We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center to your Saves list
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save More!
Ranked #95 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Location is everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Jewel is a beautiful boutique hotel located between 5th Ave and Avenue of the America's. You see the spires of st. Patrick's Catherdal, the Rockefellar Tree is right out the front door, Magnolia's bakery is just around the corner. You're within walking distance to Times Square and Theater district. I've stayed in several locations in NYC and this was by far the best fit for us. Will absolutely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    344
    59
    17
    25
See reviews for
230
428
73
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Literally, across from Rock Cntr. We had a 2 bed suite with 2 full baths, 5 of us. Narrow layout but we all managed to be comfortable. Bedrooms were not totally private with opaque glass sliding doors that did not go from ceiling to floor. Had a full service kitchen with small frig. Albeit quite costly it was enjoyable and clean. Felt very european in its setup with guest supply closet on each floor and a common area on the 2nd floor with pc and capuccino machine. Staff was always very attentive and cooperative! Not so common in NYC>>>

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Centrally located and decently priced. Staff extremely courteous. The little lobby was small and unattractive, but the ladies working in it were warm and friendly. They were efficient and did a wonderful job. Room ergonomically designed and interesting. Very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I can't complain about this room, it was a little more than I had expected to spend on a room; but when I take into consideration the location and the amount I could have spent on car service or taxi's...it was totally worth it. Clean, nice friendly staff! Highly recommend, walking distance was great to everything I needed; therefore no a achy feet! Def, stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a smaller boutique hotel right smack next to Rockefeller Center. I stayed one night on business and pleasure during the tree lighting ceremony. It's part of a corporate affiliation with the Club Quarters. Check in was a little slow, there is not front desk, only a small concierge area. The folks working appear to know what they are doing. They did really screw up my bill but I am not sure it was their fault or someone at the travel center for my company. I would though check everything given the problem I had here, this does not reflect the review.

Stayed on an upper floor unit, had to take two elevators. Always concerned when you have to do that for fire and emergencies. Not sure what that deal was but I was OK with it. Room is small, designed for business travelers, queen bed, small work area, partitioned off and a nice bathroom. Room was clean, I give it that. $300 plus a night it better be clean. There was a restaurant but I did not visit. Only stayed the night.

The place is literally at Rockefeller Center so if you are in town as a tourist, this is a convenient location to that area of the city. There was nothing about this place, compared to others in the city of that price point, that spoke volumes. Check out was long, only one person working that little desk area. Overall, average to decent, nothing fantastic. But you wanna lay your head right int eh middle of the Rock Center? This place works as good as any.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Great boutique hotel across from Rockefeller. Excellent staff, very helpful and friendly. The rooms are nice and well appointed. There is a lounge on the second floor and you can get coffee, tea and bottled water all day long. There is a great restaurant called Bill's Bar and Burgers across the street which is a local hang. The hotel is in a great location and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up high facing the street. We enjoyed a corner room with 2 windows although none of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is a great location. It doesn't have a fancy reception. If you are looking for a nice room that is not minuscule then this is a good hotel for the price. Located just off 5th, walking distance to Broadway, 10 min to grand central. I stayed a weekend on my own as a single woman and it was a nice hotel. I will definitely good back again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Description: The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.