We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center to your Saves list
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Our Best Rates!
Ranked #107 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel has an amazing location right next to Rockefeller Center! The rooms are small but there is enough space for what you need out of your hotel in NYC. Other than showering and sleeping, I don't hang out in my hotel room so space is not a high priority as long as I am comfortable enough and the place is clean, which this one is. You have all amenities you may need. It is a modern boutique style hotel. I would definitely stay again in a future visit!

Room Tip: Ask ahead of time to get a room facing Rockefeller Center. If you wait until arrival it will be too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    396
    74
    19
    28
See reviews for
262
492
86
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent commercial hotel in a perfect location, just front of Rockefeller Plaza. Small hotel, clean, good size rooms and friendly staff - very helpful. Ask for a room with a view (street front). Complimentary cold bottle water, really nice specially during summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view (street front).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Walk out the door facing Rockefeller Plaza, Radio City Music Hall down on the corner. Modern rooms are small but laid out well - we were even able to get a roll-away in okay. Small lobby but there is a floor with a lounge area with computers and coffee. Small workout room and laundry.
Water bottle filling stations were nice. Refrigerator and Microwave. Also very quiet for being right in the middle of a busy city. Walked to the habour for the 4th of July Fireworks.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Peters, MO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location for Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall and Times Square. Very small lobby and rooms, but clean and has everything you need. Lots of restaurants near by.

We were there for the Christmas tree lighting and we practically just stepped out the door and were there.

The biggest difficulty was the lack of grocery stores near by. We were looking for a bottle of wine to drink in the room one evening, went to several places and each only had about three choices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband, 12 year old daughter and I stayed at this hotel for a week in early August. It was nice that we had a pull out chair (twin) for our daughter, but when you pulled it out, you had to climb over it to use the bathroom in the middle of the night. The room should have been set up differently. The carpet sorely needed cleaning and given how small the room was, the walls needed painting. They actually touched up the walls with fresh paint in a couple places before we checked in, but didn't bother to mention it. We discovered that after leaning up against the wall. The front desk people were very nice but maid service was inconsistent. Sometimes they cleaned and we received clean glasses, sometimes they didn't. We usually had to ask for a 3rd set of towels as they frequently only put 2 sets in for 3 people. The location was good if you desire to be mid-town and close to fifth avenue. It is a nice touch that they have water bottles and water on each floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel boutique is a charm, besides the great services offered by the kind staff. My wife and I stayed for 8 nights at the Jewel. From the instant we checked in until the moment we checked out, we we had a fantastic stay.

Very simple to check in, comfortable, modern and clean room (they gave us a room at the 14th floor) with stunning views of the Rockerfeller centre and Radio city.

Free bottled water and free wifi (nowadays only few hotels offer this type of services).

The location of the hotel is outstanding. We walked to most of the places we needed to go.

Staff were very pleasant every single day. We waited for our ride to the airport, in a very comfortable room with water, coffee and free internet after checkout free of charge.

We couldn't have had a better stay, specially being in NYC, and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Thanks to Jewel and all the staff. Wait for us in our next trip to NYC.

Room Tip: The view from the 14th floor is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Jewel for 4 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out we we had a fantastic stay.

Simple check in, very comfortable room and stunning views of the Rockerfeller centre and Radio city.
Rooms were immaculate and cleaned daily.
Staff were very pleasant and the location of the hotel is outstanding.
Some lovely touches such as free bottled water and free wifi.

We couldn't have had a better stay and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters, opposite Rockefel...
#263 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York Hotel
Warwick New York Hotel
#88 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,951 reviews
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#79 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#122 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters, Midtown
Club Quarters, Midtown
#204 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#8 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#97 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.