We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center to your Saves list
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Our Best Rates!
Ranked #114 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fantastic location and great, modern decore with rooms in 3 sizes and price ranges. Ideal for Manhattan bound tourists or business folk.
Helpful staff, visitor's lounge in 2nd floor has 2 free computers with internet and printer -- available 24/7, a faux fireplace with lounge chairs in one corner and another cluster of sofa chairs by a large TV screen - for gatherings with friends, relatives or work colleagues.
Across the street is Rockerfeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, NBC Studios and 60 seconds away is Saks Fith Avenue and New York's version of the Magnificent (shopping) Mile.It is also just 10-12 minutes by foot to nearby Time Square and the theater district.

No restaurant on site but who cares as there are 3 morning-lunch eateries on the block, including our favorite, Teresa's Brick oven Pizza and Cafe, 6 or more evening restaurants within 30 second walk on the block and across the road at Rockefeller Center, and dozens of well known fast food chain mini-outlets underneath by the subway. And if you need a drug store or food market, there is one on the block. Everything is just within seconds by foot.

If you need to recharge or use electricity for laptops, tablets, etc., don't worry as there are electrical powerbars and MP3/MP4 ports by the night table and also by the 5 foot long desk -- to handle any traveller or business person's needs. And of course all rooms have free wi-fi.

Finally, if your cell phone from overseas is too costly to use or you have signal isues in downtown concrete towers,-- mine worked fine -- there are 2 land lines in the room - one on the work desk and a wireless model beside the bed.

There is also a complimentary fitness room if you have the time or inclination.

Only downside is no bathtubs, just oversized showers big enough to hold two people.

PS: Breakfast-lunch eateries in Manhattan do NOT normally have public washrooms - so being able to get back to your hotel room quickly is a plus.

Room Tip: Remember this is a compact and space efficient building so it is worthwhile skipping the lowest pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    389
    71
    19
    28
See reviews for
252
481
82
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The location of the hotel is great. Central to 5th Avenue where all the shops and designer parade of fashion is located (eg: Saks 5th Avenue) and quirky tourist shops. A 15min walk takes you to Times Square to enjoy the tourist attractions, grab your tickets to a Broadway show. further 15 mins to Central Park. A supermarket is only a few doors down.

We found the hotel to be clean and enjoyable. There was a mixed crowd of young lovely tourists waiting to enjoy the nightlife, and also couples and families. There is a sitting room for coffee, computer and printer usage, wifi is included.

Hotel decor was clean and minimal, you have everything you need.

Reception was just a table with a computer- remember space is minimal in NYC hence the bathroom is minimal but the room size for two or three people was fine. Asked for another bed for a third person and it was suffice.

It had everything we needed for a comfortable stay and the pricing was reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you want a central hotel (literally a 30 second walk to 5th avenue shops) in NYC, with clean, quiet and modern rooms without paying extra for facilities you don't need, then The Jewel is perfect! The rooms are quite small, but well designed with modern furnishings and a comfy bed. The team at reception were really helpful as well. Would definitely stay here next time I visit NYC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Good location, just off the (severely) beaten path in NY i.e., very short walk to Times Sq!

My husband & I stayed at the Jewel just one night in a room NOT facing the street - as per our request - so it was quiet enough to let us sleep in on Saturday morning. Ironically, we agreed that our room would be quite perfect for one person. It was a bit tight for two, even by NY standards. Still, it was laid out very efficiently & I liked the clean, pretty bathroom. Fine for the one night, it's my opinion that it would have been trying for a longer stay for two people.

Good snack/sandwich places super-close by as well as a massive pharmacy. We ate breakfast at the deli down the block & it was delicious.

Nice complimentary coffee machine on second floor, in a small business centre.

Room Tip: I think a room facing the street would be quite noisy. We stayed on the second flr, which was conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel proved to be an excellent choice for our first time in New York. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the location was ideal, being next to Rockefeller Center and within walking distance to Central Park and Times Square. There were many extra touches we did not expect such as the business centre with all day great coffee, the many usb outlets and speedy internet and free laundry facilities as well as filtered water and reuseable bottles. The room was bigger than expected, comfortable and the kitchen facilities very handy. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We loved everything about his hotel: dreamlike location, friendly super helpful staff, very nice rooms, and many many nice touches that make you feel everything is done to make your stay as easy and comfortable as possible (many outlets including iPhone chargers, stuffed animal in our baby's bed, iPads you can borrow, possiblity to print out your plane tickets, free water...).
Breakfast on the next door terrace is good and should be experienced at least once for the amazing view from the terrace.
There is a living room on the second floor where you can get free coffee all day, use computers, watch TV or just hang out.
Everytime we had a problem or something we needed assistance with the staff was eager to help, very nice and very competent.
As the place is clearly commited to provide the best service possible to its customers, here are a few issues where we thought there was a little room for improvement.
Our room was very close to the elevator so we heard it ring everytime it stopped on our floor which was pretty loud.
The rates on our phone bill were outrageous: 1 out-of-state call of 1 minute was charged 49 dollars which I think is the most expensive minute in the history of telecommunications but the manager was accomodating when we complained about it. I definitely think they should post the rates by the phone (and not invite you to go on some website to go find out yourself which is not convenient nor transparent).
The town car service they recommended used a horrible driver who didn't help us with our bags, acted aggravated the whole time, drove very harshly although we had a baby on board (who ended up throwing up) and kept trying to cheat us on the rate communicated by the hotel. Again after we notified the hotel they were great about it and said they would make sure they don't use that driver in the future, again demonstrating their open, constructive and helpful aproach to customer service.
We will absolutely stay there again if we come back to NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from elevators if you are noise-sensitive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is situated in an ideal location for exploring NYC especially being next to the Rockefeller Centre and a 5minute walk from Times Square.

We stayed here for 5 nights due to booking too late to get our preferred hotel at the same cost. The rooms are modern but basic with a bed, air con, free wifi, desk, tv with cable and a shower room. The rooms are more for business travellers than people on holiday/ tourists but are clean and of a NYC size. The air con can be very noisy.

There is room in dinning which is provided by restaurants within close proximity of the hotel.

The hotel has a small gym on the 5th floor where the washing machines are located too. In addition you can request for one of the bikes to be delivered to your room.

There is a lounge on the 2nd floor with computers and printers which is handy for printing plane tickets.

Be aware there is a lobby but it is very small with 2 self check in machines manned 24hours. The staff are friendly but a small majority can be inefficient in answer questions and temperamental, however, most are very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters, opposite Rockefel...
#254 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#68 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,519 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York Hotel
Warwick New York Hotel
#81 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#113 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#9 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,608 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#25 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#84 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
#116 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.