We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center to your Saves list
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Book Now and Save More!
Ranked #100 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel boutique is a charm, besides the great services offered by the kind staff. My wife and I stayed for 8 nights at the Jewel. From the instant we checked in until the moment we checked out, we we had a fantastic stay.

Very simple to check in, comfortable, modern and clean room (they gave us a room at the 14th floor) with stunning views of the Rockerfeller centre and Radio city.

Free bottled water and free wifi (nowadays only few hotels offer this type of services).

The location of the hotel is outstanding. We walked to most of the places we needed to go.

Staff were very pleasant every single day. We waited for our ride to the airport, in a very comfortable room with water, coffee and free internet after checkout free of charge.

We couldn't have had a better stay, specially being in NYC, and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Thanks to Jewel and all the staff. Wait for us in our next trip to NYC.

Room Tip: The view from the 14th floor is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    332
    57
    15
    25
See reviews for
225
407
70
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Jewel for 4 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out we we had a fantastic stay.

Simple check in, very comfortable room and stunning views of the Rockerfeller centre and Radio city.
Rooms were immaculate and cleaned daily.
Staff were very pleasant and the location of the hotel is outstanding.
Some lovely touches such as free bottled water and free wifi.

We couldn't have had a better stay and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It doesn't get any more central than this - 51st and 5th in midtown Manhattan. We upgraded our room to a suite and were glad we did as it provided us with just a bit more space to move around. The room was very clean and the bathroom was a nice size albeit a bit small. The bed and bedding was comfortable and of good quality. My only complaint was that the air conditioning was quite loud and we found it woke us up during the night when it was going on and off - which was a bit annoying. One other important observation is that this really what I would call a hotel - its more of a club that has a hotelling component to it so there is no onsight restaurant and no formal foyer when you arrive (just a small reception desk with self check in). Not a deal breaker at all but a completely different experience versus checking in at a hotel.

Room Tip: if they have a suite you can upgrade to, it is definitely worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fantastic location and great, modern decore with rooms in 3 sizes and price ranges. Ideal for Manhattan bound tourists or business folk.
Helpful staff, visitor's lounge in 2nd floor has 2 free computers with internet and printer -- available 24/7, a faux fireplace with lounge chairs in one corner and another cluster of sofa chairs by a large TV screen - for gatherings with friends, relatives or work colleagues.
Across the street is Rockerfeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, NBC Studios and 60 seconds away is Saks Fith Avenue and New York's version of the Magnificent (shopping) Mile.It is also just 10-12 minutes by foot to nearby Time Square and the theater district.

No restaurant on site but who cares as there are 3 morning-lunch eateries on the block, including our favorite, Teresa's Brick oven Pizza and Cafe, 6 or more evening restaurants within 30 second walk on the block and across the road at Rockefeller Center, and dozens of well known fast food chain mini-outlets underneath by the subway. And if you need a drug store or food market, there is one on the block. Everything is just within seconds by foot.

If you need to recharge or use electricity for laptops, tablets, etc., don't worry as there are electrical powerbars and MP3/MP4 ports by the night table and also by the 5 foot long desk -- to handle any traveller or business person's needs. And of course all rooms have free wi-fi.

Finally, if your cell phone from overseas is too costly to use or you have signal isues in downtown concrete towers,-- mine worked fine -- there are 2 land lines in the room - one on the work desk and a wireless model beside the bed.

There is also a complimentary fitness room if you have the time or inclination.

Only downside is no bathtubs, just oversized showers big enough to hold two people.

PS: Breakfast-lunch eateries in Manhattan do NOT normally have public washrooms - so being able to get back to your hotel room quickly is a plus.

Room Tip: Remember this is a compact and space efficient building so it is worthwhile skipping the lowest pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The location of the hotel is great. Central to 5th Avenue where all the shops and designer parade of fashion is located (eg: Saks 5th Avenue) and quirky tourist shops. A 15min walk takes you to Times Square to enjoy the tourist attractions, grab your tickets to a Broadway show. further 15 mins to Central Park. A supermarket is only a few doors down.

We found the hotel to be clean and enjoyable. There was a mixed crowd of young lovely tourists waiting to enjoy the nightlife, and also couples and families. There is a sitting room for coffee, computer and printer usage, wifi is included.

Hotel decor was clean and minimal, you have everything you need.

Reception was just a table with a computer- remember space is minimal in NYC hence the bathroom is minimal but the room size for two or three people was fine. Asked for another bed for a third person and it was suffice.

It had everything we needed for a comfortable stay and the pricing was reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you want a central hotel (literally a 30 second walk to 5th avenue shops) in NYC, with clean, quiet and modern rooms without paying extra for facilities you don't need, then The Jewel is perfect! The rooms are quite small, but well designed with modern furnishings and a comfy bed. The team at reception were really helpful as well. Would definitely stay here next time I visit NYC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Good location, just off the (severely) beaten path in NY i.e., very short walk to Times Sq!

My husband & I stayed at the Jewel just one night in a room NOT facing the street - as per our request - so it was quiet enough to let us sleep in on Saturday morning. Ironically, we agreed that our room would be quite perfect for one person. It was a bit tight for two, even by NY standards. Still, it was laid out very efficiently & I liked the clean, pretty bathroom. Fine for the one night, it's my opinion that it would have been trying for a longer stay for two people.

Good snack/sandwich places super-close by as well as a massive pharmacy. We ate breakfast at the deli down the block & it was delicious.

Nice complimentary coffee machine on second floor, in a small business centre.

Room Tip: I think a room facing the street would be quite noisy. We stayed on the second flr, which was conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#125 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Description: The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Amex, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.