We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center to your Saves list
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save More!
Ranked #93 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Jewel was part of our first visit to New York for my wife's birthday. Our stay was just before Sandy struck. The hotel's location is just unbeatable, right around the corner from all the shopping on 5th Ave, just opposite the Rockefeller Centre, and a short walk to Times Square and Central Park. 51st Street was in our opinion a relatively quiet street and so it was nice to come home to at the end of a long day. The amenities are great including free wifi and water and the lounge a few doors down was a nice retreat. We have already booked our return trip. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    344
    59
    17
    25
See reviews for
230
428
73
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I come to NY about once a year and this hotel is ideal for anyone who's semi familiar with the city. I wouldn't rec'd for first time visitors since there's not much staff to assist you if you need help. The front desk is staffed by one or two young woman at a time, and while they were nice, I suspect some first time visitors might want a little more customer service.

What I love about this hotel is that it has everything you need for a comfortable stay in NY. The rooms are large by NY standards (people who are complaining about the "small" rooms have obviously never spent much time in NY hotel rooms). My room had an empty fridge, microwave, and coffee machine. There was a desk with convenient plugs for my laptop, phone etc. The free water is a huge plus, I'm constantly looking for water when I travel and it's incredibly convenient to be able to walk out of my room and fill up a bottle of water.

The location is both a plus and a minus. It's located facing Rockefeller Center (I know, go figure) and a block away from St. Patrick's Cathedral. In other words, smack in midtown. While I know most people find this convenient, I actually prefer to stay a little further downtown to avoid the tourist crush. I kept accidentally wandering into Times Square, which I hate, but I guess most people who visit NY want to be close to 5th Ave and Times Square.

Be aware that while I stayed in the main tower, there are also apparently rooms at the Club Quarters 2 doors down. I have no idea what the rooms are like in that tower.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel in September when we were in town for a friend's wedding. The location is simply fantastic. As mid-town as it gets. Right off 5th Ave and block from Saks.

The hotel itself is very clean and modern. The rooms are spacious. The WiFi is complimentary. There are a few nice touches, such as a clean bottled water station on every floor, and a convenient locker where guests can grab an iron, ironing board, supplies for coffee-maker (in each room).

The only issue I noted is that the water pressure in the shower is abysmal. Gravity is pretty much the only reason the water pours down at all.

For $300/night or less, I very much recommend grabbing this hotel. If it's more for the dates you need, then get something a little less perfectly located and spend $10-20 a day on cabs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great location in the centre of it all, friendly staff, although I never felt very "warm". The room was nicely done, and was a real home for the few days we spent in NY this time. The room was a bit small, but fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Terribly low water pressure! If you like a robust shower in the morning, this may not be the place for you. We had 3 rooms, on two different floors and this was the first thing we talked about every morning at breakfast... We think they've maybe taken 'saving water' a little too far, for our crew in the Jewel's sister property, Club Quarters, located two or three doors down, had great water pressure. Other than that, the rooms are small but very efficiently laid out, so you won't suffer for the space savings.
On the positive side, The Jewel is / has ...
Clean
Very Quiet (ask for a room in the back of the hotel, not facing Rock Center)
Comfortable
Friendly and Efficient Staff
Free (and fast!) Wireless Internet
Fast Check-In / Check-Out
A great free Latte' / Espresso / Cappucino machine on the 2nd floor

Room Tip: Business travelers, if you want quiet... get a room at least on the 8th floor or higher and ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel has been open for about a year. Great location at Rockefeller Centre. Close to everything. Rooms are typical NY rooms - small in size but very practical use of space. Very clean. Staff was very friendly. Also very quite. Great for a couple - not sure about families.
Will stay here again!

Room Tip: Don't expect a room with a view. Go to Top of the Rock for that photo op.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Staying in NY in a good hotel in August is quite expensive. Once you have assumed that, you will find that the price of the Jewel is fair enough. The location couldn't be better, just one block away of the Rockefeller Center. The rooms aren't big, but have plenty of ammenities.
A great place to stay at a reasonable price (in comparison to others).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in New York City
#66 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#75 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Description: The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.