We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charlie's angels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Village Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added East Village Suites to your Saves list
East Village Suites
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Avenue B and East 4th street, New York City, NY 10009 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    37
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
68
9
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria BC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a great little place in a great neighbourhood. We didn't meet Chris, but Ellie who checked us in was friendly and very helpful. We didn't end up with the unit pictured in the ad, but I think the place we got was even better. Super comfy beds, fully functional (though tiny) kitchen and a small table, bathroom, washer & dryer -- everything you need. It would probably feel pretty crowded with 3 or 4 people, but I was traveling with my sister-in-law & it was perfect for the two of us.

I'm a light sleeper so I got the bedroom, and the AC unit provided a nice ambient buzz that blocked out any other noises that may have woken me up otherwise. I slept great. Sis gets up early, so she was happy with the bed in the main room, where she could get up, make coffee & watch TV while I was still sleeping. When the pocket doors to the bedroom are closed, they cut off the AC from the main part of the apartment, but there's a ceiling fan over the 2nd bed to keep you from overheating at night.

Right downstairs there is an excellent Mexican restaurant (Fonda) with hand-pressed corn tortillas and fabulous margaritas. We stopped in several times after a long day of walking & wandering for a snack and a couple of drinks before bed (they were open pretty late). The block also has a coffee shop, convenience store, credit union, laundromat & a falafel place; 2 blocks around the corner is a large grocery store where we stocked up on coffee, tea, and breakfast stuff. There were also a few condiments & other staples provided in the apartment. The kitchen is fully stocked with dishes, cutlery, etc., and there were plenty of bathroom towels. The only 2 things we wished for were hand soap in the bathroom and dish towels to dry the dishes, as we didn't eat there enough to run the dishwasher. Stairs only, as far as I saw, so not appropriate for folks with wheelchairs, or those who have trouble with stairs.

The one thing I was disappointed by was the bathtub: it's set up to run as a shower only, and the plug mechanism has been disabled. I like a bath after a long day on my feet, but not a big deal, the shower worked great. The subway is not super-close, but it's also not far, and the walk there takes you through some interesting territory. There's also a big park a couple blocks up the street, and the Orpheum, where Stomp is showing, is only about 6-8 blocks away. We popped in one afternoon and were able to get tickets for that night's show, which was amazing!

OVERALL: A great place, a great stay, and we've already talked about staying here again next time we're in NYC!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Arrived late afternoon as agreed with Chris, and the lady from the apartments next door checked us in and we paid upfront.

First impressions were that the décor of the apartment was much nicer than photos however it was also much smaller than I was expecting! I guess being in New York space is at a premium but travelling with my parents I hadn’t taken this into account. In the end it wasn’t a problem and the sliding door between the 2 beds provided a bit of privacy.

The apartment was clean and well furnished with everything you would need (ac, iron, hairdryer, tumble dryer, full kitchen etc) and stocked with toilet paper etc.

We didn’t plan on eating proper meals in the apartment but if you have these intentions it may be abit tricky depending on the numbers of travellers. It was perfect for what we needed, toast and snacks between mealtimes!

The location is great for food, atmosphere and drinking. From the apartment we walked everywhere from Central Park to Battery Park and also across Brooklyn bridge. The subway was convenient when we used it but it was a good 10-15 minute walk to get to one of the 3 nearby stations.

We were able to store our luggage in the apartment until 3pm on the day of check out, when we returned to collect them the maid was cleaning the room but was ok with us taking the cases and leaving the keys on the table for Chris.

All in all we had a great trip to NYC and look forward to our next visit. Given the affordability of the apartments and the proximity to bars and restaurants we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We loved staying at East Village Suites this summer because the accommodation is a clean, comfy and well-equipped place that really makes you feel you are part of the bustling life of NYC. We explicitly wanted to avoid being apart from it all in a big hotel and exactly got the nice East Village life that we had hoped for. The host was more than helpful, everything worked perfectly! Very recommendable!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My family of 4 stayed in late July 2012. The apt was clean and had two beds, 1 bath. NYC was hot but the air conditioner worked great. The apt was a bit of a tight fit but that was OK as we only spent time there to sleep and get cleaned up. There was a refrigerator, stove, dishwasher, etc for cooking and eating. The area is OK. We felt safe. The subway is not too far away. The apt was on the 3rd floor, so bringing up our luggage was a drag. Chris was very helpful. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Village Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Village Suites

Address: Avenue B and East 4th street, New York City, NY 10009
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Village Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your East Village Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Village Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Village Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.