We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Statue by night tour, do it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New York Water Taxi

New York Water Taxi
South Street Seaport, Pier 17, New York City, NY 10038 (Financial District)
212-742-1696
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
VIP Tour
$109*
and up
Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of...
Ranked #138 of 810 Activities in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Daily, year-round, narrated Statue of Liberty Harbor Tours, Sunset and Seasonal Cruises on unique, double-decker catamarans. Custom group and private charters also available.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
london
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Statue by night tour, do it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

What an amazing experience.

Went in mid April during an extremely clear night so we had the chance to see the magnificent manatthan skylight at dusk and in the night, and the sharp outline of the city.

The guide was friendly and very informative, the trip length was perfect to see everything in a relatively short period of time and the city at night is just awesome...free glass of champagne for over 21, what more would you want?

Perfect start for the evening.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    639
    244
    37
    21
    41
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great views of NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We caught the water taxi from South St Seaport back to Pier 84 at 44th St. The dwell time at the Statue of Liberty was fantastic, plenty of time to get great photos. The views of NYC going back up the Hudson from the Statue of Liberty are really great and better than when you head down the Hudson. We did the Circle Line Liberty Cruise a couple of days before but the New York Water Taxi was better. You get the best views on deck but if the commentary is important to you then stay inside as it is hard to hear uptop.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had the NY PASS and used this on the NY water taxi, and found it to be a very economical way to see lots of attraction. The ticket price otherwise seems rather high for what you get, esp if your a family.
After a frustrating start (the taxi was running 30min late) we were really happy that we chose the water taxi as our "water tour" option. The running time of the tour was good, and you did have the option to hop on and off at their 3 (?) stops. We stayed on and did the full circle. DC was the tour guide and he did a fantastic job. He was clear and easy to understand, which you only realise is important when you have experienced a tour guide who you cant understand! So, DC spoke clearly, gave an informative fun overview of NY and what we were seeing. The boat itself was very comfortable, and the staff on board were really lovely and i saw them helping out visitors by taking photos for them, chatting one on one to people who had questions, and they handed out badges to the kids, which my kids loved - so really made you feel welcomed. You could also buy drinks and sweets on board which was handy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Decent Priced Harbour Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Good tour of the harbour, New York skyline and Statue of Liberty. Informative guides. Clean ferry, lots of deck hands. Easy boarding. However, leave enough time to get to the Pier - we nearly missed it because of weekend closures on the New York subway.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The tour guides made all the difference!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

There are a few free NY river cruises available with the NY Pass, and we were expecting them all to be mutch the same, but we actually enjoyed our ride on the water taxi much more than any other river cruises (even the circle line sunset cruise) because of the awesome, passionate, interactive and funny guides (i think they were Mat and Matthew). We loved how you can get off the taxi at each stop to explore the area, then come back and hop back on the taxi. The guides pointed out so many interesting facts about NYC we wished we had gone on this ride earlier! What they shared during the ride about various NYC destinations (and occasionally about their lives) made it so much more interesting not just during the cruise itself, but also later when we visited the places. Highly recommend it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Water Taxi also viewed

 

Been to New York Water Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Water Taxi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.