We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply ideal. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center to your Saves list
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% Off Our Best Rates
Ranked #134 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply ideal. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of February. When booking the holiday, there was an array of hotels to choose from but I was swayed by the reviews of this hotel and did not regret the decision. It may not have the grandeur of other hotels on offer, but has the functionality of a hotel in a city where you plan on spending most of your time exploring. The location was spot on - 30 seconds from the Rockefeller, 5-10mins from Times Square, right by Fifth Avenue, 10mins from Central Park, 10mins from the Empire State, 5-10mins from Grand Central, all walking times. The hotel was small, but in a good way, as the staff would have more time to tend to any of your needs. The staff, to add, were very friendly. The hotel was clean, and modern and offered a nice seating area. The rooms were not huge, but not small and were ideal for what we needed - also, the rooms have been brought up in other reviews and they don't advertise huge rooms so we knew what to expect. Furthermore, the rooms were modern, well kept and fully functional. The only gripes we had were the lack of a safe in the room, but not a deal breaker, and we couldn't find a bar - although there is a nice terrace bar in the sister hotel next door which you have access to. These are nit picks, and I really can't legitimately fault the hotel. I would stay there again, no doubt.

Stayed February 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SebGarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was not grand, nor were the rooms anything super special. The hotel occupies a small space, but they use that space to the fullest. The rooms reminded me a bit of a super efficient and modern college dorm room but with a queen bed instead of two twins. I loved the location of the hotel. Can't beat being right by Rockefeller Center. It is a hub of action that is still in walking distance of Times Square or Central Park. One thing I actually really loved is that they had a place where you could fill up water bottles they provided with purified water. I always feel dehydrated on vacation, so I loved this feature. There is also a community style coffee lounge on the second floor. If you are looking for an affordable place with a great location and no frills, you have found it. I would stay here again with friends or my sister, but I would splurge for something a little nicer when on a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms look out to A/C units with absolutely no view. Avoid this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P, Hotel Representative at The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lauren,
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We're proud of our Rockefeller Center location so we're glad you enjoyed that as well. It's also rewarding to read that you enjoyed our custom-designed guest rooms, our lounge, and our complimentary amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Jewel in the future!

Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel was absolutely beautiful, literally an amazing place in a hole in the wall. The location was absolutely perfect. Rockefeller Center was right across, Radio City Music Hall around the corner, and of course a bunch of great stores and shopping around as well. The room was small, perfect for two people. They had a mini fridge, a small closet, and TV and desk. I have no complaints about this hotel, the staff was very friendly. And when I was reading reviews I read the bed were to small, I think they were absolutely perfect for two people with a little more space for one more, if you wanted.
I had such an amazing time and would definitely come back to stay.

Stayed February 2016, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nessawaveshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P, Hotel Representative at The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear nessawaveshi,
Thank you for choosing The Jewel and for taking the time to write a review. It is so rewarding to read how much you enjoyed our location, accommodations and our staff; we're so glad we exceeded your expectations. We're looking forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Manhattan!

Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As already told in many rewies the location is perfect, in the center of shopping and just beside Central Park. The hotel was ok, no lobby and the person responsible for check-in was not that interested in us at all and we really did not want to disturb her allthough it would have been nice to get some more information about the surroundings aso. The other receptionists that we met were nicer though.
Room ok, we used the bed cover as blankets, a bit wierd... And we had an extra bed and the extra blanket for that bed was...really wierd as well...
The objective when coming to NY is of course not to stay in the hotel, but when travelling with kids I would perhaps not come back to this hotel again, as the hotel was ok to sleep in but not to stay in.
Breakfast was served in the sister hotel beside the hotel we stayd in. During winter not that nice to have to go outside to go to the breakfast room in the morning. Breakfast not what one would have expected of an American hotel. No cheese, ham or anything else than jam to put on the bread, and only toast, no rolls for example. Not a big thing but strange. And the personnel just chatting with each other behind the bar instead of preparing for example omelettes or panncakes, I would have loved to have some but no-one really asked me if I would like any. Although there were all ingredients and pans ready at the buffet for making these.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malou75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P, Hotel Representative at The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Malou75,
Thank you for staying at The Jewel and sharing your feedback about our location, though we’re sorry you caught us a on a chilly day. In addition to our restaurant next door, we do also offer several dining options within our hotel, including room service and delivery services from local restaurants we partner with – we keep copies of their menus in each guest room.

We’re sorry to hear that your dining experience in our restaurant did not meet your expectations, and it does not sound like out team did their best showcasing the items that were available (we do offer both pancakes and omelets each morning, for example). We will definitely share this feedback with our team there so that we may use it to improve our service moving forward.

We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again the next time you are in New York. Thank you for sharing your comments and thank you again for staying with us.

Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel and would likely stay here again. We got a very good deal via Travelzoo, and were pleased with its location and amenities. It does have a ton of amenities, but it has the right ones. No big lobby to lounge in (who cares) but a keurig in the room and bottled water on every floor. A nice size room with comfortable but firm bed.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avalonbride36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P, Hotel Representative at The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear avalonbride36,
Thank you for choosing The Jewel and for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed our accommodations and amenities, and we're looking forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was so very helpful as this was our first trip visiting the city. Also, after gaining knowledge that we were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary, they made certain we had a room with an awesome view, making our first experience such a delight! The room was perfect, clean, and cozy! We would most certainly recommend the Jewel Hotel for anyone visiting NYC!!

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P, Hotel Representative at The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Crystal,
Thank you for choosing The Jewel Hotel and for taking the time to write a review. We're honored to have been your hotel, not only for your first trip to Manhattan, but during your 20th wedding anniversary celebration. We're glad we were able to help make it memorable. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Jewel in the future!

Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are small and quaint, but very clean and stylish. You will have to deal with some road noise, but that's expected in New York. The location is ideal, right across from Rockerfeller Center. It's also an easy walk to other places such as Times Square. Keurig machine in every room, and unlimited refillable purified water. Use their bottles or bring your own. Microwave, small refrigerator rounds out the appliances.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I was here on a business trip and I'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the 30 Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P, Hotel Representative at The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Dan B,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We're delighted to read you enjoyed our accommodations, location, and complimentary amenities. Our team is looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Jewel in the future!

Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#94 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,831 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York Hotel
Warwick New York Hotel
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,300 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#267 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,084 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing