places and each only had about three choices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband, 12 year old daughter and I stayed at this hotel for a week in early August. It was nice that we had a pull out chair (twin) for our daughter, but when you pulled it out, you had to climb over it to use the bathroom in the middle of the night. The room should have been set up differently. The carpet sorely needed cleaning and given how small the room was, the walls needed painting. They actually touched up the walls with fresh paint in a couple places before we checked in, but didn't bother to mention it. We discovered that after leaning up against the wall. The front desk people were very nice but maid service was inconsistent. Sometimes they cleaned and we received clean glasses, sometimes they didn't. We usually had to ask for a 3rd set of towels as they frequently only put 2 sets in for 3 people. The location was good if you desire to be mid-town and close to fifth avenue. It is a nice touch that they have water bottles and water on each floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel boutique is a charm, besides the great services offered by the kind staff. My wife and I stayed for 8 nights at the Jewel. From the instant we checked in until the moment we checked out, we we had a fantastic stay.

Very simple to check in, comfortable, modern and clean room (they gave us a room at the 14th floor) with stunning views of the Rockerfeller centre and Radio city.

Free bottled water and free wifi (nowadays only few hotels offer this type of services).

The location of the hotel is outstanding. We walked to most of the places we needed to go.

Staff were very pleasant every single day. We waited for our ride to the airport, in a very comfortable room with water, coffee and free internet after checkout free of charge.

We couldn't have had a better stay, specially being in NYC, and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Thanks to Jewel and all the staff. Wait for us in our next trip to NYC.

Room Tip: The view from the 14th floor is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Jewel for 4 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out we we had a fantastic stay.

Simple check in, very comfortable room and stunning views of the Rockerfeller centre and Radio city.
Rooms were immaculate and cleaned daily.
Staff were very pleasant and the location of the hotel is outstanding.
Some lovely touches such as free bottled water and free wifi.

We couldn't have had a better stay and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#153 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Description: The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.