We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average pizza” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capizzi

Capizzi
547 9th Ave, Hells kitchen, New York City, NY 10018
212-695-6900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 11,596 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: old fashioned wood burning brick oven serving beer & wine
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My daughter recently moved to NYC. After a long day of walking from one apartment lead to another, we were famished and felt like a pizza. I used Trip Advisor to see what was recommended. We were there about 6 pm on a Friday, but didn't have to wait. That surprised me - pleasantly. We ordered the loaded (I think that was the name). It was the right size for two of us, as we had no way to handle leftovers. It was fun to see the pizza maker toss the dough in the air and show off. The pizza was good, but not spectacular. Slightly above average. I wouldn't discourage people from going there, but I didn't see what the rave reviews were all about.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    469
    163
    50
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muskogee, Oklahoma
1 review
“a little slice of sicily”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stumbled upon this restaurant while trying to find a place for dinner. Our waiter, Lorenzo, was very helpful in choosing what to try. The caprese salad and brick oven pizza were very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Felt like in a side street in Napoli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

As beeing regularly in Italy since my childhood I can say Capizzi holds up to the best Pizzas even inside the homeland.
Great service!

Share a Antipesto Misto - what a big, tasty platter!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location for pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The food is good, they cook pizza the old fashioned way. The service was also excellent and we had a very friendly waiter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manila
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Went here based on Tripadvisor's rating only to be disappointed. Pizza crust was at the same time burnt and undercooked in some places. Taste was generally bland, though ingredients were fresh. Pricey too, so no value there. Service was attentive enough, but nothing remarkable either.

Given the many options, you could do much better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capizzi also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Capizzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capizzi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.