We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for experienced NY visitors.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center to your Saves list
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save More!
Ranked #103 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
california
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for experienced NY visitors.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I come to NY about once a year and this hotel is ideal for anyone who's semi familiar with the city. I wouldn't rec'd for first time visitors since there's not much staff to assist you if you need help. The front desk is staffed by one or two young woman at a time, and while they were nice, I suspect some first time visitors might want a little more customer service.

What I love about this hotel is that it has everything you need for a comfortable stay in NY. The rooms are large by NY standards (people who are complaining about the "small" rooms have obviously never spent much time in NY hotel rooms). My room had an empty fridge, microwave, and coffee machine. There was a desk with convenient plugs for my laptop, phone etc. The free water is a huge plus, I'm constantly looking for water when I travel and it's incredibly convenient to be able to walk out of my room and fill up a bottle of water.

The location is both a plus and a minus. It's located facing Rockefeller Center (I know, go figure) and a block away from St. Patrick's Cathedral. In other words, smack in midtown. While I know most people find this convenient, I actually prefer to stay a little further downtown to avoid the tourist crush. I kept accidentally wandering into Times Square, which I hate, but I guess most people who visit NY want to be close to 5th Ave and Times Square.

Be aware that while I stayed in the main tower, there are also apparently rooms at the Club Quarters 2 doors down. I have no idea what the rooms are like in that tower.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    368
    63
    18
    27
See reviews for
243
457
77
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel in September when we were in town for a friend's wedding. The location is simply fantastic. As mid-town as it gets. Right off 5th Ave and block from Saks.

The hotel itself is very clean and modern. The rooms are spacious. The WiFi is complimentary. There are a few nice touches, such as a clean bottled water station on every floor, and a convenient locker where guests can grab an iron, ironing board, supplies for coffee-maker (in each room).

The only issue I noted is that the water pressure in the shower is abysmal. Gravity is pretty much the only reason the water pours down at all.

For $300/night or less, I very much recommend grabbing this hotel. If it's more for the dates you need, then get something a little less perfectly located and spend $10-20 a day on cabs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great location in the centre of it all, friendly staff, although I never felt very "warm". The room was nicely done, and was a real home for the few days we spent in NY this time. The room was a bit small, but fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Terribly low water pressure! If you like a robust shower in the morning, this may not be the place for you. We had 3 rooms, on two different floors and this was the first thing we talked about every morning at breakfast... We think they've maybe taken 'saving water' a little too far, for our crew in the Jewel's sister property, Club Quarters, located two or three doors down, had great water pressure. Other than that, the rooms are small but very efficiently laid out, so you won't suffer for the space savings.
On the positive side, The Jewel is / has ...
Clean
Very Quiet (ask for a room in the back of the hotel, not facing Rock Center)
Comfortable
Friendly and Efficient Staff
Free (and fast!) Wireless Internet
Fast Check-In / Check-Out
A great free Latte' / Espresso / Cappucino machine on the 2nd floor

Room Tip: Business travelers, if you want quiet... get a room at least on the 8th floor or higher and ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel has been open for about a year. Great location at Rockefeller Centre. Close to everything. Rooms are typical NY rooms - small in size but very practical use of space. Very clean. Staff was very friendly. Also very quite. Great for a couple - not sure about families.
Will stay here again!

Room Tip: Don't expect a room with a view. Go to Top of the Rock for that photo op.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Staying in NY in a good hotel in August is quite expensive. Once you have assumed that, you will find that the price of the Jewel is fair enough. The location couldn't be better, just one block away of the Rockefeller Center. The rooms aren't big, but have plenty of ammenities.
A great place to stay at a reasonable price (in comparison to others).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have stayed at several Club Quarters properties and The Jewel is another solid find. They offer an updated room with basic amenities for a reasonable price. If you are looking for Marriott or Hilton level amenities then do not stay.

This is a great location right across from Rockefeller Center and central to business and tourist activities. Times Square is a short 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Request high floor to minimize street noise if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#89 Family Hotel in New York City
#112 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.